We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located city hotel”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Cornwall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well located city hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A lovely hotel evolved from several buildings so has lots of stairs, there is a lift that serves the main floor levels.. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The Water pressure wasn't brilliant but by running the tap for a while there was hot water. The Irish breakfast was served plated but there was help yourself cereal, ham, cheese and grapefruit and plenty of bread for toasting. The reception staff were welcoming and the bar had live music.The hotel is located 50 yards from the hop on hop off sightseeing tour bus and local buses and is a short walk up O'Connell Street from Temple Bar.
A Dublin Bus Freedom Pass can be bought at the airport either from the Dublin Bus desk or a vending machine by the bus stop this gives unlimited use of the Airlink bus, the hop on hop off sightseeing bus and the local buses for 72 hours.
Catch the 16 bus to Temple Bar area and back up to Parnell Street across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatnHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing this excellent comment about your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay so much and that you have been very satisfied with the location of our hotel. Moreover I am very happy that our reception staff was so welcoming to you. I am sure they will be delighted to hear this nice feedback. The Castle Hotel team would love to welcome you back within the near future.

With kind regards,
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    792
    371
    122
    58
See reviews for
369
693
187
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herzliya Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hotel is in perfect location, short walk from O'Connell main street, yet in quiet area. Staff are helpful, courteous and very friendly. Room was large, light and airy and beds very comfortable. Breakfast was an enjoyable affair, plenty of choice and plenty of staff taking care of your every need. Well recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to Dublin. There is live music in the cellar bar each evening which was good fun!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Philippa,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write these fabulous words about your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much and that our staff members took excellent care of all your needs. Moreover I am happy to read that you were very satisfied with the size and comfort of your room. The Castle Hotel team would love to welcome you back within the very near future.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Tricky one this. The Castle is certainly better than average but "very good" is maybe putting it a bit high. Ideally I'd give it a straight three-and-a-half blob "good". Our room was no-frills but quite okay. Staff kept their cool and dealt very well with a rush of arrivals, including two simultaneous groups, although the luggage room was a bit chaotic. And the place was full but friendly. Tip: the cafe two doors along (not connected with the hotel as far as I know) is not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Charles,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in future.

With kind regards
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. Yes the hotel is a bit dated - but it is clean and efficiently run. We stayed with 3 children and our room was HUGE. It had a double bed and 4 small single beds. Even with all the beds there was plenty of room for the kids to stretch out (which was much needed after being crammed into small rooms the rest of the trip) The bathroom was large and modern.

The restaurant in the basement is very dark but actually has great food and is reasonably priced. Breakfast is a bit chaotic but has plenty of food to fill you up for the day.

It is just a short walk to Connell street and the buses. All in all, we thought it was a great value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Megan,

Thank you very much for writing this wonderful review about the Castle Hotel. I really enjoyed reading your words and I am delighted that you have enjoyed the location as well as the size of your bedroom. The restaurant the ‘Castle Vaults’ is indeed a little bit dark as it is located in the basement (vaults) and therefore I am happy to tell you that we are opening a new restaurant within the next few weeks on ground level, where the sun comes in. Please feel free to contact us direct for your next stay with your family at the Castle Hotel under info@castle-hotel.ie. We are looking forward to your next stay.

With kind regards,
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here in November 2013 with a friend and we had a lovely time.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The restaurant / pub was nice for breakfast.

We met the owner as well and he was a very nice man!

The hotel is brilliantly located just off O'Connell Street with easy access to the tour buses which take you to all the major sites (like the Guiness Storehouse and Temple Bar).

Overall, very nice experience and will definately consider booking again for next visit to Dublin!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ifty1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this wonderful review about the Castle Hotel. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the cleanliness and comfort of your room. Moreover I am delighted that our staff members looked after you so well. The team of the Castle Hotel is looking forward to welcome you back within the near future.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We chose this hotel as it was the only one with good reviews in this price range that was not on a busy street and we were not disappointed. We had a room at the back, but I can't believe that the rooms at the front suffered that much street noise.

The room was a decent size, the bathroom was smart with a very good shower. Breakfast was good apart from there being no fresh fruit.

The only criticism I would have was that the TV picture was poor quality and only a few channels, but then that was not why we were in Dublin so it did not bother us unduly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiestarsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Service at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this nice review about your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay. I will pass on the idea you have been given us about the breakfast to our breakfast staff. On the other hand I was disappointed to read that you weren’t happy with the TV quality. Unfortunately it does happen that the signal is weak in a small part of the building, therefore I am happy to tell you that we have engineers working on this problem currently. We would love to welcome you back at the Castle Hotel within the near future.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessheim, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Travelling together once a year with 9 friends in the 60`s, we was visiting this hotel for 4 Nights, all of us first time in Dublin. The hotel is old, and feels like what we in Norway Call "reve-hi" (fox-home). That means it is a number of stairs in all directions (but 2-3 lifts), and we think no rooms is equal! My wife and I had a OK room in second floor to the street, newly painted, also bathroom OK. The bed, however, was HARD. We asked for an extra mattress, they said ok but we did not get any. Otherwise the staff was friendly and serviceminded. Check-in and -out was very effectively, and in the breakfast-room in cellar everything was funktional. In the evenings it is live irish Music in the charming cellar with stone vaults. I heard Our friends had very different rooms, some to small to pass the bed in walking position. The only single lady in the group had a small Chamber on the top. All together, a good place with a central location to a acceptabel cost.

Room Tip: We was lucky in second floor to the street, do`nt know other, all different. We was not disturbed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Paul Erik,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this nice review about the Castle Hotel. I am delighted to read that you and your group of friends have enjoyed your stay. In deed all our rooms are individual designed which creates the charm of the Castle Hotel. I am sorry to read that no one took care of your issue you had with your bad. That should not have had happened and I do apologize for that and I will bring it to the attention of the housekeeping as well as front office team. On the other hand I am happy to read that you have enjoyed the service being offered by our staff members and we would love to welcome you and your friends back within the near future.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#45 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.1 mi away
Dergvale Hotel
Dergvale Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing