We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have stayed at Number 31 many times and so are beginning to run out of superlatives!”
Review of Number 31

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Number 31
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

But, as always, the room wasvery comfortable and well equipped and the legendary breakfast lived up to all expectations. But it is the people who make No. 31 what it is, so thank you very much to Noel and his team.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mucklehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
There are newer reviews for Number 31
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked a 3-bed room and they gave us two 2-bed rooms. Very nice service. We arrived late night and were very uncertain about the place as once can hardly see a hotel when in standing front of the outer door. However, we were warmly welcome.
Breakfast is really as they advertise it.

Room Tip: rooms in the base are a bit dark, so upstair rooms are a better choice
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MobilUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have had the opportunity to travel quite a bit, at times in hotels rated some of the best in the world. Seldom has my experience matched the few days I had at Number 31. This charming, beautifully designed hotel has a staff and culture that is unmatched. Noel, the owner delightfully describes the rich history of the buildings and is available to assist with any questions you may have. Breakfast allows the choice of sitting with other guests and, each morning, resulted in a delightful conversation that equalled the extraordinary food. I unfortunately left my passport at the hotel and Noel refused to accept payment for the overnight mail return. The care with which the passport was wrapped (including a plastic cover in case it got wet) reinforces the attention to detail that, compined with the true hospitality, makes this a very special experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a gorgeous B&B with a fascinating history. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable, each with it's own personality. It sits just off the main road so is very quiet too. The breakfasts are superb and although it is probably a cliche to say to talk about the Irish welcome as being very friendly and warm- that is exactly what you get at Number 31. It is a short walk to the city centre and on main bus route.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A hidden gem.
From our arrival very early on friday morning when welcomed with a complimentary breakfast to afternoon tea with homemade biscuits, to sadly leaving with a prebooked taxi waiting for us, this family run beautiful b&b is a must. It's actually far more glamorous than its b&b listing suggests.
We had a girls weekend doing all of the 'musts' in Dublin. Number 31 is easily walkable into town, even as far as the guiness museum.
It certainly won't be the last time we use this lovely home from home, shared by Noel and his friendly and professional family who own and run it.
Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently after being at one of the larger downtown Dublin hotels all week. It was nice to be in a cozy b&b, not too far from City Center. Noel, the owner, greeted me upon arrival and my numerous large bags magically made it up to our room while he was showing me a map of the area and giving me tips on where to dine and see sights. Our room was large and very comfortable. Since it faced Fitzwilliam St., it was a bit noisy during the day, but quiet at night and on the weekend. The courtyard is very pleasant and the eating areas delightful. We chose to eat in the greenhouse each morning, banquet style. The breakfasts were excellent.
Great service too. Housekeeping was very efficient and practically invisible. Just a short walk to the canal, downtown, and various local pubs and eateries.

Room Tip: be sure to lounge about in the Austin Powers sunken living room!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A charming hotel, located in central Dublin. The staff were helpful and friendly, the beds comfy and the lounge area excellent. We loved the garden too. The highlight was the amazing breakfast - delicious, fresh and served in a light airy room - 10/10

Carol and Jane

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilronan House
Kilronan House
#42 of 150 in Dublin
907 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#29 of 150 in Dublin
1,184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#33 of 150 in Dublin
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 31

Address: 31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#13 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £123 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 31 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 31 is famed for its unique hospitality,excellent service and probably the best breakfast in Ireland.Number 31 is situated between a classical Georgian Townhouse and a stunning modern mews by Ireland's most famous architect. Each of the 21 en-suite bedrooms is fitted with luxurious Hastens beds and are individually furnished. Wifi available. The famous sunken conversation pit was the meeting place for Ireland's elite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 31 Hotel Dublin
Number 31 Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing