We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Irish welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #90 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A good Irish welcome”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was a lovely place to stay, room was small but was clean & comfy with tea & coffee making facilities. Good ensuite with toiletries and guest house right in city centre and within walking distance of O'Connell Street & River Liffy. We ate in the Celt Bar on the first night - food was excellent and live music very good too with a lovely atmosphere. All in all we enjoyed our trip to Dublin the city embraces tourism with so much information, transport links and friendly helpful folk. Lots of interesting places to visit and Dublin steeped in history. Killmainham Prison is well worth a visit as is the Guinness Store- a trip down the River Liffy is great too.

Room Tip: Our twin room (110) was small but adequate if only staying one/ two nights - not sure I could have c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemay1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    251
    146
    51
    33
See reviews for
72
262
58
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Situated along Talbot street, off O'Connell St, Celtic Lodge is near to O'Connell St and the bus station (and River Liffey). There's a tesco express near by and restaurants/cafes along.

We were given a "private" room which was facing the road so it can get pretty noisy! Room was spacious with one double bed and a single bed with coffee/tea making facilities and shower gel and shampoo

Room Tip: Avoid room/s facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggie_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Room was clean very quiet no noise issues, right in the city centre with everything within easy reach breakfast was great and we found all staff were very welcoming and friendly, this was my second stay at the hotel and I would recommend it to any one travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic time at this hotel. The Bar is a haven of friendliness and joviality. All staff are extremely helpful. Its central in Dublin for easy access to all shopping areas and public transport. The staff are extremely helpful. I highly recommend this hotel. Superb

Helpful?
Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have read so many bad comments, that I thought I would spend 2 horrible nights. In fact, I was nicely surprised. The room was very clean, and well furnished. The reception is opened 24/7 and the staff is helpful. Breakfast was great, and the dining room is lovely. No noise at all from our room even though we were on the 1st floor. The only comment I have is that the bathroom is quite small. Location is perfect to discover Dublin and you get a great value for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagM3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Excellent location right in the heart of the city centre. Very good value for money, overall the room was a great stay however one member of staff on the desk very unconsiderate and cheeky. Other than that the rest of staff were very nice and polite. Just that one issue with one member of staff but other than that it was great!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It was a great surprise for me Celtic Lodge!we had a comfortable double room, very clean and silent. The Hotel is in the city center close to all the amenities. The staff is nice, helpful and friendly: great receptionists and housekeeping staff! I strongly reccomend it!
Grazie Celtic Lodge!:-D

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#78 of 151 in Dublin
1,123 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
357 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Shea's Hotel
#83 of 151 in Dublin
313 reviews
Wynn's Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,174 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 151 in Dublin
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Address: 81 - 82 Talbot Street | North City Centre, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Celtic Lodge Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Celtic Lodge Guesthouse - Restaurant & Bar is located in the heart of Dublin city, within an easy 5 minute walk from both Connolly Train Station and The Central Bus Station, and only 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Dublin City itself is filled with culture and learning, with lots to do within easy walking distance. It is rich in historic sites, theaters, museums, music and comedy venues, restaurants, including our own Award Winning Restaurant Le Bon Crubeen, serving very reasonably priced French / Irish cuisine, which can be followed with a "Pint" in our Award Winning Traditional Irish pub The Celt Bar, which with its friendly atmosphere and nightly live Traditional Irish Music Sessions makes a "must" after a day out. City Centre - 5 mins walk from train and bus stations, 5 min tram ride to The 3Arena from the Bus Station - the most popular music venue in Ireland. Own Award winning traditional Irish Pub - The Celt Bar with free live Irish traditional music nightly. Own Award winning Restaurant - Le Bon Crubeen. 24 Hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Celtic Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Celtic Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing