We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood affluent, attractive, easy to get there and back”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #32 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We found the buses were easy to use, came frequently, had digital signs telling exactly how many minutes left to wait for each bus. The neighborhood was a good one and we appreciate a few stores and restaurants off the tourist track. Our room had a large window looking over the garden, quiet, peacefu and attractive. The huge tub, strong shower and copious hot water was revitalizing. The breakfast area includes a glass solarium, nice place to have breakfast. We could choose from a catch of the day, full Irish breakfast, French toast or waffles along with yogurt, fruit and cereal. We appreciated the variety and all was appetizing. I never saw a flaw in the 3 days that we stayed at Waterloo. Be careful to not mix up your Waterloos - be sure to get Waterloo House - the surrounding properties are similarly named. There was an elevator and there was always someone at the desk. We did not need it but there was parking. We were given a card to slide at the front door to get in and out as we wished. The other hguests were mostly European.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband and I stayed her for the second week in April. When we first arrived, several hours before check in, we were immediately shown our rooms so that we could rest a little bc we were pretty jet lagged. I was freezing and Evelyn gave us an electric radiator to warm me up and it warmed the whole room up. We had a lovely view of the garden at the back side of the hotel.
Everyone there was incredibly nice and helpful. The breakfast was absolutely the highlight of this wonderful bed and breakfast. They had a wonderful spray of various wholle grain cereals, organic yogurts and several fruit selections to munch on before ordering from the menu that also had several options to choose from as well. My husband and I were both impressed with the french toast and ordered it more than once during the week.
The location is a nice walk to St Stephens Green and the City Centre. We enjoyed walking back and forth everyday and it was a nice way to unwind in the evening after spending several hours in the hustle and bustle of downtown.
If I ever make it back to Ireland there is no question where I would stay. I would also reccomd this to any couple who wants a nice romantic get away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We have just returned from an Easter break in Dublin staying at Waterloo House..We found all the staff friendly and welcoming. There is a very pleasant lounge area with the use of a computer if required. The breakfast is served either in the attractive dining room or attached conservatory. waterloo house is situated in a residential area of Dubluin and is about a 15 - 20 minute walk into the centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My family stayed 3 nights at Waterloo House. MaryJo, Mgr. made our stay wonderful. She and Evelyn (Owner) and all of the staff were extremely helpful. Close (15-20 minute walk) to St. Stephen's Green and Trinity College and Temple Bar area. Quiet location with very nice, clean and quiet rooms. Reasonably priced and much better than hotels, which lack Irish charm! Great breakfasts ! Can't say enough about this wonderful spot and their kind, excellent and helpful staff. Thanks a million MaryJo and Evelyn. All the Best to Ye!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Top marks overall for this well run and well-situated B&B. Located about a minute's walk from Baggot Street Upper, there are pubs, restaurants, and cafes (literally) around the corner, not to mention a large and well-stocked Tesco supermarket about 2 minutes away. To get to the downtown Temple Bar area, it's a 20ish minute walk or 7-minute bus ride.

Waterloo House itself offers guests a range of different rooms (with #22 highly recommended), a sitting area with complimentary newspapers and internet, free parking (right in front), and a variety of breakfast choices - all delicious - and which you enjoy in a lovely dining room with a view of the outdoor garden.

After being initially underwhelmed by the size of our room (especially given the premium we'd paid during St. Patrick's week), we soon discovered issues with the plumbing as well. However, after speaking with the very helpful and affable person on duty, Kevin-Scott, we were assured that we'd be taken care of the following morning. As promised, the next morning we were moved to an absolutely gorgeous room (see photos), in which we stayed for the remainder of our visit.

All in all, I would highly recommend Waterloo House. Although a bit pricier than some, the location, amenities, breakfasts, and service - with special mention to both Kevin-Scott and Evelyn (the owner/operator), make Waterloo House a great choice during your stay in Dublin.

Room Tip: Room 22 is perhaps the most luxurious; very spacious, with high ceilings and its own fireplace. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Nice and clean facilities located in a very quiet and safe area, with public transportation not far away, including Airlink bus stop. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Umbrellas available for loan. Great breakfast with extremely friendly servers. About a 15-20 minute walk to Temple Bar area. Planned on two nights but stayed a third. Squeaky bathroom door was promptly fixed when we mentioned it. Would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to friends travelling to Dublin.

Room Tip: Discount if you mention the right travel guide. (Sorry, forgot which one!) Compare on-line rates to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtsterusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Just arrived at Dublin for permanent job contract, to find Waterloo House was the best start that i could hope for. The B&B its located in a quiet area in Dublin 4, very near (10 minute walk) South side city center (St. Stephens Green). Evelyn, the propriator, is charming and very helpfull making house guests feeling like home. For me it made all the difference staying in Waterloo House and in that side of the city.
Don't forget the AMAZING breakfast on a quiet and warm outdoor garden view.
The rooms have a great heating system (always warm) and the toilets are big with excellent shower flow. Couldn't expect more of it! Waterloo House really set the standard for me!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank photographer_rp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
1,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#74 of 150 in Dublin
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 150 in Dublin
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
1,398 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 150 in Dublin
587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £99 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing