We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff, clean but hated their long stairs and shower system.”
Review of MEC Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MEC Hostel
Ranked #25 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first hostel in our trip. I have to say the worst of the 3 hostels we used. I'll start with the bad things. First the shower was awful, it was either super burning hot or super cold nothing in between so it took me forever to shower. I had a room in the 3rd floor and the stairs seemed to never end. The good things, their staff was super nice and helpful. The rooms got cleaned everyday and we left our things in the room even though we had 3 different couples as roommates (room for 4) and nothing went missing. The location was perfect just to give you a reference we were 5-10 mins away from the Spire in O'Connell st and 10 mins away from Temple and Trinity College. Even though I hated the stairs I would give this hostel a 5 star rating if it wasn't for the showers I totally hated that part. Made me waste a lot of time. Please fix them!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Conicornellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Me and my friends booked out a whole 10 bed dorm for NYE. It was incredibly cheap but really clean and bunkbeds comfy. We were right opposite shower block and never had to queue. Water always warm and considering there were 10 of us thats pretty good. Showers powerful too.
Not much of an atmosphere but we didnt need this being a group of 10. We didnt use the kitchen but it did look a bit dirty and a bit like it needed a revamp. Was a good location and easy to find. Bus stop near by and quiet hostel in terms of not being woken by strret noise etc. A tenner a night...you cannot go wrong

Room Tip: if you have enough friends get a whole dorm to yourselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The superior deluxe room we rented ended up being an apartment to our surprise. The finishes were certainly germane with the price, but it was very clean and safe. Even a washing machine! Would definitely recommend to anyone who is traveling as a couple or a small family.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank thefreddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived here late in the afternoon after a long day of travel and we were wet, cold and tired. The lady at reception upgraded us to a 4 bed room because me and my friend weren't in a room together. She also sorted out a room for us for Saturday night because we couldn't find anything in Dublin! The rooms were clean and comfy, we had a great stay and would stay there again. Only 10 min from city centre

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sarahfitzholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Really cheap so you shouldn't expect anything more from this hostel than a bed and a roof.
Nothing is absolutely terrible in this hostel but nothing makes it nice either.
Very cold atmosphere in every part of the building
We felt quite uneasy staying there and I wouldn't recommend it.
I've known hostel that were as cheap but far more friendly - try and look for something else if possible.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia2192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed here for the weekend and it was a lovely place. The staff were friendly there was free wifi (wifi that actually works! Not like in other hostels) The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean. It was close to the city centre and within walking distance of Temple Bar. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bena3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A nice budget to stay... very helpful staff who assist fast in check in, provide information and directions to city and airport... need to walk a distance into the city.. large shared rooms, plenty of space for activities if booked the whole room (18pax room)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Egali Hostel
#15 of 130 in Dublin
165 reviews
Spire Hostel
#19 of 130 in Dublin
135 reviews
Gardiner House
#26 of 130 in Dublin
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Dublin International Youth Hostel
Four Courts Hostel
#31 of 130 in Dublin
433 reviews
Abbey Court
#8 of 130 in Dublin
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEC Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEC Hostel

Address: Tallaght Cross West Hotel 42 North Great Georges St, Dublin D24 VX61, Ireland (Formerly Mount Eccles Court Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: £14 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEC Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mec Hostel we provide a range quality accommodation for our guests in Dublin's city centre, from private suites with private bathroom and kitchen to shared dorm room accommodation at very attractive prices. Housed in beautiful georgian buildings on one of Dublins finest historical streets. With our very friendly and helpful staff, spacious lounges and rooms with keycard access and free lockers, garden terrace, Mec Hostel is the Ideal base for your visit in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your MEC Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing