We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #60 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Well located hotel. Staff extremely accommodating and friendly. Room clean and comfortable. Food tasty. Entertainment very good.Would definately recommend and if returning to Dublin would stay again. Thanks again to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Jackie,
Thank you very much for writing this wonderful comment about the Castle Hotel. I am delighted to read that our staff members have looked after you so well and that you have enjoyed the food as well as the location. We are looking forward to your next stay at the Castle Hotel.
With kind regards,
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    762
    365
    119
    56
See reviews for
351
676
179
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel as a family of 4. The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The food in the restaurant was good quality/value and the breakfasts were okay too. On the downside, the family rooms are located on the fourth floor and the noise from the bar area kept us awake most of the first night. However, the bar was not open and the guests who were making the noise were asked to leave by the hotel staff after 5 complaints. The hotel consists of 3 hotels joined together and the areas you are not supposed to see are still accessible. One of the stairways was supported with a metal frame so don't let your children explore on their own. The rooms are comfortable and reasonable value for money, however there are no mattress protectors and their were pieces of the last guests rubbish still on the floor. The hotel is fairly accessible for families but I would not recommend the location for anyone who has trouble walking. You are close to bus routes but due to the traffic it can take a long time to get about the city. Another down side to Dublin is the number of beggars (who all seemed to have good quality clothing and iphones). Also, this area at night is a bit rough and whilst we were there somebody had their bag snatched. I think if we visited again I would prefer to stay over the other side of the river as we have done in the past.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeni Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Jeni,

Thank you very much for writing this review. Upon reading your review I find out that a lot of information is not based on the Castle Hotel. Perhaps you may have chosen the wrong hotel when you submitted this comment. The Castle Hotel has been made out of 2 hotels. Moreover I have checked with the maintenance team the staircases and there is no sign of metal frames and there was never any report. The Castle Hotel is also located in the city centre it is only a 2 minutes’ walk to O'Connell Street.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I liked the location of this hotel. Just a short walk from the Dublin City Center. Rooms are comfy though you can hear other guests closing/opening their doors. Good cooked Breakfast!! Overall, a good hotel for city center destinations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed the comfort of your room as well as the location. We would love to welcome you back at the Castle Hotel within the near future.
With kind regards,
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I spent 3 nights at the Castle Hotel and cannot fault my experience. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the food was beautiful (hats off to the chef!!) and the location was superb - literally a stones throw from O'Connell Street. There were bus stops just around the corner for tours and trips around Dublin and its surrounding areas.
The only small suggestion that I would make is that at breakfast time, there needs to be more staff on - as it got quite busy meaning they were rushed off of their feet.
Other than that, can't fault it for ease of access and nice, friendly staff and beautiful food.
Will visit again :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Laura,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this wonderful review and sharing your experience. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much. I will pass your great feedback on to our staff members and I am sure they will be delighted. Moreover I am glad to see that you have enjoyed the location as well as the food in the restaurant. I will pass on your suggestion about the breakfast situation to our breakfast team. We are looking forward to your next stay at the Castle Hotel.
With kind regards,
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltmills, Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here last Sunday night, convenient for 1D concert......we booked a family room...arrived to find it was up to flights of stairs with no lift access....2 adults, 3 kids, 11, 8 and 2....needless to say we had a buggy for our youngest, luggage nd bags of all shorts......had to take 2 yr old outta buggy and have her walk upstairs while we went up and down with bags etc.......then at check in we were told it was €10 to park your car in there private car park for the night and you need to leave your keys at reception.....em why??????...in case they need to move it.....don't think so if it's moved then and there is mark who will own up.....we arrived back to my husband and our 2 yr old after concert at 10:45pm....my husband was sitting outside room with door open so our 2 yr old could go asleep....well then the fun started......people up above us jumping on beds up and down stairs and opening and closing doors.....went on for about half hour and then they went of downstairs and came back up in middle of night roughly 3am and same thing started again......then breakfast was a total disaster....ordered 2 full irish one came with no sausages....ordered vegetarian breakfast with poached egg.....got fried egg, no tomatoes.......ordered two different small breakfasts for our two,youngest and after 3 attempts right breakfast came......the next time it definitely won't be Castle hotel I would rather we all stayed in the car than put up with that c**p and pay nearly €300......never ever again....

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else:-(((((((
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Styles2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. I was very disappointed to read your comments and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to ask you to contact us direct under info@castle-hotel.ie in order to discuss your stay.

With kind regards

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We booked online at the last minute
Cheap clean place but very confusing to find your room kind of a rat race through hall ways and doors when you carrying your luggage it's a pain.
Good location top of the town close to buses and restaurants pubs ect ect

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Steven,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the location as well as the cleanliness. The Castle Hotel is the oldest hotel in Dublin city centre found 1809. It is made up of nine Georgian houses therefore it might be a little bit confusing inside the building. Please contact us direct under info@castle-hotel.ie for your next stay and request a room close to the elevators. We would love to welcome you back within the near.

With kind regards

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

A lovely hotel evolved from several buildings so has lots of stairs, there is a lift that serves the main floor levels.. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The Water pressure wasn't brilliant but by running the tap for a while there was hot water. The Irish breakfast was served plated but there was help yourself cereal, ham, cheese and grapefruit and plenty of bread for toasting. The reception staff were welcoming and the bar had live music.The hotel is located 50 yards from the hop on hop off sightseeing tour bus and local buses and is a short walk up O'Connell Street from Temple Bar.
A Dublin Bus Freedom Pass can be bought at the airport either from the Dublin Bus desk or a vending machine by the bus stop this gives unlimited use of the Airlink bus, the hop on hop off sightseeing bus and the local buses for 72 hours.
Catch the 16 bus to Temple Bar area and back up to Parnell Street across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatnHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing this excellent comment about your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay so much and that you have been very satisfied with the location of our hotel. Moreover I am very happy that our reception staff was so welcoming to you. I am sure they will be delighted to hear this nice feedback. The Castle Hotel team would love to welcome you back within the near future.

With kind regards,
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#81 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dergvale Hotel
Dergvale Hotel
#70 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing