We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Temple Bar location”
Review of Eliza Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eliza Lodge
Ranked #88 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Temple Bar location”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The good news is Eliza Lodge is centrally located in Temple Bar above a restaurant right across from the Liffey. The bad news is it's located in Temple Bar… Earlier reviews had warned of the noise, so I thought I was prepared. But even with earplugs I did not sleep well. Late-night party people were yelling in the street until 3 am. But I'm a light sleeper. My kids, meanwhile, slept like rocks. So just know what to expect.

Location is great -- walking distance to anywhere you'd want to go. We arrived at 5:30 am so had arranged with friendly Stephanie to quietly drop off our luggage and go exploring. We walked all the way from O'Connell Street to Grafton Street to St. Stephen's Green.

Yes the stairs are narrow and the elevator tiny, but I thought that added to the charm. I was very happy with the room itself We had the good-sized triple room in the corner of the third floor with great views. Very neat and clean with a large bathroom that even had a tub.

Breakfast was included in the downstairs restaurant. Food was average but service was exceptional.

Great place for our first day in Dublin, but I don't think I'd want to spend multiple nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. Higher rooms might be quieter -- but still not very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    253
    87
    36
    17
See reviews for
76
227
51
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Staff could not have been nicer.
Restaurent is lovely too.
Rooms are clean with a fab view of the river.
Very central location next to lots of pubs
Great value!
Stephanie is a gem-so helpful and gave us late check out :)

Eileen

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileenmccacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed this hotel, my girlfriend and I stayed here a couple of days and would defo go back.
Breakfast was included and it was delicious, the staff were helpful and we even got a later checkout free of charge!
If you're looking for to stay in the Temple Bar area then please consider this hotel, great location, great staff and the the rooms are spotless and comfortable.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nuwavedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location at Temple Bar, on Wellington Quay is great. Our room was cramped and whilst having a Twin king Single deb, the room was too small for it. The air on is shocking. With noise in the area, windows must be closed in order to sleep, but air on can only be turned on from reception and that means ANY time you wish to use it. Really poor. Great location, clean, reasonably appointed, but the have to do something about the aircon

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BneTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Staff are very friendly and helped us on our way. Rooms were small but nice and cleaned. Our room had a balcony and loving view of the River. The restaurant downstairs is ideal and food perfect. :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sunnysun a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluefield, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was a good little hotel. The location was amazing for food and pubs, as there were several within walking distance. We stayed for a week and didn't have to eat at a single place more than once.

The room itself was small, but clean. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room because we were sightseeing. If you're looking for luxury you probably need to spend more money. The bed was comprised of two mattresses pushed together, which meant the middle was very uncomfortable. The street noise was a little loud even late at night and difficult to get used to at first, but that was to be expected since we stayed right in the temple bar district.

The staff was very personable and knowledgeable of the city.

Within walking distance of:
Guinness storehouse
St. Patricks Cathedral Park
Trinity College
Dublinia
Dublin Castle
Very large shopping district north of the river
Tour guide stations which were very helpful and affordable.
Bars. Lots of bars.

Room Tip: It looked like the top floor had the best views and street noise wouldn't be as bad. And you mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow, CA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was our first time in Dublin and we were looking for a place close to the action but with some privacy and Eliza Lodge did not disappoint. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was fabulous with views of the River Liffey and the Ha' Penny Bridge. We were just around the corner from the Temple Bar and other pubs with some of the finest musicians in Ireland. We opted for the penthouse and it was quiet enough for being smack dab in a big city. The streets roll up around 1 pm so we did a bit of people watching from our tiny balcony. Best place to start your Ireland vacation!

Room Tip: Pick the third floor for the best views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
1,024 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Clarence
#42 of 151 in Dublin
1,684 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 151 in Dublin
891 reviews
Temple Bar
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#85 of 151 in Dublin
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Lodge

Property: Eliza Lodge
Address: Eliza Lodge 23/24 Wellington Quay | Corner Of Eustace Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Eliza Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel located in Temple Bar area, near Grafton Street, St Stephen's Green & Trinity College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eliza Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing