We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute average”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Gyongyos, Hungary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolute average”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

May, 2014. I spent 2 nights there. Single room on second floor, it was very small and cold, looks like a servant-room in old building. No curtains on window, so it was uncomfortable because the neighbour windows are so close. Average furniture, clearness. Bed was ok, great blanket .The reception and bar were ok, nice persons. The breakfast room's staff were blase and the breakfast was poor. The location is great, walking distance the most sights. From airport take the Airport express bus and take off on station "Cathal Brugha Street". Positive attitude at the end, I could check out early morning ( 04:00 ) and got a breakfast too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your stay at the Castle Hotel. I was happy to read that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the service at the reception desk and in the bar. A check out is available any time, we do also offer a late check out on request. On the other hand I was disappointed to read that you weren’t happy with the equipment of your room. Please contact us direct under info@castle-hotel.ie in order to discuss these issues you had. Moreover I am sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with the breakfast therefore I am happy to tell you that we have just opened a new restaurant on the ground floor where are we going to serve the breakfast in future. We would love to welcome you back within the next future.
With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    800
    376
    125
    58
See reviews for
378
699
192
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Room 311 third floor at the front, too hot to sleep first night so we didn't really notice the noise, second night with less bed clothes could not sleep for the constant noise. Window mechanism broken so we could not close the window, half the power points did not work and neither did the hair dryer.
Quite clean and bed was comfortable even if you could not sleep on it.
Staff were good and very understanding when we checked out after two nights cancelling the rest of our stay!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnandMargMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review the Castle Hotel on Tripadvisor. I was very disappointed to read that you didn’t enjoy your stay and left the hotel earlier. All the issues we have been discussed on your check out have now been fixed in the room you have stayed in. I do apologize again.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Built in 1750's converted to hotel in 1800's.
So understandably a little shabby. I was travelling
with husband and sister so were given a very spacious room
3 singles and one double bed. Sitting room/ TV etc.
Situated about a 20 minute stroll to Temple Bar.
Music in bar downstairs most nights. Not too loud though.
Shower over bath, no guest laundry.
Not luxurious but a pleasant stay and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane582013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Diane,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stay at the Castle Hotel. I am glad to read that you had a pleasant stay and that you have enjoyed the friendliness of our staff members. As you have said we offer live Irish Music each night from Wednesday to Sunday during summer. Moreover I am happy to see that you have enjoyed the size of your room. All of our rooms are unique and special designed. The Castle Hotel would love to welcome you back within the near future.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The Castle Hotel is a great hotel. The georgian-style rooms are gorgeous, with a breathtaking view. All of the staff were excellent, and the beds are quite comfortable. It is easy to get a good nights sleep here and feel refreshed in the morning. The Castle Hotel is right in the middle of many stores, resturants, and parks, and walking distance. I have no complaints: my 13 day visit was amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Veda_gilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review about the Castle Hotel. I really enjoyed reading it and I am delighted that you have had such a good stay and that our staff members have looked after you so well. I am sure everyone will be happy to read your kind words. We would love to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It is Irish and you will either love it or hate it. I read several reviews before booking and that's exactly what I was told. But it did have a family room and that made economic sense as much as where it was located.

Reaching there from the train station is all but a 15 minute (15 Euro) journey by taxi. Check in was friendly and was offered a very large room with a King and 2 single beds. Rooms have a period decor and the floorboards under the carpet do creak. It is not luxurious but a walk back into the past. The 14ft height ceiling with what I assume were faux antiques gave the historical character to the room. Beds are comfortable with good quality linen.

the hotel is a combination of a couple of buildings and each was built at a different level - so there are steps where one connects the other. Not a great place if walking is a challenge. Otherwise no issues.

The bathroom is modern. (The exhaust in my bathroom did not work and was not attended to either - but that is probably the only complaint). And yes, there is no air conditioning and no fan so the rooms can get pretty warm in summer.

There is an eatery on site which serves decent breakfast. A continental breakfast buffet to get you going and a full (hot) Irish plate made to order.

All the major sites are within walking distance and we did not use either a taxi or bus or tram to commute within Dublin. Walk on O'Connell st. and there are several pubs, coffee shops and eateries. But, the Temple bar area and Grafton street are livelier. Both are about 20 mins walk from the hotel.

Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. I was delighted to see that you have enjoyed the historical character of the hotel as well as the location. The Castle hotel was found 1809 and has been made out of nine Georgian buildings and we are trying to keep the historical touch. We would love to welcome you back within the near future.
With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Located on a quiet street in the old Fishembl Street fashionable district of Dublin's Temple Bar, where the focus cultural life of Dublin.
a 5-minute walk from the theater "Olympia", photo galleries, and the Irish Film Institute.
Dublin Castle takes less than 10 minutes.
Pubs and Porterhouse and St John Gogarty are close by.

free Wi-Fi and elegant rooms.
here prepare a full hearty breakfast.

Room Tip: is the best choice if you want to visit Dublin for the purpose of seeing the sights of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Victory,

Unfortunately you must have picked the wrong hotel for this review as the Castle Hotel is located north of Dublin on Great Denmark Street.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Lovely hotel, very clean, excellent staff, breakfast was huge so much to choose from. Two mins from all amenities, would definitely stay here again. I travelled with a hen party and found the staff very accommodating bar staff were brilliant putting up with 21 hens . The hotel is huge and lovely decorated

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymondoschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this lovely review about the Castle Hotel. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay so much with your friends. We would love to welcome you back within the near future.
With kind regards,
Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#59 of 151 in Dublin
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#82 of 151 in Dublin
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#48 of 151 in Dublin
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing