We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay- would highly recommend and definitely stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilronan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kilronan House
Ranked #39 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay- would highly recommend and definitely stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I had an excellent stay at Kilronan House. The accommodation, facilities and food were of a high standard and made for a very comfortable stay. The hosts were very accommodating and went out of their way to provide an excellent service. Add to this the great location close to all of Dublin City Centre's amenities and attractions, along with the free parking service, Kilronan House is great value for money and ticks all of the boxes for a short stay in Dublin Centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Janine O,

Thank you very much for your kind words, and for taking the time to write about your marvellous time with us at Kilronan House.

I am delighted to know that our location, staff and food all combined to make your stay such a comfortable and memorable one. We always go out of our way to ensure that every guest has a fantastic experience, and nothing less. That this was the case for you is wonderful to know, and we thank you for giving us such wonderful feedback.

Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin very soon indeed!

Kind regards,

Seán Finnegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    293
    79
    48
    39
See reviews for
180
349
51
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinerolo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The whole staff was extremely kind, always ready to prepare some tea or coffee for you, answer any question, helpful... They really made us feel at home, with little but important attentions. They pay a lot of attention to details. The area is very quiet (no noise at all! great!), but 5 minutes walking from many bars, pubs and restaurants (and St. Stephen's Green). The guesthouse is charming and quiet. The only thing, if you book an economy room, you will have private shower and washbasin, but not private w.c., but the price was really competitive. And breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frapine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Frapine,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about your experience with us here at Kilronan House!

Our staff are always ready to help you in any way possible, and it is truly wonderful to know that this is appreciated and made your stay with us so pleasant and memorable. We have always made our friendliness and helpfulness a top priority, and will never offer less than our absolute best.

Thank you once again for your wonderful feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!

Kind regards,

Seán Finnegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Kilronan house is located very close to the city centre and bars and restaurants, making it an ideal place to stay. The price was very reasonable for a midweek stay. The room was spacious and had a shower and sink in the room which was handy. The room was a little shabby round the edges- could do with a dust and lick of paint, but we had a very comfortable stay. The breakfast is excellent; you can choose which two dishes you would like and it was of a very high quality. The concierge was very attentive and friendly and made us additional cups of tea to enjoy in the lounge, after we had checked out, which was very accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellebtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear ellebtn,

Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback about your stay.

I am very glad to know that you enjoyed your visit and that we made you feel welcome and at home. We always do our best to make each and every guest feel special, and to provide a top quality service at a reasonable price.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review, and we look forward to welcoming you bock to Dublin very soon.

Kind regards,

Seán Finnegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My stay was marred by the front door being locked when I arrived (about 22:30) and having to ring to get someone to let me in
Then having to walk to next door in the pouring rain to get to my room
Room was small, and overly twee in appointments, but the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was minuscule and very hard to e.g. shave due to cramped size
Bathroom smelt a little the first night, but when I returned the second evening, an overpowering reek of asparagus made using it an eye-watering trial
Shower had very feeble water pressure early in the morning, although I have been told this improves during the day when no one else is using it
Location is good but not excellent - although very convenient for the Harcourt LUAS stop
Wifi was abysmal - might as well not been there - and choice of TV channels was very poor
Room was poorly ventilated - very hot and stuffy, even with the radiator off, and the window giving little ventilation

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohforfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear ohforts,

I would like to thank you for your review and your valuable feedback about your stay with us.

I would also like to sincerely apologise that your experience was disappointing and not of the standard we pride ourselves on.

It is true that we do keep our front door locked at night, for the sake of security. But each room key does come with a key to the front door, so that each guest is able to enter and leave the guest-house as and when they please. I am sorry that you had to wait to be checked in, and that this caused you such discomfort and distress.

I would also like to apologise that the room and bathroom were not up to standard. Many of our rooms have undergone renovations, and I am glad to note that the cleanliness and furnishings seem to have been satisfactory.

Please accept my heartfelt apologies, and know that if you would like to discuss any other issues that may have arisen, you are more than welcome to contact me at info@kilronanhouse.com to discuss them in more detail.

Thank you once again for your review and your feedback. We do hope that we are able to accommodate you again, and to provide you with a much-improved experience.

Your sincerely,

Seán Finnegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athy, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for one night. Upon arrival we were offered a cup of tea with a smile! Which was welcomed as we had battled through Dublin's crazy traffic! After refreshments we were shown our room which was small but just what we needed. The ensuite was quite small but most importantly it was clean. We ventured out for the evening and had a show to see in the Gaeity. At night the hotel is nice and quiet, only hear people going up to their rooms but once they pass your door you dont hear a sound for the rest of the night. In the morning breakfast was served up to 10am with an amazing breakfast menue to choose from and very pleasant staff serving!
Please note that this is an old and quirkey hotel. There are no lifts and no mod cons, so if you are looking for that this is not the hotel for you!
I would have no hesitation booking this hotel again if staying in Dublin nor would I have any hesitation recommending it to friends and family!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma1Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Emma1Kildare,

Thank you very much for your visit and for your wonderful feedback about your stay with us at Kilronan House.

We are delighted to have been able to make your one night such a wonderfully memorable experience. That you enjoyed our staff, breakfast and hospitality so much is truly a wonderful thing to hear.

We do try to make everyone feel at home with us, and we also cherish the character and atmosphere of our period building and it's various adornments. Thank you so much for mentioning this, and we hope it is the experience of each and every guest.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review, and we hope to see you in Dublin again very soon.

Kind regards,

Seán Finnegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Kilronan House is located on a quiet street in Dublin, but it was only a short walk to St. Stephen's Green and Grafton Street with its shopping and restaurants is not much further. So, you can walk fairly easily (10-20 minutes, depending) to a beautiful park, food, tourist buses, shopping and pubs.

When we arrived, they said we were "upgraded" from the room type we'd wanted (a double with one larger bed) and we got a double with two beds. It wasn't what we'd wanted, but it wasn't a bad trade. We made do and cuddled up in one bed, the other quickly became a place to put extra things! We didn't really mind, but I'm not fond of places calling "we overbooked what you wanted" an "upgrade." However, all staff we encountered were polite and helpful.

Umm, the walls are a little thin, as my sleep was disturbed one night by noises in the room next door to us. It wasn't too bad, just under what I'm willing to call down to the front desk about. I mentioned it the next morning and got a courteous offer from the front desk to call down if we had problems again. We also did have a window overlooking the quiet, tree lined street in front of the hotel. This didn't bother us, and we didn't notice any problems with noise from the street. It also was a pretty view!

The room was reasonably clean and well appointed. Perhaps a little worn around the edges, but it definitely had charm. The breakfasts are cooked to order from a small menu of several choices for a first and second course. We enjoyed our breakfast each morning. One night, they even made Irish coffees for myself, my husband and another couple. That was a real treat, and we enjoyed sitting in the common area and discussing our travels with other guests.

All in all, it's a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Lori M,

Thank you very much for writing such a wonderful review about your stay with us here at Kilronan House.

I would like to apologise for the fact that the Standard Double room you had booked was unavailable. It is of course not something we do intentionally, but when unforeseen circumstances do present themselves, we always ensue that guests have an upgraded option, rather than an inferior quality room to the one they booked.

I am glad that our staff were able to help you with any issues that arose, and that you enjoyed your breakfast as well as our central location. We do always try to make each and every guest feel at home and comfortable, and I am delighted that you found your stay so pleasant and enjoyable.

If you would like to contact me directly about any problems with your stay, please feel free to email me at: info@kilronanhouse.com

Thank you once again for writing such a wonderful review, and for your very valuable feedback about your visit.

We hope to welcome you to Dublin very soon indeed!

Kind regards,

Seán Finnegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed here with my mom after a 10 day trip all over Ireland. This was by far the best place we stayed. We got a discounted rate on the room, otherwise I think it would've been too pricey, but for what we paid it was great. It's kind of on the outskirts of the southern part of the city, but easy walking distance from Trinity College and Grafton Street. When we checked in we got free Irish coffees. The complimentary breakfast was two courses, plus toast, brown bread, and tea or coffee. It was incredible, considering it didn't cost any extra. The room was nice and clean, though the TV didn't work. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Parking - when you get there it will seem like there isn't any room in their lot, but they do that on purpose so other people don't park there. Make sure you go to the front desk and tell them you want to park your car and they'll help you out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Katie B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience at Kilronan House.

Our service, location and breakfast are always features that our guests are very happy with, and I am delighted to know that these were of such a high quality in your opinion as well.

Thank you very much indeed for stating that we were the highlight of your trip in terms of accommodation. That is truly a distinction we appreciate, and hope to repeat time and time again!

Thank you once again for your fantastic feedback. We hope you make it back to Dublin soon, and choose to visit us once again!

Yours sincerely,

Seán Finnegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#89 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Waterloo House
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Albany House
#65 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harrington Hall
#83 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan House

Property: Kilronan House
Address: Kilronan House 70 Adelaide Road, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#47 Family Hotel in Dublin
#49 Business Hotel in Dublin
#55 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilronan House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilronan House Bed and Breakfast is in the beautiful quite Georgian quarter of Dublin city centre just one minute from St. Stephens Green and downtown Grafton Street area. Built in 1834, the guesthouse is comfortable period house that still features its original cornicing, Waterford Crystal chandeliers and ceiling roses. The staff at Kilronan House pride themselves in spoiling their guests with true Irish hospitality and excellent customer service. The National Concert Hall and Dublin's main cultural and historic sights including Trinity College, The National Museum and National Gallery are within a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kilronan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan House Hotel Dublin
Kilronan Hotel Dublin
Kilronan House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing