We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience. Great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 31

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Number 31
Ranked #45 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great experience. Great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

We stayed for one night. Great location to walk to all the sites of Dublin. Breakfast was great as well. Room was nice and big, modern shower and bathroom. Our only complaint on the room was the furniture was a tad ratty with pills and such (very worn). Be aware also the king size bed is two twins pushed together. Normally we would have minded, but we were so jet lagged it did not matter. Would for sure stay here again. Host and staff were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denisetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    150
    43
    27
    20
See reviews for
131
334
59
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

Arrived to find a lorry blocking entrance way unloading fizzy pop so had to park in car park (not the hotels) opposite the hotel's nice looking door. Sadly car park full of litter and dog mess. Leeson Close a scruffy little street.

Reception area interesting; good tea and cake on arrival. Nice hosts.

Taken, through garden, to room in another building that is on Fitzwilliam Place. Room very small. So small you look around to see if there is another door to the real room. So small you wonder whether all the rooms in the hotel are this small; surely not. A glance at the fire escape plan suggests they are. Just room enough for bed with around three feet either side. Claustaphonbic Amanda said.

Bed a double made from two singles pushed together. That really irritates me. Its just so annoying. You can't get comfortable. If I'd wanted twin beds I would have asked.

Bathroom tiny. Around six foot by three foot. When sat on loo nose around eight inches from wall in front. No bath but good shower. However, in the shower there is nowhere to place soap, or shampoo or my razor. So I have to place them on the adjacent toilet seat dripping water everywhere. How complicated can it be? Maybe the hosts should try staying in one of their own rooms to see the simple things that are missing.

Room has no mirror except in the bathroom which isn't a problem for me but is, apparently, for Amanda who likes a mirror when dressing and can't use the one in the bathroom that is steamed up after her shower.

No tea and coffee in room which is annoying. Tea and coffee is available in reception but thats not helpful first thing in the morning when wanting a wake-up coffee.

Room nicely decorated albeit dark. Touch of style there but flaking paint in some places.

Fitzwilliam Place not a pretty place to stay. Woken first thing, around six thirty, by the noise from traffic below. Very noisy even on the second floor, probably because of the large sash window. View is of scruffy Georgian terraces opposite. When we stayed it was rubbish collection so from six in the evening Fitswilliam Place lined with unpretty piles of rubbish bags. Charmless.

Breakfast was ok. My partner's kippers tasted delicious. Ok but not brilliant.

Would I stay there again? No. Its in a handy location but then so are lots of hotels in Dublin; its a small city. Its certainly not worth the 140 euros I paid. The most expensive of out little four day trip and the only disappointment.

In fact, the most disappointing I've stayed in for some time. Usually trip advisor is reliable. I really cannot understand how this hotel is rated so highly.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwentyTreesGallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

My wife and I were looking for somewhere to stay within walking distance of town; it was her birthday so I wanted somewhere great but not a "chain hotel". Number 31 delivered completely. Perfect location, very funky place and great breakfast. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evilal666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

We have stayed in a number of hotels in cities around the world but this ranks as one of the most friendly and excellent in a truly unique boutique hotel. The friendly service began upon arrival with Noel providing tea and cookies for us while we got settled in. He then spent as long as we needed sharing the key delights of the city on map and sharing do's and dont's.

The family room was the best we have stayed in on the planet. Very spacious and extremely comfortable. We had two very comfortable nights and enjoyed the awesome breakfasts. The 'full Irish' is a cooked breakfast at its best - award winning and I am not surprised.

The whole family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Number 31 and would recommend the hotel to anyone. We shall definately be back!

Thank you for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerfamily15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

Noel is a very genial host and made us feel welcome the moment we arrived. We were very tried from traveling all night from San Francisco. He immediately offered us an outstanding Irish breakfast with plenty of coffee and tea to get us going again. Once we had a brief lie-down he gave us a local map and helped us find what we wanted. Its close to all the attractions and secluded at the same time. It CAN be a challenge to find though. The reservation had good directions but it is on a VERY small street with only a small brass plaque next to a large wooden door. It doesn't look at all like a hotel. It was comfortable and quiet and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Look for brass plaque next to large wooden door
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank super1mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

Although a bit tricky to spot, this place is worth scouting out. Noel, Linda and all the staff are simply the best. They are warm, approachable, helpful and the perfect hosts. The lobby and breakfast area (in a remodeled coach house, perhaps) are connected to the main lodging in a Georgian house by a lovely garden. Rooms are clean and very comfortable with everything but your own coffee/tea service. And the breakfast (especially the coffee!) is... simply sublime. It's not inexpensive, but it's a great value for Dublin in a great location. You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jalice0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Lovely warm welcome from Noel and lots of helpful advice on what to do and see in Dublin. Great room, beautifully furnished and lots of attention to detail; as for those beds....they're amazing! Wonderful breakfast, again beautifully presented. Thank you Noel, we will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyclark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilronan House
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Waterloo House
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Schoolhouse Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 31

Property: Number 31
Address: 31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#13 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 31 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 31 is famed for its unique hospitality,excellent service and probably the best breakfast in Ireland.Number 31 is situated between a classical Georgian Townhouse and a stunning modern mews by Ireland's most famous architect. Each of the 21 en-suite bedrooms is fitted with luxurious Hastens beds and are individually furnished. Wifi available. The famous sunken conversation pit was the meeting place for Ireland's elite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 31 Hotel Dublin
Number 31 Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing