We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommend”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommend”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel weekend 28/2/2014 Three minutes walk from where the airport buses stop on O'Connelll street excellent location 10-15 minute walk to temple bar. Staff very friendly the breakfast is big enough to last all day the rooms are very clean live Irish music Friday and Saturdays excellent location cannot fault this hotel. If I ever return to Dublin again this will be my first choice of hotel

Warning alcoholic drinks in hotel pricey but to be expected and is good value if adding in the entertainment during the weekend. Temple bar if you are a heavy drinker will break the bank i.e. pint of lager 6-7 euros two small glasses of wine 12 euros keep to the back street pubs to get normal prices

Room Tip: Anybody who complains about the lift or rooms you need your head examined at the end of the day if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveee, Customer relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Helen, thank you very much for taking your time to write this positive review about our hotel. Unfortunately the alcohol tax is very high in Ireland and therefore it is very expensive to buy. Our restaurant prices are not too bad compared to the pubs in Temple Bar as you said. You will get a good Guinness at a price of €4.90. If you wish to gather more information please have a look under http://www.castle-hotel.ie/The_CASTLE_VAULTS_Bar.php.We are hoping to welcome you back in our hotel again while your next stay in Dublin.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    800
    376
    125
    58
See reviews for
377
699
192
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and really loved this hotel. It has a really cosy feel to it, the staff are all so friendly and lovely. The Irish music on Saturday night was just brill. Our room was basic but it really didn't matter. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Justine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Justine, thank you very much for writing this wonderful comment about our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much as well as that you had a brilliant night in our bar on Saturday. We are looking forward to your next stay.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knaresborough
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was my 5th stay at the castle because it is the best hotel in Dublin at the best price and best location.On this occasion I was with my two little girls and our room was fantastic.We had the bedroom,bathroom with bath and shower and I dining area too.We were facing into the courtyard so it was nice and quiet apart from the extremely flatulent guest in the room next door-seriously he must have hurt hisself!My kids of course found this highly amusing and proved one of the highlights of our trip for them.The staff as usual were fantasic and the live traditional irish folk music with Dino and Catherine on Friday night was just brilliant.The full Irish breakfast was just what we needed and the breakfast staff were lovely.The location of the hotel is perfect as it just on the edge of town so no noisy revellers outside and only a 10-15 minute walk to temple bar.we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing into the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkybKnaresborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Nikky, I really enjoyed reading your review about our hotel and thank you very much for making the effort to write it. I am happy to see that you have stayed already five times with us. When you are planning to stay with us in the future please contact us direct under info@castle-hotel.ie and we will make sure that you will get a good deal. We hope to welcome you many more times in our hotel in future.
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

we arrived late on Monday night to be greeted by Sam who was very welcoming. quick and efficient. we stayed for 3 nights and every morning breakfast was lovely, again the girls down stars where breakfast was served were also very quick and friendly,
every time we left and come back to the hotel we were welcomed with smiles and hello.
the one dinner we had in the Vault Restaurant was lovely I always have fish where ever I go, and this was one of the best.
rooms were very clean and tidy and plenty of storage space. was very nice to see rooms were cleaned daily and we got fresh coffee cups.
your Wi-Fi was very good and was always working .
over all we really enjoyed our stay and WILL be coming back to you.
location was PERFECT not to far out that we had to walk miles but not to close that was noisy at night.
we also got a very nice send of from the Hotel Owner . so would like to thank him as well.
we look forward to coming back.

Ben and Sam.
x

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Ben and Sam thank you very much for writing this wonderful review about our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much. We will forward your compliment about your dinner to the kitchen. I am also happy to read that you are planning to stay with us again. Please contact us under info@castle-hotel.ie and we will try our very best to make you a special offer.
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I loved the hotel as soon as I walked through the door - open fire, smiling receptionist, lots of seats in the lounge, fast service, 24 hour reception. I stayed for 3 nights and had lovely breakfast every morning - brought to me by lovely staff members. Just sit back and order anything you need - perfect ;)

Helpful?
1 Thank DOrlova
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to write this heartwarming review about our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in future.
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly and welcoming. Odd that I had to pay on arrival but never mind. We had a double superior room lovely Georgian room with plenty of storage.
Great location as only a short walk to the centre of Dublin with bus routes nearby.
Room was very cold on arrival but it eventually warmed up. Bathroom had a slight dampness odour to it but not too unpleasant to cause offence.
Minor issues for me there was no hand soap then the next day no shower gel (there was only enough for one day left)
If your going to have a TV then can we have a channel guide and it tuned properly or invest in a signal booster.
We didn't eat in the restaurant and breakfast was ok but why do hotels use cheap sausages?? Was going to try the continental but there were no croissants or pastries which was disappointing. A few minor changes here and it'll be great. We didn't get disturbed by others in the hotel although it could do with investment in sound proofing as the road noise was at times too much.
So sum up its in a great location and all the staff were very polite, helpful and friendly. Would I return here again - probably

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TonyandFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Tony and Faye, thank you very much for taking your time to write this feedback about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel apart from some little issues. According to the payment on arrival, the procedure of our hotel is to take payment on arrival as we are a very busy hotel and we would like to offer a smooth check out on the departure date of each guest. When you stay the next time with us please ask for a pre authorisation up on arrival and nothing will be charged from your card until you check out. I apologize for the fact that your shower gel as well as the soup have not been replaced, I will forward it to the housekeeping team. I will also pass the great idea about a channel guide as well as the idea of a wider range of the continental breakfast to the responsible departments. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a 3-night break in Dublin with my girlfriend. Good location. Upon entering the hotel I was pleased it was warm and cosy. This did however wear off quickly. The rooms were either very warm and stuffy, or quite cool/cold. The breakfasts left a little to be desired with warm pre-prepared/precooked food in what felt like a rushed school canteen. Staff however were a credit and extremely friendly and informative. Standard priced hotel with basic rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your taking your time to write these kind words about our hotel. I do apologize for the heating issues you had during your stay in our hotel. We made notice of it and try our very best to sort it out as soon as possible. I do also apologize for your ‘school canteen’ experience but unfortunately it can happen that a high number of guests are having breakfast at the same time especially on the weekend. Our breakfast staff tries their very best to serve everyone in time. We hope we can welcome you in the future again.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#59 of 151 in Dublin
1,325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#84 of 151 in Dublin
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#48 of 151 in Dublin
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing