We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #32 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Spent a night in this clean warm hotel. Staff was very helpful and welcoming. Room was small but nice furnishings and clean. Breakfast was great. Service was warm and enjoyed the puppies running in the yard. A little ways from town but only a 5 euro ab ride if you are tired.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kpfarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    181
    45
    17
    7
See reviews for
96
254
62
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were pleased with the location and friendly staff. It is a bit away from the City center, but the hotel reminds you of an old and charming house. The breakfast room is absolutely beautiful (don't miss it) with a nice Atrium looking out to the garden. Their breakfast is substantial and the service is great. The rooms have comfortable beds, good pillows, a kettle to make coffee/tea and a big window (our room looked out to the street so we had a nice view of the trees and houses nearby reminding you that you are in a residential area.) Bathroom is spacious with basic amenities. Unfortunately, the WiFi connection was very inconsistent and poor from our room. We also were able to hear everything from the room next door (people talking, TV on, doors slamming.) From the hotel to the main attractions you need to walk about 25-30 minutes or you can catch any bus right from the hotel (the bus stop is just a few steps from the door.) There are plenty of restaurants, bars, coffee places and services just half a block away (including Starbucks, literally diagonal from the hotel.) To get to the airport you can catch a bus for 10 Euros per person but you need to walk a few blocks or take a taxi for about 25 Euros. What we liked most about this hotel is their friendly and attentive staff.

Room Tip: It is a nice walk from the hotel to downtown and major attractions (25-30 mins.) Stop by St. Stephen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Very quiet, comfortable and excellent. Free parking and free Wi-Fi.
Everything was perfect and only 15 minutes walking distance to city centre - St. Stephen's Green. Quite location but less than 2 minutes to good pubs and excellent restaurants.











Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Cemal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Waterloo is in a good location and well within most of the major attractions, especially if you enjoy walking. I liked the fact that it was away from the City Center, but very accessible to St.Stephens Green for buses. Or if you just wanted to kick back, people watch or stroll the lovely park.
Our room, #45, had a queen bed with a great mattress . The room also had a single bed, if you are traveling with a child. The employees and owner are very friendly and accommodating and you will love dining in the atrium which serves delicious, substantial meals that have variety.
The building needs some work because it a historical kind of place, but that's also some of its charm and uniqueness.
Should we be fortunate to return to Ireland Waterloo House would be our residence while in Dublin. The only thing extra we would want is a top sheet instead of the duvet. The room got a bit hot for us.

Room Tip: All rooms have elevator access, but not all rooms have had new mattresses recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Seems a strange thing to say about a hotel, but Waterloo House has the feel of home from home. It has a lovely lounge for guests with armchairs where you could sit and read to soothing music. That's not something I normally feel I'd like to do in a hotel. It was wonderfully decorated.
The staff were very professional but also very warm - both those on reception and those serving breakfasts.
The position was great - within easy reach of the centre and very close to buses. It was in a quiet, leafy area. Our room was very spacious.
Breakfast was incredible - plentiful and so much choice of hot and cold.
Dublin is very expensive and this was good value compared to other prices we researched.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outineastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Waterloo House is a charming place. Tended with care and dedication. It shows. For starters, it is not a chain hotel, or an impersonal place. You will have a boutique experience – warm, personalised and attentive.
The location is fantastic. Though not in the City Centre, it is just a 5 minute bus ride, or if you are up to it, a 20 minutes walk. A number of good restaurants are in the vicinity of the Hotel at Baggot Street. Starbucks is diagonally across the street.
The breakfast is served at the Hotel in a delightful area on the ground floor overlooking a small garden. The housekeeping is really good.
My only little niggle- we were in a triple room, but the room was very cramped. For a couple, the size is appropriate.
Should I visit Dublin again, I would definitely stay here.
I would recommend staying on their top floor, the 3rd for a clear unrestricted view from your window.

Room Tip: Any room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnuragRanjita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is really a great place to stay during your visit in Dublin. The breakfast is amazing, the people are super nice and the rooms are really comfortable. Especially the beds are extremely comfy. It is located in a great area with a lot of supermarkets and the walk to the city center is not too long.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessie1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#29 of 151 in Dublin
1,171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
1,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#75 of 151 in Dublin
787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#18 of 151 in Dublin
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Property: Waterloo House
Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing