We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georgian Elegance”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Waterloo House is an elegant Georgian townhouse with a warm and charming atmosphere.
On arrival, you are greeted with a characterful room with a fire and classical music playing gently in the background. There is free internet access available in here, along with a complimentary copy of the 'Irish Times'. Comfortable sofas and a wide screen TV make it relaxing.
The owner and her staff are friendly, helpful and attentive, creating a pleasant environment in which it is evident everyone works well together. The waiting staff at breakfast deserve a particular mention for their customer service skills.
My en suite room was clean and well presented, with tasteful furniture in keeping with the house's decor. The bathroom was very light, with a large window, rather than being enclosed and 'aired' only by an extractor fan, which is often the case in other hotels.
Because of the age of the house, there are quite a lot of stairs, but there is a lift to facilitate disabled access.
I stayed for an additional two nights, and the owner suggested I remain in the room I already inhabited, which was most convenient.
Waterloo House is about a 20 minute stroll up into town, so you have the advantage of being close to all Dublin offers, but are situated within a quiet, residential street away from any noise.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had a good stay at the Waterloo House. The staff was friendly even if not the most helpful, and the double room was big enough. However, my room was really outdated. The window locks are broken, the bathtub had some black stuff sticking in the bottom, the hairdryer was not working and could be used as a torche instead.

The hotel was close enough to everything I cared about including the Temple Bar area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucasarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We recently stayed here while in Dublin for 2 nights. Evelyn and her staff are excellent, nothing is too much trouble. The location is perfect and also with parking which is an added bonus. There is a bus route within walking distance should you wish to go into city centre. Breakfast was super really good with a great choice. There are plenty good restaurants/pubs offering great food nearby in the evenings.

Room Tip: The Breakfast menu was excellent and great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blarney Castle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The staff was very nice to store our luggage when we had checked out and went on an all day tour.
I think we met 3 different front desk people and they were all nice. The only knock would be the location makes for a pretty long walk to the town center.nice quiet room. We would stay here again.
Good made- to- order breakfast. It was filling and allowed us to skip lunch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nashville_Cat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The staff entered my room two times after having ignored the "Do Not Disturb" sign. The beds are not comfortable and decor needs to be updated.

I was on the phone with my parents (using FaceTime) and talking at a normal volume won me a noise complaint from my neighbors. Since I'm a single woman and was traveling alone, I went downstairs to face accusations that I was "having a party" and that there was a "man in my room."

1. None of your business
2. No I wasn't

The staff neither apologized nor discounted my stay for their rudeness. I went out to find a different hotel for the second half of my trip, one whose staff was respectful of boundaries and unlikely to accuse me of being a tramp.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This was mine & my partners third time at Waterloo House, we absolutely love Dublin and this place we no longer even bother to look for other hotels to stay in as we know nothing will top this place!

Check in was simple and quick and the breakfasts were amazing as per usual, the staff can't do enough for you! The rooms are lovely, quiet, clean, hot/powerful shower and towels changed daily. Hotel is perfect distance away from a really nice park St Stephens Green if you fancy a couple of hours of peace away from the hustle & bustle and to feed the birds!

During our stay we took the train down to Howth, a lovely fishing village were my partner proposed! :-) Evelyn and the other staff were delighted, bringing us a couple of bottles of champagne to celebrate our engagement! We can't wait to return, we've already started to look at flights for next year!

If you're looking for somewhere quiet, pretty, clean, friendly with amazing Irish breakfasts then this is the place! We didn't bother getting many taxis into the city as we enjoyed the 20 minute or so walk from the hotel, who are more than happy to call a cab for you. So excited to return back to this place I couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Me and my now fiancé stayed at the Waterloo House between 21st and 24th October. Evelyn and all the staff did a wonderful job of taking care of us during our time here.
ROOMS: The rooms were fantastic, big kingsize and comfy bed with a lovely view of the gardens at the back and a clean and spacious bathroom.
BREAKFAST: The food was delicious, a hearty helping of Irish breakfast was the choice for us however there is plenty to choose from served by the warm and friendly staff that work here. Your coffee is refilled as often as you wish and if you want extra anything then just ask.
STAFF: For me it is the staff here (including owner Evelyn) that make this place as good as it is, during our time here we got engaged and that night we had 2 bottles of cold prosecco sent up to the room with a lovely note of congratulations as well as 2 cans of Guinness from the night staff. Everyone is friendly, helpful, hardworking and wants to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
LOCATION: Set in a beautiful area with grand old buildings cerca 1800's close to St Stephens Green & Grafton Street. It is a lovely 20 minute walk into the city centre of 7 euro in a cab.

I think to sum our stay up I would have to say it was perfect, we will absolutely be making another return to the Waterloo House without a shadow of a doubt so much so we are looking already about a return in January 14.

Thank you to everyone at Waterloo House for a fantastic stay and we hope to see you again soon. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 150 in Dublin
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#74 of 150 in Dublin
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £68 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing