We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jules”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic time at this hotel. The Bar is a haven of friendliness and joviality. All staff are extremely helpful. Its central in Dublin for easy access to all shopping areas and public transport. The staff are extremely helpful. I highly recommend this hotel. Superb

Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have read so many bad comments, that I thought I would spend 2 horrible nights. In fact, I was nicely surprised. The room was very clean, and well furnished. The reception is opened 24/7 and the staff is helpful. Breakfast was great, and the dining room is lovely. No noise at all from our room even though we were on the 1st floor. The only comment I have is that the bathroom is quite small. Location is perfect to discover Dublin and you get a great value for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Excellent location right in the heart of the city centre. Very good value for money, overall the room was a great stay however one member of staff on the desk very unconsiderate and cheeky. Other than that the rest of staff were very nice and polite. Just that one issue with one member of staff but other than that it was great!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It was a great surprise for me Celtic Lodge!we had a comfortable double room, very clean and silent. The Hotel is in the city center close to all the amenities. The staff is nice, helpful and friendly: great receptionists and housekeeping staff! I strongly reccomend it!
Grazie Celtic Lodge!:-D

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Will begin at start of our short break. Arrived at Dublin airport and jumped on the free shuttle bus. Much to our amusement it is called the paddy wagon. Friendly driver dropped of right at door of hotel. Rooms are small as was the shower room Comfy beds, clean and well serviced. 10 mins walk to temple bar area and other tourist attractions are in easy walking distance or by using the hop on hop off bus service. 18 euros for 2 days. Restaurant down stairs bit pricey. Would recommend the Celt bar. Steak was 8 euros a different for restaurant and bar. Same kitchen. Breakfast in morning for 6 euros each. Good hearty cooked breakfast. Brilliant service from check In to check out. Will more than likely use on return to Dublin.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Situated next to famous Celt pub with live music and le Bon Crubeen top restaurant, three minutes from O Connell St and good homely atmosphere so very happy to put up with its limitations on space for price. Free airport transfer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

After massive amounts of research, this was the cheapest hotel in the area for our dates, and that was the sole reason we stayed there.

Pros:
1. 10 minute walk from Temple Bar area/Trinity College/etc
2. Clean room, comfortable bed
3. Clean bathroom

Cons:
1. Our Irish friends informed us that the 10 minute walk to Temple Bar is one through a "really bad area" of the city. Being from LA, we didn't realize, nor did we think it was too bad: a handful of drunks/homeless, a couple guys on drugs. Minimal harassment at night, morning was worse.
2. THEY TAKE YOUR ROOM KEY WHEN YOU LEAVE THE HOTEL AND "HOLD IT FOR YOU". We would not stay again for this reason. If you a truly a hotel and not a hostel, you do NOT hold keys when people leave. We returned to our hotel after having dinner the first night , and told the kid at the front desk a random room number to test our theory that they wouldn't check ID. The front desk guy handed us the key to the room we asked for... the room that wasn't ours. No ID check, nothing. We stared at him and told him it wasn't our room, and the reason we asked was to make sure no one could come in off the street and steal stuff. He said "he remembered us from before so it was ok". No, it's not ok. Absolutely not.
3.. Inconvenient but ok: Nowhere near to park if you've got a car. The closest garage closes at midnight and opens at 7.
4. We were on the third floor, which was actually the fourth floor. Corridors were poorly marked, and it was a hike with our bags (no elevator). Our room was very hot in September, with no AC. If you leave the window open, there is a lot of street noise until midnight.

The key thing sealed the deal... I would not stay again or recommend to a friend, as the teens at the front desk have no idea what's going on and it's very unsafe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank copy_that
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#83 of 150 in Dublin
1,171 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 150 in Dublin
1,148 reviews
Maple Hotel
#134 of 150 in Dublin
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#111 of 150 in Dublin
684 reviews
West County Hotel
#85 of 150 in Dublin
312 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Lodge Guesthouse

Address: 81 - 82 Talbot Street | North City Centre, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £48 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Celtic Lodge Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Celtic Lodge Guesthouse - Restaurant & Bar is located in the heart of Dublin city, within an easy 5 minute walk from both Connolly Train Station and The Central Bus Station, and only 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Dublin City itself is filled with culture and learning, with lots to do within easy walking distance. It is rich in historic sites, theaters, museums, music and comedy venues, restaurants, including our own Award Winning Restaurant Le Bon Crubeen, serving very reasonably priced French / Irish cuisine, which can be followed with a "Pint" in our Award Winning Traditional Irish pub The Celt Bar, which with its friendly atmosphere and nightly live Traditional Irish Music Sessions makes a "must" after a day out. City Centre - 5 mins walk from train and bus stations, 5 min tram ride to The 3Arena from the Bus Station - the most popular music venue in Ireland. Own Award winning traditional Irish Pub - The Celt Bar with free live Irish traditional music nightly. Own Award winning Restaurant - Le Bon Crubeen. 24 Hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Celtic Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Celtic Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing