We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay. Highly Recommended.”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #30 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Bonn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay. Highly Recommended.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a wonderful bed & breakfast. So many things have already been said in the other reviews (nice location, friendly and competent owner, decent rooms, rich breakfast selection) - they are all true.

I'll keep this short - this comes highly recommended and will be my return address for the next Dublin visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozymandias77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    179
    45
    17
    7
See reviews for
93
253
62
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights as a city break. Good value for money with easy access to city centre and walking distance to sandymount strand. Would definitely recommend it for city break . Staff very friendly and obliging. Free parking comfortable beds good breakfast . Very pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adfq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I can't say enough lovely things about our stay at Waterloo House. From the wonderful coffee when we arrived after breakfast, but before check-in, to the good beds and really wonderful shower in room 11 (hot HOT water and strong pressure! a treat after long days), strong wi-fi, terrific breakfasts (and more good coffee!) and the friendly, helpful staff... the list goes on and on. The location is fantastic... an easy and safe 10-15 minute walk to the center of things, and you're close to some great restaurants and pubs. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8Nikki212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnegad, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while on a business trip, very clean, staff very friendly and helpful, perfect location, would definitely recommend. The owner recommended a fabulous restaurant around the corner "Bloom Brasserie" and I must say it did not disappoint. All together a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnMalone196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Waterloo House was very nice, elegant and quiet, all this for 99 euros, breakfast and parking included.... Beautiful building, charming dining room overlooking the garden, nice entrance room with fireplace, peaceful neighborhood with lots of restaurants and pubs 20 mn by foot from the city center, free wifi… The only dark point was the mattresses which were not firm enough and had probably seen better days (we were in the back bedroom on the first floor). We would definitely go back if we were sure to get better bedding.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yjg805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel is a townhouse boutique hotel. It is run by friendly, somewhat quirky, people who truly want you to have a nice stay. Waterloo House is in a lovely neighborhood away from the craziness of Grafton St or Temple Bar. However, all tourist areas are within walking distance. This involves an easy, safe walk of about 15-20 minutes. A friend and I stayed here twice this summer and enjoyed it both times. It is so nice to be away from the noise and crowds but still in a lovely area with pubs and restaurants.

The breakfast room includes a glass enclosed room looking out over the garden. It is lovely on a cloudy day. Our hostess told us it sometimes gets steamy on a sunny warm day, but we did not experience this. Breakfast includes a cold buffet and a hot, cooked to order meal, as well. It is truly delicious.

The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of lighting in the room. The room and bathroom were clean and well-equipped. Oddly enough, each time we arrived the windows were open and there were flies in the room. We went out for the afternoon and evening. By the time we returned they were all gone and never came back.

The guest who has difficulty with stairs should beware of the front entrance which has a lot of steep steps. The staff will happily open the grade level door for you if someone can get up the steps to get their attention.

Although we did not have a car, the availability of the small parking lot would be a plus for many people.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Dublin, but is physically fit enough to walk to the attractions or is willing to pay for taxis.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms require going down a short flight of stairs. If that is a problem, ask at the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktlbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A very nice hotel, with an excellent staff. Very personal, felt like home away from home. Well located in a quiet street at walking distance from most restaurants, parks, museums etc.
This review should be 200 characters minimum, that's why I'm writing this sentence

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#29 of 151 in Dublin
1,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#20 of 151 in Dublin
1,990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#76 of 151 in Dublin
781 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Property: Waterloo House
Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing