We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Trinity Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trinity Lodge
Ranked #29 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Disappointing hotel, basement room, dark and had to crane my neck to see the sky Reception in another building across the road, hotel receptionists defensive and not very helpful , breakfast not included but luckily available nearby, at more reasonable rate Will not stay there again ,nor will my sister

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review.
The room that you have stayed is room 18, which is located on the lower ground floor and not basement and is is very well appointed.
I can not comment on your note about the receptionists as I do not know what are you reffering to (especially by using the word defensive), considering also that most of our guests are very pleased with their service.
Breakfast was not included due to the fact that you have selected the cheapest rate option without the breakfast. We do not believe that 10 Euro per person is expensive for a freshly cooked breakfast.
I hope the above clarifies any misunderstandings and thank you for staying with us.
Kind Regards,
Roxana Cernat
Manager Trinity Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Trinity Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Now when I say loud, it's not the location, but the showers. We could hear a loud pumping noise everytime the neighboring room ran the shower. We're not sensitive, but this noise woke us up every single morning!!
Other than that, we found the hotel OK. Service was friendly and location was TOP. I would consider staying again, but only of they can guarantee a more quiet room.
We stayed over St. Patrick's Day weekend when basically the whole town is drunk, but no parties disdurbed the hotel. The lack of night clerks and/or security was not an issue for us, but I could see how this might be uncomfortable for other travelers.
Wake up calls could not be scheduled prior to the arrival of the front desk clerk at 7:30?? Really? No automated service??

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room without shower noise, If they can't offer, I'd go elsewhere
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigCityCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed our location and staff service. There is unfortunately some noise that can be heard between rooms due to the nature of the buildings but there are indeed some rooms that can be more quiet than others. Please request a quiet room next time you would like to stay with us and we would be happy to oblige.
Please accept my apologies regarding the lack of the wake-up call, offcourse there is an automated service. I have reminded all receptionists about this option after receiving your comments.
In the end I would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Roxana Cernat
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here over this weekend, our second time at the place, this time in room 4 on the first floor, after our previous stay in the basement room.
I must say I just do not get the undeserving negativity of a number of the reviews here.
This establishment is perfectly located, the lack of restaurant amply compensated by some great places within more minutes of the front door, and with the whole of Dublin easily accessible.
The place itself is clean and well looked after, the staff unfailingly polite and attentive.
The wonderful full length windows in our room gave a very impressive feel to the large room and although there was some noise late at night as the garbage was removed from the restaurant next door, it did not stop us from getting a good nights sleep.
We have stayed again, and doubtless we will again in the future ..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mart58Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind words.
We do feel the same but everybody has an opinion. We hope that our responses give people a fair and accurate picture of the hotel. Nobody denies that there may be issues (within and outside our control) and we did acknowledge them all the time if it was the case as all hotels (I hope) try to improve. There are hotels that do not have the minimum requirements for a good night stay: hot water, a good bed etc, but they still have good or good enough reviews. We are not that lucky apparently.
Trinity Lodge has a very good location, the place is very well maintained, very clean, the staff is very pleasant. Yes we did not serve a hot breakfast in the restaurant as it was not under our management for almost 2 years but we have good news for you. From the 1st of March this year we will start to operate ourselves the restaurant and we will serve both continental and Full Irish breakfast (cooked to order). We hope that this will reestablish Trinity Lodge as one of the best places in Dublin to stay & have breakfast as we used to be famous for the quality of both (accommodation & breakfast).
Therefore we hope that next time you will be staying with us it will be an even more pleasant experience if you wish to try our breakfast.
I apologize for the noise from the rubbish collection. It was brought to the manager attention of the restaurant next door and hopefully will not happen again. Thank you for letting us know.
We hope to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Roxana Cernat
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I satyed in Trinity Lodge last weekend 31st Jan &1 st Feb . Brilliantly located and rooms large, well heated and well appointed. Sadly though for my second visit as on the previous disturbed by nosie from guests in the early hours. a loud knocking on our door at 2.40a.m and later at 3.40 a.m when gentleman visitor leaving to a loud chorus of foul langauge.Reported this in the am to two front of house/receptionist who seemed very unprteurbed. In the absence of any hotel presence or suvellience surely even a notice in the lobby requesting quiet after 11 and asking for respect for other guests might be helpful.Anyway second time around not prepared for a 3rd visit.Buswells hotel just up the road was actually cheaper on the weekend we satyed.

Room Tip: There doesn't seem to be as on each occasion we were woken in the early hours. 1st time by stone...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and for staying at the Lodge for the second time.
We are delighted that you have liked (as most of our guests) the location and the rooms.
It is unfortunate that 2 rooms staying for 1 night while you were here last time have disturbed other guests (that have posted all bad reviews recently). As explained before we do not have such guests in general but even hotels with 24 hours reception have the same situations and even worst. Our staff at the time tried to explain the what happened and apologize.
I would like to add that all guests that were disturbed were compensated and some of them were kind enough to acknowledge this by removing their reviews in this regard.
We also believe that our hotel is better appointed than the hotel mentioned in your comments and that is maybe why you have stayed with us even we were slightly more expensive. However we would love to welcoming you again to Trinity Lodge especially now that we will be also able to serve a hot breakfast to all our guests in our restaurant.
We hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards,
Roxana Cernat
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was a horrible experience. I stayed at this hotel the same night that some of these other commentators stayed there (see other comments below). It was a night when a massive party broke out, and there was no one on duty to call. They give a number to guests and tell them to call between the hours of 10PM and 7AM if there is a problem. There's only one problem with that advice. No one answers the phone.

But what is worse is that I saw that the manager responded to one of the guests to say that they will compensate the guests for the bad experience. Well, it has been one week. We have heard nothing from the management or owner. I hate to use words like dishonest and lying, so I will not. But I am wondering when we will see the compensation.

Seriously, this hotel is run like a hostel. I think we saved 10 Euros by staying at this hostel instead of a major hotel. But it's not worth the savings.

It is kind of funny to see that management at Trinity Lodge follows trip advisor so closely. It seems like they have someone on staff 24-hours a day to respond to negative reviews. Maybe a better business model would be to have someone paid to work at the hotel overnight, instead of to manage bad reviews. I suspect that the bad reviews would stop popping up as often.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LLutherG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
I only have to say that you have been forwarded again today the e-mail sent to you by the owner last week-was nothing that we misled you or anybody about. Afterwards we got a reply from you saying that you have been away and could not check your e-mails.
Regarding your comments there is nothing else to add apart from what I said below and we did apologize for the inconvenience.
Kind Regards,
Roxana Cernat
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

If you wish to feel safe and secure in your hotel room in Dublin, you are best advised to avoid Trinity Lodge and choose a hotel with 24 hour reception. This hotel leaves its guests in a vulnerable position throughout the night, without any access to staff.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank cliosull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
However, I have to say that it refers to the same night that the last 3 reviews are. We did explain what was the issue (that we do not have this type of guests staying in) and please consider that it is a city centre hotel that does not have a night club in as most of them do. We are a quiet hotel as we do not have a late restaurant or a night club ( considering our location ) but some noise may be experienced from other guests. Other hotels in the city center, charging the same rate, have a night club up to 4 am and they still receive good reviews even though have a 24 hours reception and nobody does anything about the noise as they can not. There is no excuse that the phone company had an issue regarding redirecting the calls to the management (as we did reply before) and we did apologize for that, but we feel (from the feedback of other guests staying in) that some of the comments are misrepresented. The fact that we do not have a 24 hours reception does not mean that the service, rooms and staff are not 100% to ready to welcome the guests that are appreciating it.
In the end I would like to apologize for any inconvenience experienced during your stay but as said previously there may be noise if anybody stays in a city center hotel.
Kind Regards,
Roxana Cernat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel is really a gem! We were so lucky that they had room last minute. Trinity Lodge has an EXCELLENT location to all main Dublin attractions. The road it is on is perpendicular to Trinity College and is really just a few minutes walk (less than 10) to the Temple Bar area. Just two streets over from the popular shopping street Grafton, and right by Hop-on-Hop-Off bus stops, too. The rooms are spacious, clean, and updated. Only slight downside is that wifi and breakfast are additional charges, but wifi is accessible at any cafe and you can pick up food supplies at a store or get a reasonable breakfast at a cafe if you do not want to pay for the hotel's breakfast. The staff was so welcoming and let us hold our luggage in the lobby and check in early. Not only that, they let me print tickets to an attraction I was attending earlier that day in their lobby. So charming and a steal for the location! I will definitely be staying here again next time I am in Dublin!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Tina C,
Thank you for your kind review and nice words about the hotel. I am glad that you have enjoyed the location, the service of our staff and the room.
We hope that you will be considering Trinity Lodge again if you will be travelling to Dublin.
Kind Regards,
Roxana Cernat
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,500 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#103 of 150 in Dublin
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 150 in Dublin
3,432 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#102 of 150 in Dublin
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Lodge

Address: 12 South Frederick Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £122 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trinity Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Georgian Guesthouse in the Heart of Dublin. Situated in the heart of Dublins business district & cultural quarter near Trinity College, this elegant guesthouse offers luxury en-suite accommodation in an authentic Georgian townhouse. Rich in character, Trinity Lodge is one of the finest examples of Georgian-period accommodation available in the center of Dublin and is comprised of 3 beautifully restored original Georgian houses. The Lodge is a splendid craft of Georgian elegance and contemporary style & comfort. Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike Trinity Lodge has a unrivaled location as Grafton Street, Temple Bar and O'Connell Street are all located within walking distance from us. Please note due to Trinity Lodge being a period property there is no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Trinity Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing