We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, pleasant guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gate Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #23 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Convenient, pleasant guesthouse”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at the Gate Lodge for several days, while we did our Dublin explorations. Because it is not quite downtown, it is quiet and yet very convenient to transit, being just across the bridge from the Heuston Station. While the rooms are slightly in need of upgrading, they were quite comfortable. We were treated to a welcoming coffee and snacks when we arrived from our air flight, and given some recommendations about the city. The owner had provided activity suggestions prior to our arrival, which proved to be excellent ideas, and her father was looking after the B&B while she was away - great conversations, and obvious interest in the business was shown. This was our introduction to the full Irish breakfast - very satisfying, but I learned to reduce the quantity over the next few weeks!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadasnowcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    46
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
50
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We liked the proximity to Heuston rail station since it offers easy coach connections to the airport and the station itself serves the western points of Ireland. The room was very large with high ceilings. We were lucky to have a room away from the busy street, so the rooms to the back are very quiet. There were some issues with shower water temperatures fluctuating. Otherwise, this B&B provides great value at very reasonable price. We were treated warmly and provided with an early breakfast before our trip to the airport. The Gate Lodge is a family-run lodging providing a great personal touch; the rooms are fine with adequate storage and good amenities. If you are looking for good value in Dublin, this is the place for you. We would happily stay at Gate Lodge when we return to Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thunderfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The only good thing about this guest house was it's position, near to Heuston Rail Station. Bedrooms small, bed not comfy, pillows rubbish, no hot water only tepid, supposed to be a lounge but never found it, breakfast heated up in a microwave and was a poor representation of a full Irish Breakfast.
People who think this place is wonderfull can't have stayed in many good guest houses. I can give you better places to stay but that wouldn't be right for this review.

Room Tip: The traffic starts each morning at 6.00am, so a front room is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at Gate Lodge in February 2012 (2 teenagers, 2 adults), in one of the 4 person rooms. If you are looking for a B&B this is the place! The owners and staff are super friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is amazing (will even make you takeaway sandwiches if you are departing earlier than their breakfast hours). The location, though not in the middle of the city, is perfect. Only a three minute walk to Euston Station, and a two minute walk to a hop- on/hop-off bus stop. Very close to Ryan's (My favorite pub/restaurant in the area), and very close to a small supermarket. Because it is not in the middle of the city, it is rather peaceful, yet close to it all. A bus route, only about 10 Euros for a family, takes you from the airport straight to Euston Station in only 55 min. You can also take the bus back to the airport from Euston.
I can not say enough about the Gate Lodge: great value, good location, and an awesome experience.
You will not regret staying there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Omar1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at Gate lodge in October. When we arrived we were made welcome with a pot of tea and biscuits. Grainne gave us advice on where to go and which transport to use and as we arrived early allowed us to leave our bags whilst we went out.
We had very bad weather whilst there and during our stay we could not go out for a meal due to floods! We went to the takeaway next door and Grainne kindly made us a pot of tea and let us eat in the dining room. We were also surprised when she gave us a bottle of wine which was so thoughtful.
We found the guesthouse to be very comfortable and 'home from home'. Grainne also could not have been more kind or generous and we have been in touch with her since we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Not very central but well located. Good instalations. I recommend, specially for families.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMecchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here on our first three nights in Dublin on our first trip to Ireland. After three weeks in some lovely hotels and B&B's I would have to say that the Gate Lodge rates very high in my books. I would definitely stay here again.The location is handy, the room was spacious, airy and clean, the beds comfy and the host Ed Sheehan and housekeeper Roberta were very helpful, good humoured and friendly.

This B&B will suit people who like a quiet retreat, away from the noise and traffic of downtown with a 10 minute tram ride (or a 30 minute walk) from the main attractions. It is within easy walking distance of the Kilmainham Jail (which is a must see) and right next to Phoenix Park (beautiful park and zoo). It is also a five minute walk from the Heuston Train Station, On arrival, we took an Air Link bus from the airport to Heuston and walked to the B&B. After exploring Dublin we were able to hop a train to the southwest to continue our tour.

When we arrived, we were greeted by Ed who served us a cup of tea and cookies. This was much appreciated as we had been delayed for an hour at the airport while they located our baggage. Although it was early in the day, our room was ready and we were able to get a restful nap in the very comfortable bed. Our room was large with a double bed and also a single so would suit a family of three. The bathroom was ensuite and very large (shower only). There were lots of handy storage places,tea and coffee making facilities and a hair dryer. The B&B is in a brownstone building. I'm not sure of the age of the building, but the ceilings were high and the windows were practically floor to ceiling. We overlooked the back garden, so we heard none of the noise from the busy street. We had a phone and internet access.

We walked everywhere in the three days we were there, but if you aren't a walker the tram and bus are practically at the door.The full Irish Breakfast was more extensive than many others we had on the trip - eggs, sausages, bacon, baked beans white pudding and toast, along with a selection of cereals and yogurt.. On the day we left for our train journey, Roberta packed us a lunch of ham and cheese sandwiches - no extra charge. We paid 70 E per night, which we thought was extremely reasonable for Dublin. We wished we had booked Gate Lodge for our last night, instead of staying at an airport hotel. We'll know better next time.

We would highly recommend this place for a home away from home, and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#135 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
Tipperary House
#11 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#29 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Parkway Guesthouse
#18 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gate Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Gate Lodge Guesthouse
Address: 3 Conyngham Road | Phoenix Park, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Phoenix Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gate Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gate Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing