We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let Down”
Review of Park Inn Dublin

Park Inn Dublin
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Park Inn Dublin
Ranked #111 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 6 December 2008

Room didn't have the facilities advertised, I knew it wouldn't be that good when I opened the cupboard to put the clothes away and the handle fell off. !! The so called plasma screen and the tower cd deck was like a thing from the sixties. Waited 6 hours for the remote control batteries to be checked and when I asked again the guy said, "[--] I forgot". No sorry or anything.
The so called jacuzzi had loose tiles all around and the 'sky view' was so obscure and covered with bird droppings you'd be lucky to see King Kong if he was were up there !!
The breakfast was, as the guy on reception put it when he forgot the batteries.
Overall in our opinion; the guy on reception was right !
ps. photos taken and maybe used in evidence.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shipel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Park Inn Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2008

We have just returned from a weekend in Dublin, fantastic city lovely friendly people just a shame the hotel staff were not!!! the staff on reception always greeted with a goodmorning or hello but the waiting staff at breakfast looked positivley bored and uninterested with you and the job, we came in late one night and thought we would have a night cap at the bar it had no atmosphere and the barman really had no sense of humour and wanted us out so he could go home....no customer service skills what so ever!!!!!!! On a plus point it means that you would rather go out and find a great bar with loads of character and life than spend time in the hotel.Rooms are clean but really hot with a heater we couldnt turn down and a shower that leaked all over the bathroom, the rooms are basic but a good base to see the city from, not a place for a romantic get away.The hotel however is in a good location built in a wonderfull building with a great bar on the corner which has to be Dublins best kept secret The Cobblestones( the guinness was the best we tried)a must!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights while in town for the All Blacks v Ireland rugby. Arrived on the Friday just after midday and our room was ready to check-in to. We were in Room 410 which faced the market area out the front. It was large with funky décor. Didn’t have a problem with the sink in the room but why??? Bathroom was a bit tired though – some tiles starting to fall off and the bottom of the shower was a bit mouldy. There was no air con so my fiancé got too hot at night which meant we had to sleep with the windows open which was a bit noisy early morning as they were assembling a temporary ice skating rink outside. Curtains would be better than the blinds which let in too much light around the edges (the lighting in the market area outside is quite bright at night). Only a 10 minute walk or 5 minute tram ride into the more central areas of Dublin. Good value.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sygnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

I stayed in this hotel 3 weeks ago for 2 nights. The location was perfect as I was attending the theatre as my nephew was acting in a play.

The room was really funky and cool. great beds, very clean. nice view of the smithfield market square. the staff were very nice. i ate breakfast on both mornings and the full irish went down well. had an evening meal aswell. very reasonably prices considering this is dublin city centre!!

the tram line is like a stone throw from the hotel which brings you straight to city centre. I walked the 2nd day and it only took 10 mins to get to temple bar for a few pints of guinness before the performance.

will be staying here again the next time i need to visit dublin. good value for money......FINALLY!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dunn0cks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

I stayed here for one night while attending a concert in Phoneix Park - this hoel was a great location for that.

The accomodation was reaonsable priced at 95 EUR (but this didnt include breakfast) The rooms were comfortable and modern.

I ate in the bar and the food was fine and the service was acceptable.

I would recommend this for business travelers and weekend breaks

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mazpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Stayed with 3 girlfriends for a couple of nights. At first glance rooms look pretty smart, but you soon realise that the trendiness does not make for practical bathroom arrangements. The sink is outside the bathroom - the trendy opaque glass having been purposely cut that way to allow, and the bathroom offers hardly any privacy in that its an obscure glass door with an inch gap all the way round and no lock! Reception staff during the day hardly spoke - not very friendly - and by 4 pm there was never anyone there - too busy chatting with their mates in the bar. When we did attract someones attention to call a taxi, he suggested we walk instead. (not good for girls on their own, in the rain & wearing heels). Its a good 20 minute walk to Temple Bar, or a 10 Euro taxi ride!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelma14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Stopped one night and paid £90.00 for single room as travelling to see Leonard Cohen in Dublin.

The hotel is in a slightly run down area, and there were a good few drunks and homeless folk hanging about but is pretty centrally based right by Jamesons and 10 mins walk to the hub.

Within 20 seconds walk, there is a subway, large spa and a cafe.

The Hotel itself, for all the strong decor and painting seemed a little sterile and the staff whilst efficient were a little distant and wooden. If you expect a famous Irish welcome, don't come here as all the staff are Polish!

The room was pleasantly large and the facilities were impressive with Cable TV, Kettle and CD player. However, the Shower door did not close propery, the towels were cheap and hard I didn't like the wash basin in the bed room!

Whilst the room and linen were clean, everything seemed a little jaded and tired.

Breakfast was adequate, but once again sterile.

Ok for a 1/2 night stay, but the ambiance reminded me more Travel Lodge than Boutique! Not one for a romantic Dublin trip but served my needs fine.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#126 of 150 in Dublin
310 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maple Hotel
#135 of 150 in Dublin
520 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#29 of 150 in Dublin
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn Dublin

Address: Smithfield Village, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £32 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of Smithfield Village, a cultural & residential complex with bars, restaurants & shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park Inn Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Park Inn
Chief o Neills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing