We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcoming and Charming Inn”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were on our 1st vacation to Ireland and intentionally did not make advance reservations for any of our 8 nights. As we are in the hotel industry, we were excited about being able to pick and choose as the mood hit us.

The Waterloo was recommended by the Asgard B&B in Galway (another good choice) and we were able to get the last room available. It is easy to see why this property has many regular guests (both business and vacationers), due to the many small touches beginning with the welcome in the oversize parlor. The rooms are unique and not all the same, the amenities are well thought out and the location is great. Within walking distance of almost everywhere in Dublin, one can leave the car there as parking is a challenge in the city.

Breakfast is served in a delightful area on the lower floor with many choices and served by pleasant staff and the owner.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a pleasant view of the street and one can open the windows for fresh air.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoganHospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
There are newer reviews for Waterloo House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our room at Waterloo House was perfect for our stay. The fireplace in the room was a nice touch to take the chill out of the December air. The dining area was absolutely beautiful and the food was fantastic. A wonderful introduction to my first visit to Ireland, and my first stay in a guest house or bed & breakfast.

Wifi was available in the room, which made mapping out routes and researching locations easy during the stay. The bus is right down the street and made getting around Dublin easy. Cab fare to Grafton or Brazen Head is only about 10 euro. Well worth it if you want door to door service. We rented a car, and there was plenty of parking available. However, on our next trip, we'll probably just get around by bus. It was so easy and convenient.

Evelyn and her staff were very accommodating during our stay. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms near the front have some road noise, and noise from the front door opening and closing. Howev...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Waterloo House is an elegant Georgian townhouse with a warm and charming atmosphere.
On arrival, you are greeted with a characterful room with a fire and classical music playing gently in the background. There is free internet access available in here, along with a complimentary copy of the 'Irish Times'. Comfortable sofas and a wide screen TV make it relaxing.
The owner and her staff are friendly, helpful and attentive, creating a pleasant environment in which it is evident everyone works well together. The waiting staff at breakfast deserve a particular mention for their customer service skills.
My en suite room was clean and well presented, with tasteful furniture in keeping with the house's decor. The bathroom was very light, with a large window, rather than being enclosed and 'aired' only by an extractor fan, which is often the case in other hotels.
Because of the age of the house, there are quite a lot of stairs, but there is a lift to facilitate disabled access.
I stayed for an additional two nights, and the owner suggested I remain in the room I already inhabited, which was most convenient.
Waterloo House is about a 20 minute stroll up into town, so you have the advantage of being close to all Dublin offers, but are situated within a quiet, residential street away from any noise.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had a good stay at the Waterloo House. The staff was friendly even if not the most helpful, and the double room was big enough. However, my room was really outdated. The window locks are broken, the bathtub had some black stuff sticking in the bottom, the hairdryer was not working and could be used as a torche instead.

The hotel was close enough to everything I cared about including the Temple Bar area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucasarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We recently stayed here while in Dublin for 2 nights. Evelyn and her staff are excellent, nothing is too much trouble. The location is perfect and also with parking which is an added bonus. There is a bus route within walking distance should you wish to go into city centre. Breakfast was super really good with a great choice. There are plenty good restaurants/pubs offering great food nearby in the evenings.

Room Tip: The Breakfast menu was excellent and great value for money
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blarney Castle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The staff was very nice to store our luggage when we had checked out and went on an all day tour.
I think we met 3 different front desk people and they were all nice. The only knock would be the location makes for a pretty long walk to the town center.nice quiet room. We would stay here again.
Good made- to- order breakfast. It was filling and allowed us to skip lunch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nashville_Cat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The staff entered my room two times after having ignored the "Do Not Disturb" sign. The beds are not comfortable and decor needs to be updated.

I was on the phone with my parents (using FaceTime) and talking at a normal volume won me a noise complaint from my neighbors. Since I'm a single woman and was traveling alone, I went downstairs to face accusations that I was "having a party" and that there was a "man in my room."

1. None of your business
2. No I wasn't

The staff neither apologized nor discounted my stay for their rudeness. I went out to find a different hotel for the second half of my trip, one whose staff was respectful of boundaries and unlikely to accuse me of being a tramp.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#75 of 150 in Dublin
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 150 in Dublin
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#15 of 150 in Dublin
1,373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 150 in Dublin
1,622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#18 of 150 in Dublin
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £104 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing