We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time here - not the last1”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #32 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Me and my girlfriend returned to Waterloo house for our second stay in October 2012 - Evelyn the owner made our return just as special as the first. A card, wine and chocolates greeted us in the room upon arrival which was a really nice touch - she also gave us the same room that we had stayed in the previous year which was great. The rooms are spacious and clean. The WIFI is excellent for browsing the internet & sharing the days experiences on Facebook etc. The bed is really comfy and the bathroom is more than adequate.
The breakfast can either be brought to you in bed (which is proactively offered by all the staff) or can be eaten in the restaurant, it is delicious. The ladies who serve cannot do enough for you refilling coffee/tea and offering toast.
The location is great, 15 minutes walk into Temple Bar and the buildings in the area are beautiful. Well worth walking 5 minutes down the road to the train station and taking a day trip to Howth, a lovely little fishing village.
All in all an excellent service in a city that we love, when we booked to return this October we didn't even bother looking at other accommodation, Waterloo House is the perfect place to stay. Don't hesitate to come here.
Best prices are direct from the Hotel website!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are exceptional - ones at the back look out over a nice garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

Great location only a couple of kms from dublin's city centre yet set in a peaceful and quiet street in a lovely old building overlooking a garden out the back. Rooms were small yet cosy and very comfortable. Wifi worked in the rooms fine and free parking was very convenient. Breakfast was a mixture of a small buffet as well as a la carte meals and was excellent. Staff were very friendly and provided some excellent restaurant recommndations. Would highly recommend staying here we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kurtm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights here recently at the start of two-week driving vacation in Ireland. The B&B is in a row house on a quiet street about 15 minutes walk from the center of Dublin. Our room was clean and spacious, the bed very comfortable, and the breakfasts were excellent. The hostess was very friendly and even provided us a complimentary breakfast when we arrived late morning from the airport, before our room was ready. The breakfast room is very pleasant, looking out on the back garden.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

A beautiful three-floor historic house in the Dublin district famous for its Georgian architecture (the celebrated colorful doors with a fan-shaped glass decoration on the top) on a quiet street, a pleasant 10-minute walk from downtown Dublin. Spotless, superbly appointed and tastefully decorated, with a professional, competent staff who were most helpful in planning our five-day stay in the Dublin area. Excellent hot breakfast (included) in the garden conservatory featuring Irish specialties and baked goods as well as a cold buffet with yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit and juice. The cozy parlour has free copies of the 'Irish Times', tourist guides and brochures and a free computer (Wi-Fi is also free). Our two rooms were spacious, with separate make-up areas, extra mirrors and hair dryer. Excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at Waterloo House on our last night in Ireland. It is a 15 minute walk to the city centre and a 15 minute walk in the other direction to Aviva stadium. We caught a soccer game while we were there so it was a good location for us and the area was very nice. There are a couple places to eat right across the street so you don't have to go far for food or drink Our room was very nice but it was on the fourth floor and with the unseasonably warm weather, it was a bit hot. Otherwise, the bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean (good water pressure too!). Breakfast is served in a lovely patio area downstairs. It was pretty good, but generally not the best breakfast we had all week. The porridge was more like oatmeal you would get in the US. The rooms are a bit pricier than the average B&B but it is in a good area and worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess_n_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I have no words to really describe the accomadation that was provided in Waterloo house Dublin 4 in Ballsbridge. It is excellent and i would recommend the best hotel that i have come across during my recent visit to Ireland- Dublin

I would rate score of 5/5 in all needs and thanks to every one for all your friendly customer relationship

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Euro_traveller_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This hotel was fabulous! The location was perfect, walking distance to all the sites, but far enough away you were staying in a hip neighborhood. The room was very spacious, the beds amazing and bathroom clean and updated. Breakfast in the morning was great - they have seating on a glassed porch which was warm and relaxing. The staff was helpful and friendly. Frankly our best stay out of our 11 day trip around Ireland. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#72 of 150 in Dublin
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 150 in Dublin
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
1,401 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#4 of 150 in Dublin
589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 150 in Dublin
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £96 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing