We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the hotel”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #59 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the hotel”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend really enjoyed it.Rooms were spotless and bed very comfortable the staff are fantastic and couldnt do enough.Live music was great and craic with other guests great would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maj085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to give us this excellent feedback. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at the Castle Hotel so much. We hope that your are going to stay with us in the future again.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    815
    386
    128
    62
See reviews for
396
713
196
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

A simple hotel with friendly staff who offered us some warm hospitality.

Yes, the rooms and decor are a bit dated, but the hotel was clean, tidy and the staff very friendly.

Whilst we were there was live music in the bar each night, the standard of which was remarkably good.

Situated just off the end of Grafton Street, the location is great for those looking for a city centre base.

Not the most comfortable of beds, never-the-less a good choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveee, Customer Service at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to write this nice comment about our hotel. I am sure you have mixed up Grafton Street with O’Connell Street and yes we are very close to the city center. According to your comment about the ‘bit dated’ rooms, we are at the moment in the middle of a decoration process in the whole hotel, so we hope to have this ‘problem’ sorted in the very near future and you will stay with us again.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Good location within easy walking distance of the main Dublin areas. Arrived early and the staff checked us in straight away. The room was pleasant as well as clean and tidy. Breakfast was reasonable with a good selection, waiting staff very attentive and helpful. Both myself and my wife are vegans, thus the cooked breafast consisted of a full fry up minus the meat. The result being a plate of beans and some mushrooms. Situation normal there for a hotel then!
The second night we hardly got any sleep due to your usual drunken idiots using the rear courtyard to smoke at 3am. Maybe you could do so a little more quietly and with consideration for other guests? Perhaps the hotel could look into this?
The real disapointment I think came when we went to check out. Handed our key over and received a "Thank you" that was it. Call me fussy but I like something along the lines of "Hi, Hope you enjoyed your stay with us, was everything ok?"
A mediocre hotel that could be better I think.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to write this review about our hotel. I am sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with your stay at our hotel. We are trying our very best to keep the noise as low as possible from the smoking area during the night, unfortunately it can be very hard sometimes as people do not realize how loud they talk at 3am in the morning. For your future stay please request a room facing the lane way as this would be one of the quietists’ areas in the hotel, or a room on the 4th floor. I do apologize for the fact that no one asked you if you have enjoyed your stay on check out, unfortunately this can happen when we are having many check outs, but I will keep an eye on it in future. However we hope you will stay with us again.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Just spent a great couple of days in Dublin. Chose this hotel because it was very reasonably priced yet in a great location. We had a lovely greeting on arrival and even though it was well before check in our room was ready. This is not a modern 5 star hotel with all mod cons - for us it was far more interesting. It has a winding staircase with creaky floorboards and some great original features and ornaments.

Our room was adequately sized as we were hardly in it and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a relaxed affair with no-one rushing you out when you had finished.

The staff were absolutely lovely from arrival to departure. We would stay here again without a doubt.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joleighton1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest,

I am very pleased to read this wonderful review about our hotel, thank you very much for taking your time to write it. If you are interested about some historical facts about our hotel please have a look at our homepage. We hope to accommodate you again after you had such a lovely stay at our hotel.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Having just returned from an overnight stay (Friday 20th Dec 2013) I am to say the least most disappointed with the Castle Hotel, we were booked by my son who is aware of my wife and I both liking traditional Irish music, only to find out (by asking) that Friday night would have no live music, despite what was said on the website, also the TV remote control not working I was told due to the wind, I am an ex TV engineer and thought that explanation rather strange, the bar appeared to be running down their stocks, no brandy, and very little Irish whiskey Friday evening. When we arrived our room was cold, radiators were turned off (in December?) when turned on the valve dribbled water, the room smelt damp, so needed to open the window with no heating (remember this is in December)

The website appears not to have a review facility otherwise these comments would be posted.

This complaint was e-mailed to the Hotel, was read by them but no reply has been received.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piltown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in Jan 2914 and found it great.
The staff were so friendly and it was within walking distance of everything.
Breakfast was nice.
Bedrooms were basic but very clean.
The bar stayed open late for guests and as it is located downstairs its perfect for a late night drink while not disturbing other guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here on Jan 2nd as part of a shopping trip with my 3 teenage kids,room v shabby & dated net curtains filthy room v stuffy & blaring music till late in bar downstairs had to ring recpt
ok b/fast

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room not room 112 which was very old & shabby SORRY!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breege P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#80 of 151 in Dublin
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#45 of 151 in Dublin
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing