We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Unique - not sure how to classify - guesthouse/boutique hotel”
Review of Number 31

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Number 31
Ranked #37 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Unique - not sure how to classify - guesthouse/boutique hotel”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Have stayed at Number 31 on a number of occasions. Its unique - much more personal than a hotel, much more upmarket than a B&B. Rooms all quite individually designed and most are quite spacious. Very centrally located close to city centre but wonderfully quiet. Breakfast has also been consistently wonderful. Good Man Noel !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    153
    44
    27
    21
See reviews for
139
353
59
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at Number 31 over New Year and very much enjoyed our stay. The hosts were very welcoming and brought us tea to our room, which was very much appreciated while we settled in. Our room was right off the entrance, but we never heard anyone coming or going, so it felt very private. Breakfast was generous and delicious, especially the eggs benedict, which we enjoyed both mornings on the back sun porch. We very much enjoyed our stay and will stay at again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beckenham,kent,UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

well located just down from St Stephens Green. We have stayed there before and really enjoyed it. Good standard throughout. Friendly welcome but the only problem was that we asked them to repair the light in the bathroom but they didn't manage to do it in the 2 days we stayed there. Disappointing - would like the practicalities done as well as the bonhomie.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian581951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

On arrival in Leeson Close, there is a closed doorway with no obvious clues that you have reached your hotel. Press the buzzer and the door opens. Go through the small courtyard and up a few steps. Enter into a small passageway and turn right. The reception may be empty, but wait, somebody will greet you! There is a sunken area with settees and a big fireplace. The whitewashed walls give a feeling that you are in Marrakech rather than Dublin. Once greeted, your rooms will be either in this building or a short walk through the back, across the courtyard into another separate building. I was in room 19 ground floor - wow this room was big with very interesting light fittings. It was lovely and warm - but no tea or coffer facilities in the room which was a shame. There were complimentary bottles of water and you could go back to reception for free tea or coffee, but, after a long day I didn't want to venture out again. Breakfast was exceptionally good, and the choices were excellent. The full Irish was cooked to perfection and the fruit selection was as good as anywhere. There was a really nice welcome and attention to detail was with everything, including the understated Christmas decorations in the breakfast room. The staff were really friendly and I would definitely recommend this hotel. The location is also very good for the central Dublin areas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneHilton1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

It was easy to feel as if we "belonged" in this area full of Georgian style buildings with brightly painted doors. Finding No. 31 wasn't easy (but the cabbie was in charge) since it's off the main street just a bit. It proved to be a perfect location for walking in the very walkable Dublin area we were interested in. It has two parts, one is more modern (a converted artist studio/coach house I heard) and the other is an older Georgian mansion. We were on an upper floor of the latter and I think the flights of stairs we had to climb were good for us, but if that's an issue then request a lower floor. The breakfasts were as good as everyone says. It's funny that they have the same things on the menu as lots of places (full Irish breakfast, etc.), but theirs are so much better prepared--eggs cooked just right, even the porridge was delicious--lots of really fresh fruit, etc.). The place is on several levels, however, so as I said, if stairs are a problem you should check with them first. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view or ask that you not get a street-facing room if you are worried about noise. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblersOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This place is so so lovely! It's a little bit outside of the heart of the city, which worked out perfectly for getting away after a very busy day of sightseeing. From the moment you walk in through the wooden doors you're so welcomed. I stayed here with my sister recently and our stay was clearly not long enough, I just want to go back already! Our room was spacious and our beds were so comfortable you could barely sit on them without wanting to rest for days. Breakfast was amazing! I could have eaten it all day and still not have had enough! I recommend this place to everyone

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I recently took a trip to Dublin and was lucky enough to have discovered Number 31 on the internet beforehand! A bit hard to find for the taxi driver, but once you step through the large wooden gate/door it's lovely! Beautiful building and the room was very nice, bed was most comfortable bed I have ever slept in bar my own! The breakfast the next morning had to be eaten to be believed! Beautiful berries, cereals and fruits to start then the cooked breakfast. I opted for the eggs benedict on both mornings as it was just delicious. The eggs poached perfectly with amazing hollandaise and a magical little potato cake which was melt in the mouth. I have no doubt that the other options on the menu would have been equally delicious. I found all the staff very genuinely friendly and very welcoming - I would recommend Number 31 wholeheartedly and look forward to when I can next get back to visit!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sennac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilronan House
Kilronan House
#42 of 151 in Dublin
886 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#29 of 151 in Dublin
1,162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#32 of 151 in Dublin
584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 31

Property: Number 31
Address: 31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#13 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 31 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 31 is famed for its unique hospitality,excellent service and probably the best breakfast in Ireland.Number 31 is situated between a classical Georgian Townhouse and a stunning modern mews by Ireland's most famous architect. Each of the 21 en-suite bedrooms is fitted with luxurious Hastens beds and are individually furnished. Wifi available. The famous sunken conversation pit was the meeting place for Ireland's elite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 31 Hotel Dublin
Number 31 Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing