We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient city center hotel”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #54 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I liked the location of this hotel. Just a short walk from the Dublin City Center. Rooms are comfy though you can hear other guests closing/opening their doors. Good cooked Breakfast!! Overall, a good hotel for city center destinations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 333Debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed the comfort of your room as well as the location. We would love to welcome you back at the Castle Hotel within the near future.
With kind regards,
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I spent 3 nights at the Castle Hotel and cannot fault my experience. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the food was beautiful (hats off to the chef!!) and the location was superb - literally a stones throw from O'Connell Street. There were bus stops just around the corner for tours and trips around Dublin and its surrounding areas.
The only small suggestion that I would make is that at breakfast time, there needs to be more staff on - as it got quite busy meaning they were rushed off of their feet.
Other than that, can't fault it for ease of access and nice, friendly staff and beautiful food.
Will visit again :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Laura,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this wonderful review and sharing your experience. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much. I will pass your great feedback on to our staff members and I am sure they will be delighted. Moreover I am glad to see that you have enjoyed the location as well as the food in the restaurant. I will pass on your suggestion about the breakfast situation to our breakfast team. We are looking forward to your next stay at the Castle Hotel.
With kind regards,
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here last Sunday night, convenient for 1D concert......we booked a family room...arrived to find it was up to flights of stairs with no lift access....2 adults, 3 kids, 11, 8 and 2....needless to say we had a buggy for our youngest, luggage nd bags of all shorts......had to take 2 yr old outta buggy and have her walk upstairs while we went up and down with bags etc.......then at check in we were told it was €10 to park your car in there private car park for the night and you need to leave your keys at reception.....em why??????...in case they need to move it.....don't think so if it's moved then and there is mark who will own up.....we arrived back to my husband and our 2 yr old after concert at 10:45pm....my husband was sitting outside room with door open so our 2 yr old could go asleep....well then the fun started......people up above us jumping on beds up and down stairs and opening and closing doors.....went on for about half hour and then they went of downstairs and came back up in middle of night roughly 3am and same thing started again......then breakfast was a total disaster....ordered 2 full irish one came with no sausages....ordered vegetarian breakfast with poached egg.....got fried egg, no tomatoes.......ordered two different small breakfasts for our two,youngest and after 3 attempts right breakfast came......the next time it definitely won't be Castle hotel I would rather we all stayed in the car than put up with that c**p and pay nearly €300......never ever again....

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else:-(((((((
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Styles2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. I was very disappointed to read your comments and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to ask you to contact us direct under info@castle-hotel.ie in order to discuss your stay.

With kind regards

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked online at the last minute
Cheap clean place but very confusing to find your room kind of a rat race through hall ways and doors when you carrying your luggage it's a pain.
Good location top of the town close to buses and restaurants pubs ect ect

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Steven,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the location as well as the cleanliness. The Castle Hotel is the oldest hotel in Dublin city centre found 1809. It is made up of nine Georgian houses therefore it might be a little bit confusing inside the building. Please contact us direct under info@castle-hotel.ie for your next stay and request a room close to the elevators. We would love to welcome you back within the near.

With kind regards

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A lovely hotel evolved from several buildings so has lots of stairs, there is a lift that serves the main floor levels.. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The Water pressure wasn't brilliant but by running the tap for a while there was hot water. The Irish breakfast was served plated but there was help yourself cereal, ham, cheese and grapefruit and plenty of bread for toasting. The reception staff were welcoming and the bar had live music.The hotel is located 50 yards from the hop on hop off sightseeing tour bus and local buses and is a short walk up O'Connell Street from Temple Bar.
A Dublin Bus Freedom Pass can be bought at the airport either from the Dublin Bus desk or a vending machine by the bus stop this gives unlimited use of the Airlink bus, the hop on hop off sightseeing bus and the local buses for 72 hours.
Catch the 16 bus to Temple Bar area and back up to Parnell Street across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatnHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing this excellent comment about your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay so much and that you have been very satisfied with the location of our hotel. Moreover I am very happy that our reception staff was so welcoming to you. I am sure they will be delighted to hear this nice feedback. The Castle Hotel team would love to welcome you back within the near future.

With kind regards,
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hotel is in perfect location, short walk from O'Connell main street, yet in quiet area. Staff are helpful, courteous and very friendly. Room was large, light and airy and beds very comfortable. Breakfast was an enjoyable affair, plenty of choice and plenty of staff taking care of your every need. Well recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to Dublin. There is live music in the cellar bar each evening which was good fun!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Philippa,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write these fabulous words about your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much and that our staff members took excellent care of all your needs. Moreover I am happy to read that you were very satisfied with the size and comfort of your room. The Castle Hotel team would love to welcome you back within the very near future.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Tricky one this. The Castle is certainly better than average but "very good" is maybe putting it a bit high. Ideally I'd give it a straight three-and-a-half blob "good". Our room was no-frills but quite okay. Staff kept their cool and dealt very well with a rush of arrivals, including two simultaneous groups, although the luggage room was a bit chaotic. And the place was full but friendly. Tip: the cafe two doors along (not connected with the hotel as far as I know) is not recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Charles,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in future.

With kind regards
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 151 in Dublin
4,658 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,397 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#68 of 151 in Dublin
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £70 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing