We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oasis in Dublin”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #29 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The Schoolhouse was a beautiful place to come back to after the hustle and bustle of Dublin. At first we were concerned that it might be too far out of the city centre, but it is just south of St. Stephen's Green, and the Air Coach stops right outside. It is a great choice.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank aag53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

956 - 962 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

This is a very quant hotel that is right on the outskirts of city center Dublin. If you like to walk one would have no problems walking from this hotel into the city. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The rooms were clean and the decor is exceptional! There is also a great bar/restaurant attached to the restaurant to make a stop in before heading to bed at night. They also have live music. Another great feature is that there is a bus stop to and from the airport, right outside the hotel that comes by every 15 min. or so.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Callijax19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

A friend and I stayed here on a recent trip to Dublin. It's a bit of walk into town (10 minutes - completely doable in nice weather, or an inexpensive taxi ride), but nice and quiet. Our room was spacious and the beds very comfortable. We booked online and got a free night's stay (paid for two nights) and a free bottle of wine that was surprisingly good. The shower wasn't too great, but the free breakfast made up for it - absolutely delicious. I would recommend the eggs with smoked salmon and their pastries! Staff was very friendly too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I had to book one night at the Schoolhouse as my normal hotel was fully booked, and now I have the dilemma of having to chose between two really good hotels! After all those years traveling to Dublin and struggling to find a decent place to stay now I have almost too much choice! I am writing this review because of some comments I just read that are not doing this place justice at all. This is a special place to stay, not a hotel as such. What some of us view as 5 stars others would call it 3 because some things are missing from their list. Take it as it come and enjoy the place, the rooms are very big, the location is totally peaceful and you are 15 minutes walk from Trinity College. What else would you need? I have tried the restaurant, fine dinning indeed and superb food. Then had the pleasure to give the bar a go for lunch on the following day, and enjoyed it just as much. Breakfast was superb as well, you could not fault the place for quality. The staff was really friendly and attentive, and locals to Dublin as well! Fantastic place, really don't understand the reviews that are not in favour, but then it would be near impossible to please everybody on this small planet of ours. Keep going Schoolhouse Hotel, great work!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Having enjoyed staying there a few years ago for business, it is surprising how far standards have dropped.
We stayed three nights and found the standard of service, and overall experience, to be poor.
On our first day, we returned to our room at 5pm after a long day sightseeing to find it hadn't been cleaned, beds not made, no clean towels etc. We were met with apathy by reception and had to wait a further 30 minutes before anyone arrived to service the room. On Day 2, we were left one bath towel between us and no milk for drinks.
We took breakfast at the hotel on our first morning and were left waiting for a table for a number of minutes before being acknowledged, and were then given a table with a filthy tablecloth. We didn't return.
On checkout we were told the cost of our stay in euros but then were charged in £s at an unfavourable exchange rate, without being asked if we wanted to pay in £s.
In general, the rooms were average. They looked nice but soundproofing in the rooms was poor, particularly regarding noise from the corridor. It was difficult to have a shower without being entwined in the shower curtain - can't remember the last, supposed,4 star hotel I stayed in that still had shower curtains! Our double bed was two singles pushed together. In addition, there was no room safe.
The only decent element of the hotel was the bar, where the food and ambience was good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Dear AHDF,

Firstly I would like to thank you for the feedback, our guests feedback plays a critical role in allowing us to constantly improve our service and standards.

I was shocked when I read the online review as we pride ourselves on our guests having a wonderful experience when staying with us at The Schoolhouse Hotel. I will be investigating each of your issues to ensure additional training or procedures are put in place to avoid them from arising in the future.

I would love to welcome you back to The Schoolhouse Hotel for a complimentary night so you can experience what we truly have to offer.

Should you wish to avail of this please contact me directly.

Warmest regards,

Jenny
jmulligan@schoolhousehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My neice and I stayed at this wonderful small hotel for 3 nights. We wished we could have stayed more. An easy walk to anything touristy, but also far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the city center. Lots of ammenities and lovely clean spacious room, including a wonderful helpful, helpful staff. The crowning glory however is the food. Breakfasts were delicious!! The bar food was some of the best I have had around the world, recommend the Seafood gratin. I enjoyed one of the top 10 meals of my life in the restaurant, which offers seasonal delights at a price that was quite exceptional. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCSatKyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Lovely hotel not far from the city centre. It's an 15-20 min. walk. A 5 min.walk to Dartstation.
Our room (Bram Stoker) was spacious and we had a kingsize bed. The bathroom is clean with a shower/bad. At the frontdesk the employees are very helpful. Breakfast is good and there is enough choise.Close to the Aviva stadium (5-10 min.walk). Enough free parking places available.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinnegansTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 151 in Dublin
1,419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 151 in Dublin
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,772 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £92 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing