We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is very good!”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #28 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The hotel is very good!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location, staff, breakfast are very good. The location is close to the Baggot Street Upper. There are many stores such as the pharmacy, supermarkets (TESCO), restaurants (WILLIAM SEARSON is very good and fair price), etc.. You can take 10 - 15 minutes walk to the central area of Dublin city and begin your sightseeing. The breakfast is very delicious. You can order a main course and the free buffet (i.e., drinks, fruit salads, cereals, and yogurt). I prefer the Traditional Irish Breakfast and Grilled Fresh Catch of the day. The staff is very kind to help us the airplane problem due to cancelled. She helps us to phone the airline why the flight is cancelled without any surcharge. The hotel is very great, if you wanna try to stay at B&B. Do not miss it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REICHENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    175
    44
    17
    6
See reviews for
88
249
61
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Old Georgian homes(s) located near but not in, central city. Very nice room, excellent breakfast, friendly, knowledgeable and professional staff. Within five minute walk of good pub, banks, Insomnia (Irish Starbucks) and restaurants as well as trams (buses) for about $2 to take you to central city. Has an elegant B @ B ambience without being intrusive. Wi Fi, TV, Irish Times.
Spent four lovely nights at about $200/night with breakfast. Good transition to wonderful Dublin.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms face the back yard but Waterloo Street is not particularly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,694 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Great location, service fantastic and the breakfast was excellent. The room was a large double with lovely views. The place is in the heart of lovely south side of the city about 10 minute walk to Dublin, next door to the Aviva stadium and down the road for the main motorway to all of Ireland.
The place itself is an old Georgian House converted into a beautiful decorated building and grounds. I would recommend the place to anyone visiting our capital.
I read the other reviews before booking the place and all the nice things the writers have commented on are so true, its warmth, hospitality, charming House, helpful staff and comfortable rooms is everything you get in this fine hostelry. Well done to all

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank ShaneDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a lovely small hotel just a 15 minute walk from Dublin's Grafton Street via Stephen's Green and Baggot Street. Well situated, charming period house on a tree-lined street, close to several pubs and restaurants. Comfortable and clean rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast in the light-filled conservatory is extensive and excellent. Nice lounge with complimentary Irish Times. Tea/coffee making facilities in rooms and free parking in front of hotel. Have been staying here with my husband and daughters many times over the past few years.

Room Tip: If you want an extra quiet room, ask for those at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Nice, charming guest house about 20 mins walk from City Centre. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Very comfortable double bed.

Excellent, healthy breakfasts with both buffet & full menu.

Immediate area also has some good pubs & eateries. Great for runners, just off the canal.

Room Tip: Top floors can be a bit warm in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidhoatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We recently stayed in Waterloo House with my daughter we had a wonderful night in this charming hotel. The staff were extremely efficient and friendly. Our bedroom was clean and very comfortable. We had a very generous breakfast early the next morning served in a lovely dining room. The Hotel itself is a short taxi ride from town but you would not ask to leave this quite and quaint area as it has excellent restaurants and bars within walking distance. We will diffenately be back not just for the quality of the Hotel but also for the staff who were very welcoming and attentive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Spent a night in this clean warm hotel. Staff was very helpful and welcoming. Room was small but nice furnishings and clean. Breakfast was great. Service was warm and enjoyed the puppies running in the yard. A little ways from town but only a 5 euro ab ride if you are tired.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kpfarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
1,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#80 of 151 in Dublin
772 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#21 of 151 in Dublin
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Property: Waterloo House
Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing