We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Number 31
Nearby Hotels
Drury Court Hotel(Dublin)
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sheldon Park Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveller rating
609
161
50
29
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
609
161
50
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorgian housecranberry breadpeat firesunken living roomboutique hotelwonderful hoststhe main housefull irishhome away from homesitting areaeach morningno elevatorbed and breakfastguest housest stephens greenbreakfast was delicioustea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 871 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our second visit to Number 31 and once again our experience was outstanding! Noel and the staff treat you as you are family coming home. The service and accommodations are wonderful. Everyone talks about the breakfast and it truly is the best in Ireland. Before we left we were talking about how we could visit Ireland again for the primary reason to stay at Number 31 and for a longer period next time! Thanks to Noel and the staff for treating us like family - we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights and I debated about my review. We were in room 18 which is ground level and faces Fitzwilliam = street noise and it's busier than I would have expected (ear plugs a must), the only steps were the few from the garden which could be a plus for some. Space in the room was smallish and we bumped around the furniture/luggage. Bathroom was OK, towels OK. It's a 5 to 10 minute walk to St. Stephen's Green and from here to the main attractions including Grafton Street but we like to walk. There's a HOHO bus stop at St. Stephen's if that interests you. Breakfast was really good and one morning we splurged on eggs benny - they were excellent. Service was welcoming and very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfun001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This establishment consists of two buildings - what used to be the coach house is now the entrance, with a super mid-C20th sunken lounge area complete with peat fire which gives a pleasant aroma. The architecture is stunning. If staying in the main (200 year old) house as I was, you then walk through a pretty garden and up a narrow staircase to enter the gracious old terraced house. I was in room number 20 which was only up one flight of stairs - to stay near the top floor must involve a lot of climbing! Staff were friendly but non-intrusive, breakfast was tasty. Everything was a little worn around the edges but then so am I so it didn't bother me. The garden was a particularly charming spot considering it's in the centre of town - a pleasant walk to the main attractions of this gorgeous city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryrosedouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This B&B hotel is backwards. The original front, now the back, is a beautiful Georgian House on Fitzwilliam Place. The front is in a mews, and the one enters through a door in the garden wall and then into a stylish reworking of what was presumably the carriage house/stable. This part of the building is very distinctive, with a large sunken seating area with a fireplace. this part of the hotel was designed by a well known architect whose name escapes me just for the moment, but he did a good job.

There are a couple of rooms in this part of the hotel, but most are in the house itself, across a pleasant little garden form the front. The style of this part is slightly kitsch Georgian, a tiny bit shabby, perhaps, but very comfortable and characterful. We have stayed in one of the ground floor rooms, which is a very good size, and one at the top of the house, which was smaller, but adequate. In both cases, the bathroom was well appointed with a decent shower. The rooms have the usual mod cons. A couple of botts of mineral water were provided.

Breakfast is taken upstairs in the front (or the back as was) of the hotel, and is excellent. Fresh juice.Cereals, yog, fresh fruit, fresh compote, excellent breads and jams, very good full Irish, good eggs bendict, scrambled eggs with smoked slamon were a little solid, a pair of kippers (with poched eggs), the best i have had. Tea ad infinitum (or filter coffee). Communal tables, which is not really my idea of a good time at brek (or any other meal) but it works fine.

I believe that the proprietors have been at it for some time; they give the impression of knowing exactly what they are doing. They are charmingly hospitable; tea and home made biccies were offered on arrival, and our daughter was given brekkie even though she wasn't staying there!

The hotel is just off Leeson St South, just north of the canal, just south of St Stephen's Green. Easy walking distance into downtown Dubin, such as it is, and convenient for the airport express bus service. If you arrive by car, it will be taken away from you and parked (and returned on request).

I doubt that there is a better place to stay in Dublin, unless you require swimming pools, business centres and so on.

Room Tip: I suspect that the roome on the ground floor 'front' (actually back) is the biggest.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theblackhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Number 31 is a bit out of the way, but a comfortable and interesting place to stay with a great breakfast.

Pros: Great breakfast, comfortable room, nearby walk along the canal.

Cons: Bit of a walk to tourist sites. Poor room Lighting - bedside lamps are difficult to read by, and no lights with room seating.

Be aware: No elevator and access to some rooms have lots of stairs.

Room Tip: No elevator - be sure to let them know if stairs will be a problem. Noise may be an issue on some outer rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makawao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews