We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped for a well earned meal”
Review of Clifton Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clifton Court
Ranked #139 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Stopped for a well earned meal”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Carol and I had been walking around the area for hours and were feeling hungry and thirsty. The Met Bar at the Clifton Court Hotel looked like a good bet. The light level was very low which added a certain mystique to the place. I had my first pint of draught Guiness since my days in the Junior Common Room at Emmanuel College Cambridge......gosh that was back in the mid 60's nearly 50 years ago. It was as good as I remember and I hope I can post a picture. We ate a delicious battered cod and chips which really hit the spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanSuch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    81
    123
    61
    150
See reviews for
48
149
51
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here recently as we were going to a concert nearby. Was very happy with the accommodation for the cost of €32 per person sharing.
Rooms were clean and had all the things you would need, clean towels, soap, shower gels, tea and coffee facilities etc.
Had a great sleep, no noise or anything.

The pub downstairs in the hotel is lovely and we got dinner and lunch here and it was very good and well priced.

It is so central to everything.

Would recommend for budget accommodation to anyone and will have no hesitation in staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Small unclean rooms, the smell was terrible from the bathroom and got horrible service from the staff that didn't want to know anything about the problems. I wish I had read more reviews before booking.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Donegal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed in during the winter. The room was at the top of the hotel and there was a damp smell in the room, especially bad in the bathroom which was tiny. The door to the room was very flimsy, it didn't feel safe and secure.

Room Tip: I would avoid if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liviemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Didn't stay here but did spend the afternoon having a few drinks. Quite quirky charm with a nosey waitress lol she was constantly trying to earwig our conversation, so I gave her something good lol
Drinks were fine and its in a nice location, halfway between the station and where we were staying, id do the same again, stop for some refreshment in this nice bar with all kinds of things hanging from the ceiling and stuck on the walls.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesky krumlov
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was in this hotel for two nights, I work in the hotel and I have certain expectations that were not justified. Hotel rooms are very cramped. My room was very small, cold and damp, bathroom the same. Heating did not work, no hot water in the evening. Internet in the room was very bad. Breakfast was no glory. The only thing is a good location right in the heart of the city.The staff was helpful, they helped me with my reservation... Bar downstairs was nice, good beer, good atmosphere.
But I know better hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacikKlacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#105 of 151 in Dublin
175 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,122 reviews
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Fitzsimons Hotel
Fitzsimons Hotel
#133 of 151 in Dublin
321 reviews
Wynn's Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,172 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#90 of 151 in Dublin
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Court

Property: Clifton Court
Address: 11 Eden Quay | O'Connell Bridge, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Clifton Court 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clifton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Court Hotel Dublin
Clifton Court Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing