We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby rooms in need of refurb”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I had originally booked two nights but ended up staying for one. We were allocated room 23. Small and in need of a total refurb especially the bathroom. When I asked to change room I was advised that no rooms were available. Then another couple arrived and were allocated a room!! When I said I was not happy with the standard of the room and only wished to stay for one night the receptionist quickly found another room! Room 10 was not much better but we took it as it was only for one night. It was beside the kitchen and staff toilet! There was noise after midnight with footsteps and toilet flushing. On a positive note, the breakfast room was very nice and the staff were very attentive and the breakfast was good. I am very disappointed as I booked this based on the previous reviews on Trip Advisor and Hotels.com so unless the rooms on the upper floors are much better!! I would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CooperC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great location, was away from the hustle and bustle but near enough to walk to city center. The breakfast was delicious and the service was great. The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Seeing the sights of a city can be tiring but starting and ending the day at Waterloo House was wonderful. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff is attentive. They provided good information for our sightseeing and we hope to return.

Room Tip: We were on the street side and I would ask for a room in the back as I think that they can be quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank saratoga02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just returned from 5 nights in Dublin. Waterloo House was the perfect place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Shared a room with my daughter and we each had a huge queen sized bed which was the comfiest I've ever slept in! The guest house was spotless with maid service every day. The breakfast was delicious - homemade waffles with maple syrup or baker's basket were my personal favourites - yum! Situated in a quiet suburb yet within reach of the hustle and bustle of the centre in no time at all. Will definitely be back :)

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and our friends were on the third floor - both rooms comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A good value very clean hotel within walking distance of many of Dublin's attractions. Evelyn was most helpful to us and the breakfast was one of the best we had in Ireland. Many thanks for a good stay and sorry it couldn't have been longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for a long weekend in Dublin. I can only agree with all what's been posted in earlier reviews. Very Friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms , lovely breakfast and a great location.
Free wifi , which is always handy !
Free parking in front of the hotel.
Would definitely stay here again and can only recommend it to others.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Duckie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in Dublin and we were very happy with the Waterloo House. We arrived early and they gladly held our luggage while we explored the city. Our room included breakfast which was delicious! Very attentive staff!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 150 in Dublin
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#72 of 150 in Dublin
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £77 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing