We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First week in Dublin. Great Experience.”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Just arrived at Dublin for permanent job contract, to find Waterloo House was the best start that i could hope for. The B&B its located in a quiet area in Dublin 4, very near (10 minute walk) South side city center (St. Stephens Green). Evelyn, the propriator, is charming and very helpfull making house guests feeling like home. For me it made all the difference staying in Waterloo House and in that side of the city.
Don't forget the AMAZING breakfast on a quiet and warm outdoor garden view.
The rooms have a great heating system (always warm) and the toilets are big with excellent shower flow. Couldn't expect more of it! Waterloo House really set the standard for me!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank photographer_rp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

Friendly staff and awesome breakfast... Stayed here for two weeks and enjoyed my stay a lot. The place is 2 minutes to Baggot Street with a lot of restaurants and grocery stores including Tesco. I highly recommend this place especially to people who are relocating to Dublin.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozge O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Extremely happy with our stay. Less than 10 minutes from the centre of town. One guest needed disability access and the staff were very accommodating in this regard. Clean, spacious rooms. Would definitely stay again and will recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Monique O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Mum, a family friend from USA and I had a wonderful stay at this beautiful, very homely guest house. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and well equiped with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, iron and board etc and staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is fab and the lounge/sitting room is ideal for meeting other guests and chatting in a relaxing atmosphere. Location is excellent - only a 10-15 minute walk from St Stephens Green. Highly recommended and we will return again!

Room Tip: bathrooms are compact
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendaArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Three of us stayed here as our base in Dublin in August 2011. (forgot to write review then)The room was nice, clean and quiet. Friendly staff and easy check in/out. Amazing breakfast and after a night on the town it worked wonders.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacquie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed here in October with my adult son. They gave us a nice large room, with two large beds, and a large window out the front of the house. The hotel was quiet, both inside and out. The bathroom was compact, but nicely appointed and all was very clean.

Reception was friendly and helpful. They were available 24 hours a day.

We walked all over Dublin from the hotel. it was very centrally located, and just the right distance from the noisy center.

The airport bus picked up and dropped off nearby, so that was easy, too.

Room Tip: Some rooms front on the street, like ours did. It was a quiet neighborhood, and the house is set-bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judyisreadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This place is like a cross between a hotel and a B&B. The room is very much like a hotel - TV, en suite, tea/coffee, all the usual amenities. However, there is also a common lounge space with couches, TV, internet, etc. and a dining room for breakfast. Part of the dining room is in a conservatory, which we found nice - being able to see the garden and wildlife is pleasant. Staff are fantastic; I needed to print boarding passes so he let me use their main computer in the reception!

Stayed: December 2012
3  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 150 in Dublin
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#74 of 150 in Dublin
811 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £68 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing