We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle Hotel Dublin”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #59 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Bognior Regis United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Castle Hotel Dublin”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The positive: Good location. Reasonable prices via on line booking sites. Excellent reception, ,breakfast and room staff.
The negative:tired and in need of a deep clean and significant basic maintenance programme. Kitchen smells permeate most parts of the hotel. Horribly creaky floorboards in corridors and bedroom resulted in very disturbed sleep.

Room Tip: Request new wing away from main road and creaky floorboards
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    807
    380
    126
    60
See reviews for
389
705
193
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Overall the hotel was not bad. Decent location, clean, average price. The staff during the day is helpful when asked, but if you have an early flight the young man (mid 20's, indian decent, spiky blk hair, earring) is INCOMPETENT! He forgot to order my pre arranged taxi till I asked, my breakfast never showed up and he got mad at me for using ponds instead of kilos on the luggage scale. When i did use kilos, he flat out lied to me an told me he had no internet access to check the the conversion and then without another word, went out to smoke. I know the have internet access because I used the internet at the front desk computer the pervious day when the room wifi was down. Based on these things I will NEVER stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Booklover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acquedolci ME
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

the stay was nice, breakfast was great, the room was clean but small,for an upgrade you could get a better room, but first you pay then you go to the room, and if your not satisfied go fast and get an upgrade, or either you get 5 channels on the 1985 tv ! the hotel was a maze, full of stairs and corridors, very clean, the personnel, nice and friendly. Overall, i would come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Basilio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal,Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights .. Reviews were fine .. Very disappointed . Located in centre of Dublin in Georgian style all looked fine .. To be honest on the surface the hotel is cute . Staff brilliant .. Reception excellent .. It's really let down by noise from road and pedestrian crossing outside .. We had double glazing but didnt realise sash windows supplementing them were open .. And on last night closed .. Still
Pretty noisy .. But just about bearable . Bar musty in morning for breakfast .. Stairs creaky .. More noise .. Breakfast itself v good .. Loads of dust on skirting boards ..And high level boardings at the lift .. Car park .. Kamakazie .. Limited .. All over the place and 10 euro a night .. Not cheap for the state of it .. If the place was quieter .. Cleaner .. Or if I was from downtown new York .. Would stay again .. But it's a no from me ..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FHelenAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my family for 2 nights in August and we had a great time. The hotel itself isn't somewhere we would want to stay for more than 3-4 nights but it did the job. The staff were friendly, the location is convenient to the main high street and the rooms were clean.
If your looking for luxury this isn't for you but for a base whilst exploring Dublin it is perfect.
Breakfast was great the first morning and average the second (very dry sausage/white pudding).
I would recommend this place to my friends for a basic room that your not going to be spending a lot of time in.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_gallacher12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed here on the last night of a two week stay in Ireland - it left us with a bad taste after what had been a lovely two weeks, for the following reasons.
Window held open with a wooden block
Mouldy brown bread on window cill outside window
Paint on top half of sash inside overlap absolutely filthy
No fasteners on quilt cover
Quilt escaping from bottom of cover and state of quilt inside that cover (looked old, messy and not that clean)
Bathroom - plumbing around bath overflow not fixed and apparently leaked to room below when we had a bath
Gap between floor tiles and bath edge - not properly sealed
Strip between end of bath panel and wall missing tiles
Tiles over bath - down long side not properly cleaned - laying in bath it was possible to see where something had been sprayed over the tiles and not wiped off
Went to breakfast on Sunday morning at about 9.20 am and waited as directed at the "wait here to be seated" sign.
After a long wait getting on for 10 minutes, with no sign of any staff wandered into the dining room and joined a group of people who were apparently waiting to be seated. The group gradually thinned without any tables apparently becoming available. Eventually after nearly 15 minutes a member of staff, who appeared to be nominally in charge of seating people, approached the group and requested someone to prepare a table for the next group. After being advised that the group were not all together she said they would try to sort something. At this point decided had waited long enough and advised were giving up the idea of breakfast - at this point the waitress muttered " some people have no patience". She was advised that it was not a question of patience but after waiting at the "wait to be seated" sign for nearly 10 minutes without seeing any staff members and then a further 5 minutes through in the actual dining room it was not worth waiting any longer. She then commented that you can see how busy we are what do you expect? A complaint was registered with the reception desk. No response has been received from the Hotel despite leaving a list similar to that above on departure.
Using the shower on the Sunday morning the water temperature fluctuated excessively (between cold to scalding and back again without any adjustment being made by the user) whilst it was being used.
Given the above we feel that the room was over priced. We have stayed at the Jury's Inn hotel in the West End of London, that was newer, clean and better appointed for less and we were able to eat breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeechesLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Here on business - good location - complete rip off at €180 per night. It is a few hotels that have been merged together in an old Georgian building. It is old fashioned and all the fittings including the small bathroom are very tired. They were very busy and the checking staff throughout we're pretty grumpy. The room was large and had high ceilings with a feature fireplace but a tiny tv and very old fashioned furnishings. Free wireless Internet worked fine but I would never choose to stay here again on business. Feeding off tour groups...

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank renniealdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 151 in Dublin
4,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.5 mi away
Wynn's Hotel
Wynn's Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#83 of 151 in Dublin
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing