We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not that bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #88 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not that bad”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

lets start with the paddy wag 1 hour late pick up and bad attitude driver... the staff in the celtic lodge nice people... room small comfy bed toilet didn't flush and shower was rubbish.. noisey room but we are noisey people haha.... got in one afternoon and our bedroom door was wide open and no one about we had clothes money watches etc in there so we phoned down stairs and she came up and said but nothing has been taken? a mean is that even the point... I said we payed a lot to stay here do no leave are door open... she said sorry?...great location great night life.... paddy wag again attitude problem... then Dublin airport fineshed our trip because we missed are flight hahaha Dublin=fun.....................................................................................................

Room Tip: no lift so if u have luggage go for 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    248
    141
    50
    31
See reviews for
68
257
57
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Very nice that they have airport shuttle (green Paddywagon bus - it does stop at other hostels too). The location is right by several places to eat and shop and the train station, and is only a few minutes' walk from O'Connell Street. We felt very safe there but it was a bit bright at night. We stayed in one of the double rooms & it was a bit small and basic but all we needed. Only complaint is that when we booked we paid for breakfast too, not realizing that breakfast was only open from 8-9:30. Since we had to leave at 7, they still charged us the full price for breakfast even though we only had a cup of cereal and toast, but I am glad they laid out the continental breakfast for us. The layout of the hotel is very interesting - a bit of a maze but well marked. Very unique.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Close to Connelly station & Luas stop. Free shuttle from airport was nice, but a glitch on the return to the airport resulted in a taxi being summoned (they did pick up the tab). Rooms are small but clean; if you're street side it's a bit noisy til around midnight. Staff was very friendly & helpful. About right for the price. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are smaller; street side is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very good location, on the main shopping street. A real English breakfast. Good public transportation connections. The airport bus stop is 50 meters away from the Hotel.
The room is quite small and the only inconvenience could be the morning Noise from the street.

Room Tip: Back view because of the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mihai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North east england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Celtic over the last 7 years and it still is as good as ever.

Nice clean rooms, up-dated in the last year, staff very helpful, check-in and out totally straight forward. Its location is ideal for the HOHO buses and also a 5min walk to Temple bar - but far enough away from the noise.

My only tiny little (and it is little) is the lack of a shelf in the shower area, no where to put your shower gel etc and also the lack of a bathroom mat, bathroom floor can get slippy when wet, we used one of the smaller spare towels.

We will continue to use the B&B when we visit Dublin and also recommend it to family and friends.

can't comment on the restaurant downstairs as we haven't used it yet, but hopefully will on a future stay.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the building for a quiet nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nufc165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Celtic Lodge this past week and we LOVED it! All of the staff was super friendly and so willing to help w/ anything requests you had! All we required was a place to sleep and shower in a great location w/ CLEAN quarters and that's what we got! The room was cleaned every time we left and fresh towels were left. The restaurant next store was DELICIOUS and the Irish breakfast served in the dining room was first rate. Thank you Celtic Lodge.......we will be back!! I HIGHLY recommend this affordable guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

If you want something very close to where everything is at in Dublin and don't want to fork over the big bucks to say in a posh place, this is the place. If you are looking for a place to sleep and shower then this should suit your needs. Rooms are small but beds are very comfortable and I can't say enough good things about the staff there. The pub next store is very friendly and the restaurant next store is superb... it won best casual dining restaurant in Dublin in 2011. I highly recommend staying at the Celtic Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#78 of 151 in Dublin
1,116 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
347 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Shea's Hotel
#83 of 151 in Dublin
306 reviews
Hotel St. George
#84 of 151 in Dublin
662 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Address: 81 - 82 Talbot Street | North City Centre, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Celtic Lodge Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Celtic Lodge Guesthouse - Restaurant & Bar is located in the heart of Dublin city, within an easy 5 minute walk from both Connolly Train Station and The Central Bus Station, and only 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Dublin City itself is filled with culture and learning, with lots to do within easy walking distance. It is rich in historic sites, theaters, museums, music and comedy venues, restaurants, including our own Award Winning Restaurant Le Bon Crubeen, serving very reasonably priced French / Irish cuisine, which can be followed with a "Pint" in our Award Winning Traditional Irish pub The Celt Bar, which with its friendly atmosphere and nightly live Traditional Irish Music Sessions makes a "must" after a day out. City Centre - 5 mins walk from train and bus stations, 5 min tram ride to The 3Arena from the Bus Station - the most popular music venue in Ireland. Own Award winning traditional Irish Pub - The Celt Bar with free live Irish traditional music nightly. Own Award winning Restaurant - Le Bon Crubeen. 24 Hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Celtic Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Celtic Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing