We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby but interesting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Grubby but interesting”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Slightly grubby and in a fairly seedy part of town, all of which I found pleasingly louche but may not be everyone's cup of tea. You can get posher surroundings for the same price, but as I had an early start in this area, it was ideal for me.
In the limited dealings I had with the staff I found them keen and helpful.
On the whole, this establishment reminded me of Margate boarding houses in the sixties. If seediness is not your bag, stay away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohntheFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    252
    151
    52
    33
See reviews for
74
263
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

As we arrived we where welcomed at the reception where there were loads of mosquitoes, we were not accompanied to our room. It was very small, extremely warm and worst thing THE TOILET WAS DIRTY.
Once I told the receptionist, I was given bleach and a cloth (actually it was a towel) and I had to clean it myself.
The area is central, the pub downstairs is very chaotic and the fire alarm went off every now and then (even during the night!) and no one was bother to tell us what was going on or apologise about it.
We would not recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank GiadiBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Blantyre, Blantyre, Malawi
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Was up for a weekend trip for events in City centre and Templebar. Can walk everywhere I needed to go so saved on taxi's. Close to bus and train stations and just less than 5 minutes from the Spire. The accommodation is clean and check in was quick and efficient. Reception staff were very friendly. Would definitely stay again if going on another trip to Dublin city centre, Room 210 is very small as I had to put the chair on top of the wardrobe so I could use the luggage stand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Pros: polite and helpful staff, comfortable beds, we had a double room so we had plenty of space, good full Irish breakfast in the morning (for 6 euros extra), great location for walking around the city, you can leave your bags after you check out, and they offer a free shuttle to the airport.

Cons: Lots of street traffic and noise late at night kept us up. Also, a fire alarm woke us up and then we got an accidental 7am wake-up call which we did not request.

There is no elevator, but this seemed very common in the B&B's we stayed at in Ireland.

Room Tip: request a room that does not face Talbot street. We had to keep the window closed because of the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillarys, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Celtic Lodge Guesthouse for 2 nights in June 2014 and were very disappointed with our choice. On checking in we were directed to the third floor with no lift. We had to carry our heavy bags up three flights of stairs with no help. The room was small and very basic. We had virtually no sleep for the two nights because of the noise from the street. We tried to make a phone call and after phoning reception were advised we could not make outside calls. We would not recommend this Guesthouse to anyone staying in Dublin and would never stay there again.
John and Gail Laney

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GailLaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My sister and I booked a room in the Celtic Lodge to spend a few nights in Dublin near the city center. I actually found it through HostelWorld - a website to find cheap accommodation - and was surprised a bed and breakfast competed with hostel prices for a private room for two. I went with Celtic Lodge because it had a pretty good location (just on the north side of the river) and was a decent price for two people.

I emailed the place, asking about the Paddywagon (the free shuttle to and from the Dublin airport), and received a response in a timely manner. The people were very friendly and helpful in answering questions I had. So when we arrived in Dublin, we had a little trouble finding the Paddywagon bus, but ended up seeing the driver and finding the shuttle okay (it was the last bus on the right when it picked us up). It was about a twenty or so minute ride to the Celtic Lodge. The outside and check in is nothing special. You do have to get buzzed in each time you go into the B&B and leave your keys with the front desk, but it wasn't that much of a bother.

We got in a lot earlier than check in (2 PM), but the lady at the front desk let us leave our bags there and requested for our room to be cleaned first so that we could check in early. We came back at the time she estimated it would be ready and it wasn't done yet, so we went out for another hour or so before it was cleaned. We checked in and headed up to our room. I don't think there is any elevator, so take note if you have very heavy bags or have trouble getting up and down stairs.

Our room faced the street, so we could hear everything. We even smelled smoke through the closed window at all hours of the day (and night). The room was very small. Just enough room for the bed, a desk with a chair, and a small open closet. The bathroom was very small too, especially the shower. I couldn't barely bend over in the shower because it was so narrow. But the water pressure was good. One thing that was annoying was the sink. Besides having two faucets (one for hot, one for cold), you had to press them for water to come out and the water lasted maybe a few seconds before it turned off again. So that was a hassle when washing our faces and brushing our teeth. But the room was clean, so it was fine. Overall, I'd say that it is a good place to stay if you want fairly cheap accommodation in Dublin that is located not too far from the city center.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are always pretty noisy and can smell strongly of smoke from people smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great location - within walking distance to transport, shopping, sightseeing. Shuttle available from and to airport. Rooms are small but clean and bright. Restaurant I provides excellent food and breakfast is available early am. Front desk is very helpful. Downside is there is no elevator or lift. Getting luggage up and down can be difficult.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanR20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,132 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
358 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#101 of 151 in Dublin
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Shea's Hotel
#84 of 151 in Dublin
317 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#77 of 151 in Dublin
1,023 reviews
Hotel St. George
#80 of 151 in Dublin
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Address: 81 - 82 Talbot Street | North City Centre, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Celtic Lodge Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Celtic Lodge Guesthouse - Restaurant & Bar is located in the heart of Dublin city, within an easy 5 minute walk from both Connolly Train Station and The Central Bus Station, and only 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Dublin City itself is filled with culture and learning, with lots to do within easy walking distance. It is rich in historic sites, theaters, museums, music and comedy venues, restaurants, including our own Award Winning Restaurant Le Bon Crubeen, serving very reasonably priced French / Irish cuisine, which can be followed with a "Pint" in our Award Winning Traditional Irish pub The Celt Bar, which with its friendly atmosphere and nightly live Traditional Irish Music Sessions makes a "must" after a day out. City Centre - 5 mins walk from train and bus stations, 5 min tram ride to The 3Arena from the Bus Station - the most popular music venue in Ireland. Own Award winning traditional Irish Pub - The Celt Bar with free live Irish traditional music nightly. Own Award winning Restaurant - Le Bon Crubeen. 24 Hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Celtic Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Celtic Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing