We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place MADE my trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Number 31

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Number 31
Ranked #40 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“This place MADE my trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

I am loathe to write this review because if people know how wonderful this place is I'll never get a room there again! It was my first trip to Ireland and was thinking that Dublin couldn't possibly live up to my expectations, but a local directed me to this amazing place. As an architect, I appreciated synergy of the old Georgian building and the fine modern design. The spaces are beautiful, the bed cozy and the facilities clean and first-rate. The location is fantastic, a 5 minute walk to St. Stephen's Green and the heart of old Dublin. As if this wasn't enough, the price is affordable enough that even I could stay there. I'm in love with this Number 31 and Ireland. I'll be back as soon as I can.

I can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff who brought me tea and cookies and chatted with me on a rainy night, posted a letter out of country with their own stamps, and invited me to sit and have breakfast even after I had checked out.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmckee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    151
    44
    27
    20
See reviews for
134
341
59
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

What a great way to start a tour of Ireland, once you enter the hidden door of the inn and find this peaceful little tuck away inn, you are on your way to an enjoyable experience. Host gave flawless advice on what to do, where to eat and the breakfasts are so good they are memorable to start each day. Ask for a room off the street if traffic noise bothers or bring earplugs to solve that. Lots of warm antique decor yet modern bath-perfect blend. I was traveling with my 22 yr.old son and it was a great start to the rest of our Ireland traveling.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCalumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moraga, California, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Our trip to Ireland was bookended by stays at Number 31. Both before our arrival and during our stay, Noel and Linda were indispensible in their touring suggestions outside of Dublin as well as arranging things we wanted to do and see while we were in Dublin. Everything was possible and doable in the most gracious and efficient way. They insured our visit was the best it could be!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceejay069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Our hosts were extremely kind and greeted us warmly. The room was very nice... and quite comfortable. Breakfast was excellent all three mornings. I would stay at Number 31 again without hesitation. Easy walk to many top sites.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markaruben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

If you're looking for true Irish hospitality then this is the place for you. Noel and Linda and their staff are friendly and always helpful. Top location with everything in the GPO area of Dublin within a 5 to 15 minute walk. Well situated to dining options as well if you prefer to eat close by. The BEST breakfast of my four week holiday.

Room Tip: Request room overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KymMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unionville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

This place is fabulous. Noel and Diedre, the owners have put together a very hip and stylish place, that is a bit difficult to find but worth the trouble. I would not stay anywhere else in Dublin. While there, we met other travelers that have stayed at this place anywhere from three to seven times. It is no wonder. Close to everything, great breakfast, wonderful hosts and employees, eager to help you with anything at any time. Truly the best that Dublin has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimTravalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

A wonderful boutique hotel presided over by possibly one of the most genial and ebullient hosts ever, Noel. Your beds will be comfy, your rooms quiet, the location just off of St. Stephen's Green perfect, and breakfasts heavenly. They will park your car as well while you're there. Only caution is to try NOT to get the room just off the breakfast/dining room as it can be noisy first thing in the AM. HIGHLY recommended, can't imagine staying anywhere else in Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelswat_team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Kilronan House
#39 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Waterloo House
#27 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 31

Property: Number 31
Address: 31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#13 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 31 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 31 is famed for its unique hospitality,excellent service and probably the best breakfast in Ireland.Number 31 is situated between a classical Georgian Townhouse and a stunning modern mews by Ireland's most famous architect. Each of the 21 en-suite bedrooms is fitted with luxurious Hastens beds and are individually furnished. Wifi available. The famous sunken conversation pit was the meeting place for Ireland's elite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 31 Hotel Dublin
Number 31 Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing