We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 4 star hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #30 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Zutphen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

We had mixed feelings for this hotel, as this is definitely not a 4-star hotel:
- no swimmingpool
- no fitness
- no real lounge available
-no room safes
Besides the corridor was noisy and the distance to the real centre is a 20 minutes walk.

On the other hand:
++ excellent beds
+ free newspaper every morning
+ good bar/restaurant
+ close to a trainstation
+calm neighbourhood
+original styled hotel with nice decoration

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kees55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    356
    107
    36
    15
See reviews for
141
605
36
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

My husband and I looked for a quiet, convenient, comfortable place to stay on our first trip to Dublin and Ireland. We got so much more. The Schoolhouse's staff (especially Emily) were friendly, helpful, and efficient. The room was attractive and quiet, and even though we were near the bar, we never heard it. The food was superb in both the bar and the dining room (the best breakfasts on our trip!), and the service great. And best of all, the price for all this was reasonable (by Dublin standards). There is a bus from the airport that goes to the hotel, there are city buses that go past, there is a LUAS station only a block away, and the hotel itself even has a parking area out front. The walk to Trinity and city center is about a 15 minute stroll, very comfortable even for someone with a bit of arthritis, and since the hotel is in a very safe area we had no worries walking around the neighborhood. Can't say enough nice things about this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromadistance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

We stayed twice at this hotel – for 4 nights on our arrival in Ireland and after staying there we booked again for 1 night before leaving. We were travelling with another couple and we all enjoyed our rooms, the restaurant, and the pub at the hotel.

I’d recommend this hotel to family & friends.

What I liked about this hotel:
* Excellent staff
* Large rooms
* Free internet
* Excellent breakfast
* We enjoyed the meals at both the restaurant and the pub
* Quiet hotel
* Parking was included in our room rate

Considerations:
* For tourists it’s a bit of a hike to most of the main points of interest – but we thought the walk was worth it to stay there

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caanaadaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

This was the 1st hotel we stayed at in dublin as we began our trip. The staff was incredibly helpful and really helpful which was a blessing after such a long flight from LA. The resatuarant was wonderful. the rooms were named ater fmous Irish writers. french doors opened to a patio and stree access.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

We thought this was the perfect place to stay in Dublin. It was a bit of a walk (10-15 minutes) to all the sights, but that meant it was nice and quiet too. The neighborhood felt very safe. The pub was cozy and comfortable. The staff was excellent! Also, it was very easy to get to and from the airport on the Air Coach. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

The Schoolhouse staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was well equiped and had a powerful shower over the bath. The breakfast was delicious. The Dublin Air Bus stops outside the hotel which means it is very easy to get to and from the airport. It takes about 15 mins to walk into Dublin city centre and about 10 mins to walk to the new Aviva Stadium.

Room Tip: Look out for special offers on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pippaatdunskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Stayed here for 6 Nations game so the hotel was full. They still managed to be helpful and friendly and the room was spacious and comfortable. Food very good. Easy walk into Dublin and very easy walk to the match. Good to stay somewhere a bit different to the chain hotels.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDS1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#27 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Property: Schoolhouse Hotel
Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing