We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not expect much, but this was just disgraceful”
Review of Lyndon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lyndon Guest House
Ranked #122 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Did not expect much, but this was just disgraceful”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I thought the staff were not helpful (in fact, very rude), and the room was very unclean. The shower barely worked (no temperature control as the dial was broken), the bedsheets did not seem clean, the towels were stained, the carpet had not been vacuumed, breakfast was very simple.... I could go on. And worst of all, although it was a budget hotel it still cost much more than it should. Will never recommend anyone to come here, a hostel would have given better hospitality and cleanliness.

Room Tip: They're all probably dirty and none of the electricals are in working condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    53
    79
    64
    105
See reviews for
48
111
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I booked into this accommodation for one night and was not expecting much as I had read the reviews. I agree the accommodation is very basic. I booked a single room but I got a double bed with a shower/toilet and the cost was €45.00. Reception staff were friendly but room was very small and shower was not up to standard. Soap dispenser was rusty ! Breakfast was adequate, no great choice but there was a choice of two cereals and the usual full Irish cooked breakfast. Shower was ok and the water was hot. The building leaves a lot to be desired but it is in the centre of Dublin and for one night I found it to be ok. The cheapest hotel I could get in that area was €89.00 room only so I felt the Lyndon met my needs and my budget.

Room Tip: My room was No 6 and was o.k. for one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feemar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

limerick
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Lyndon Guest house and will not return. Room was cold, electrics were faulty, shower was a trickle, towels were hard, breakfast was very basic. was disturbed in my sleep by the manager at 11pm, demanding payment for the night. Centrally located to Mater Private hospital but would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I am a retired hotel inspector and will be asking the AA to look into this guest house regards there status. I was visiting family in Dublin and decided to try what I would call budget accommodation in the city. Old habits die hard! The web site shows a clean well run establishment near the heart of the city. The latter is the only true part of that statement. On arrival there was no means of payment by card and I was told the machine was having problems that day. Looking back through the other comments on this site the card machine has not worked for several weeks possibly months. I asked for a VAT receipt for my cash payment and was told that was not possible. This is very suspicious. The room was cold and only just came under the description of satisfactorily clean (ignoring stained carpets, dirty walls and thick dust on lampshades). The TV was broken and the Lamps either side of the bed were also not working. There was no welcome pack and worst of all no evacuation instructions in the event of a fire or emergency should you need to leave the building. There were electrical wires on show and the wall heater only gave out the minimum amount of heat. The electrical heater supplied in the wardrobe did not work and none of the electrical appliances were in a safe condition. The shower barely worked and gave a minimal amount of pressure. The room was not cleaned or serviced in the 4 days I was there and every time I went in search of breakfast the place was abandoned and no breakfast service was available. I notice that the proprietors have responded to the negative comments on this site and argue that this is ‘budget’ accommodation and therefore customer’s expectations are too high. I have spent 30 years researching and staying in budget accommodation and this falls very short of the standard that you would expect in a modern day budget guest house, hotel or B&B. I would advise any traveller to steer clear of this establishment and research nearby alternative budget accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MSH1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

i have never stayed in a place so run down! the woman at the desk was sarcastic and in no way helpfull when we asked for directions! looked at me like i had two heads! as if i was supposed to know dublin as well as she did! the room was so shabby, wallpaper hanging off wall.. pity i can't post pics on this review as i have no connection for my camera to laptop!!! tyles around toilet were missing! dirty carpets! shower in bits! pillows so flat you could land a toy plane on them! tiny towels! one each! sign on bathroom door saying they were saving energy and detergent therefore being good to the envoirnment by given us one hand towel each instead of bath towels! smell of rotten eggs in hallway near front door! a person would have to have no sence of smell to not notice this! no milk in room or water in kettle, not enough sockets. faulty socket next to bed.. dips in floor everywhere. i thought we were going to fall through it! they won't accept credit cards! i have stayed in much better places! and cheaper than this! no extra blanket! no extra pillow! was afraid to try breakfast! looking through some of the good reviews... i wonder.. how many the staff wrote themselves?????????? if there is good rooms in that place. i didn't see them, friends were also staying! same problems! i would never go back! .

Room Tip: not at this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliiiiiiiiiiiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The only decent thing about this B&B was their breakfast. The room and towels were not clean at all, shower door would not close and there was so much mould it seemed to have life of its own. The extractor fan would not switch off and was extremely noisy- pointed out to the owner but nothing was done.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

2 adults and 2 kids in family room - double bed and 2 singles - one nite for 95 euro. First impression of room was poor - signs of damp, carpet was obviously hoovered but was stained as was bed bases (no valances to hide this!). A small portable T.V was in the room - cracked window (this did not affect heat as crack was on outside of double glazing). Bathroom smelt of bleach and toilet/sink were clean - shower however had cracked tiles, mould on silicone and the shower head was hung over the soap holder as the attachment was broken thus meaning you had to hold it to wet yourself. No shower soap available. There were 4 towels in the room for us and the beds surprisingly were comfy enough. A kettle and tea/coffee were also available but unfortunately the plugs were all on the ground so we had to put the kettle on the carpet to boil. The carpet on the stairs was in need of a wash and was loose in places which was a concern. Breakfast, in the basement room (bright and clean) was basic but no fruit juice available. The staff however were friendly and polite - gave us advice on where to go and let us leave our luggage with them after we handed in our keys which was a big bonus as our train was not until 7pm. They also have plenty of information leaflets available. This was very basic accomodation, nothing like the photo advertised, and is near to the city centre. Unfortunately not somewhere i would return to!

Room Tip: ask for the room the picture was taken in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.8 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#23 of 149 in Dublin
451 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Marilyn Mansion
The Marilyn Mansion
#58 of 149 in Dublin
179 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paddy's House
Paddy's House
#92 of 149 in Dublin
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Durban Residence
Durban Residence
#76 of 149 in Dublin
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parkway Guesthouse
Parkway Guesthouse
#18 of 149 in Dublin
337 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tipperary House
Tipperary House
#12 of 149 in Dublin
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndon Guest House

Property: Lyndon Guest House
Address: 26 Gardiner Place, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lyndon Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lyndon Guest House in Dublin City Centre, Gardner Square, Dublin is a magnificent 19th century Georgian town house in Dublin which is of historical and architectural interest, this Dublin Guest House has a wide variety of rooms available at budget prices. Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast in Dublin is a small privately owned guesthouse offering a warm friendly atmosphere with courteous staff that will ensure that you enjoy your visit to Dublin. It is a 2 star Board Failte approved Dublin Guest House with AA 2 Diamond status and a member of the Celtic Accommodation Group. Located in the northern area of Dublin City Centre, The Lyndon Guest House in Dublin is a reasonably priced central Dublin guest house within easy reach of Connolly Train Station, Busáras (Dublin’s central bus station). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lyndon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndon Guest House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing