We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #26 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this wonderful hotel. The staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful. The rooms were immaculate and the bed was one of most comfortable I've slept in. Great freshly cooked breakfast too. I could not have asked for more. Must say was really pleasantly surprised. I will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    170
    43
    16
    6
See reviews for
85
239
61
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I was living in Waterloo for two weeks when I started my job in Dublin.
The staff of W was always very accommodating and whenever I had any problems or questions, I was always helped and advised.
The rooms are very cosy the atmosphere is quite romantic.
The breakfast buffet was always delicious.
I would recommend staying in Waterloo House for your vacation, business trip or just a weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meg1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Perfect location for our visit to RDS.Bit chaotic on arrival as had confirmed bookings for 3 rooms but only 1 had been reserved.Soon sorted as rooms were available.Rooms comfortable.Very good breakfast although 9 30 early finish for a Sunday morning.Helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were on our 1st vacation to Ireland and intentionally did not make advance reservations for any of our 8 nights. As we are in the hotel industry, we were excited about being able to pick and choose as the mood hit us.

The Waterloo was recommended by the Asgard B&B in Galway (another good choice) and we were able to get the last room available. It is easy to see why this property has many regular guests (both business and vacationers), due to the many small touches beginning with the welcome in the oversize parlor. The rooms are unique and not all the same, the amenities are well thought out and the location is great. Within walking distance of almost everywhere in Dublin, one can leave the car there as parking is a challenge in the city.

Breakfast is served in a delightful area on the lower floor with many choices and served by pleasant staff and the owner.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a pleasant view of the street and one can open the windows for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoganHospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulles, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our room at Waterloo House was perfect for our stay. The fireplace in the room was a nice touch to take the chill out of the December air. The dining area was absolutely beautiful and the food was fantastic. A wonderful introduction to my first visit to Ireland, and my first stay in a guest house or bed & breakfast.

Wifi was available in the room, which made mapping out routes and researching locations easy during the stay. The bus is right down the street and made getting around Dublin easy. Cab fare to Grafton or Brazen Head is only about 10 euro. Well worth it if you want door to door service. We rented a car, and there was plenty of parking available. However, on our next trip, we'll probably just get around by bus. It was so easy and convenient.

Evelyn and her staff were very accommodating during our stay. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms near the front have some road noise, and noise from the front door opening and closing. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Waterloo House is an elegant Georgian townhouse with a warm and charming atmosphere.
On arrival, you are greeted with a characterful room with a fire and classical music playing gently in the background. There is free internet access available in here, along with a complimentary copy of the 'Irish Times'. Comfortable sofas and a wide screen TV make it relaxing.
The owner and her staff are friendly, helpful and attentive, creating a pleasant environment in which it is evident everyone works well together. The waiting staff at breakfast deserve a particular mention for their customer service skills.
My en suite room was clean and well presented, with tasteful furniture in keeping with the house's decor. The bathroom was very light, with a large window, rather than being enclosed and 'aired' only by an extractor fan, which is often the case in other hotels.
Because of the age of the house, there are quite a lot of stairs, but there is a lift to facilitate disabled access.
I stayed for an additional two nights, and the owner suggested I remain in the room I already inhabited, which was most convenient.
Waterloo House is about a 20 minute stroll up into town, so you have the advantage of being close to all Dublin offers, but are situated within a quiet, residential street away from any noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had a good stay at the Waterloo House. The staff was friendly even if not the most helpful, and the double room was big enough. However, my room was really outdated. The window locks are broken, the bathtub had some black stuff sticking in the bottom, the hairdryer was not working and could be used as a torche instead.

The hotel was close enough to everything I cared about including the Temple Bar area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucasarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Property: Waterloo House
Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing