We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I loved the hotel as soon as I walked through the door - open fire, smiling receptionist, lots of seats in the lounge, fast service, 24 hour reception. I stayed for 3 nights and had lovely breakfast every morning - brought to me by lovely staff members. Just sit back and order anything you need - perfect ;)

1  Thank DOrlova
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to write this heartwarming review about our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in future.
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly and welcoming. Odd that I had to pay on arrival but never mind. We had a double superior room lovely Georgian room with plenty of storage.
Great location as only a short walk to the centre of Dublin with bus routes nearby.
Room was very cold on arrival but it eventually warmed up. Bathroom had a slight dampness odour to it but not too unpleasant to cause offence.
Minor issues for me there was no hand soap then the next day no shower gel (there was only enough for one day left)
If your going to have a TV then can we have a channel guide and it tuned properly or invest in a signal booster.
We didn't eat in the restaurant and breakfast was ok but why do hotels use cheap sausages?? Was going to try the continental but there were no croissants or pastries which was disappointing. A few minor changes here and it'll be great. We didn't get disturbed by others in the hotel although it could do with investment in sound proofing as the road noise was at times too much.
So sum up its in a great location and all the staff were very polite, helpful and friendly. Would I return here again - probably

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TonyandFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Tony and Faye, thank you very much for taking your time to write this feedback about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel apart from some little issues. According to the payment on arrival, the procedure of our hotel is to take payment on arrival as we are a very busy hotel and we would like to offer a smooth check out on the departure date of each guest. When you stay the next time with us please ask for a pre authorisation up on arrival and nothing will be charged from your card until you check out. I apologize for the fact that your shower gel as well as the soup have not been replaced, I will forward it to the housekeeping team. I will also pass the great idea about a channel guide as well as the idea of a wider range of the continental breakfast to the responsible departments. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a 3-night break in Dublin with my girlfriend. Good location. Upon entering the hotel I was pleased it was warm and cosy. This did however wear off quickly. The rooms were either very warm and stuffy, or quite cool/cold. The breakfasts left a little to be desired with warm pre-prepared/precooked food in what felt like a rushed school canteen. Staff however were a credit and extremely friendly and informative. Standard priced hotel with basic rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your taking your time to write these kind words about our hotel. I do apologize for the heating issues you had during your stay in our hotel. We made notice of it and try our very best to sort it out as soon as possible. I do also apologize for your ‘school canteen’ experience but unfortunately it can happen that a high number of guests are having breakfast at the same time especially on the weekend. Our breakfast staff tries their very best to serve everyone in time. We hope we can welcome you in the future again.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Adequate facilities and rooms, good breakfast and excellent location for exploring Dublin. Reception staff were friendly, rooms were basic but tidy. Cleaners did a great job every day without disturbing. The only downside was our room overlooked a noisy car park (only noisy during the day)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for the great review. Unfortunately a few rooms from the hotel do overlook the car park. We do hope that you are going to stay with us in the future and if so please let us know that you would like to face the street and we can organize that for you.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We recently booked this hotel for a upcoming concert in Dublin (in July 2014) only to find ourselves unbooked 2 days later and the room let out (probably at a much higher rate) to someone else.
My bank confirmed that the hotel had gone into my account looking for the full room payment rate and when it wasn't there they cancelled our booking even though both they and Booking.Com say that your bank card is only to secure the room and that you pay at the Hotel.

If you can afford to pay in advance go for it...

We called the hotel for an explanation on the Thursday and it wasn't until the following Wednesday that we got an unsatisfactory answer from the Manager

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Steviejohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, the staff were friendly and really helpful. They let us check in 5 hours early and the breakfast was nice.
The room and bathrooom were spotlessly clean and there was plenty of tea and coffee in the room.
Noise did travel from one room to another, but in such an old building and for a reasonable price you have to expect some flaws.

Thank Talanie506
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to write this great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are hoping to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend really enjoyed it.Rooms were spotless and bed very comfortable the staff are fantastic and couldnt do enough.Live music was great and craic with other guests great would return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maj085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to give us this excellent feedback. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at the Castle Hotel so much. We hope that your are going to stay with us in the future again.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
4,696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 150 in Dublin
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £69 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing