We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night isn't enough.”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #31 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ystradgynlais, United Kingdom
1 review
“One night isn't enough.”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This was our first stop on a four day trip to Ireland. The first time my mother had been to Ireland and her first 'holiday' in 7 years.

The hotel is very easy to find (only a 10 minute drive from the Stena Line Ferry Terminal) and first impressions were good. A wonderful building full of character and everything most modern hotels lack. It is situated well within walking distance of Dublin city centre and there are bus stops nearby too if walking isn't your thing.

The check in process was effortless and the lady on reception couldn't have been more helpful.

Our rooms were a good size, clean and well appointed and maintained the character of the rest of the building. We were even given rooms with an interconnecting door which was a great help.

Breakfast was very good and sufficient to keep us going for the best part of the day. The staff were attentive and friendly.

All in all, a great little hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    365
    107
    36
    16
See reviews for
141
618
37
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Very much enjoyed my 3-night stay at the Schoolhouse. It's quaint and adorable, and the pub and food are steps up from what you might find in any generic hotel. The staff was lovely and helpful, and the Schoolhouse is really a 5 - 10 minute walk away from the center of South Dublin (Trinity, etc.)

Two little tips: while breakfast was good, I'm an up-and-at-'em kind of traveler, and diagonal to the hotel is a small Spar market where you can grab a pastry and coffee if you're in a hurry.

Second, if you want to arrive at the Schoolhouse from the Airport, take the AirCoach, NOT the Airlink.

I can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnielivesinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

A super small hotel with lovely staff and amazing restaurant. Walking distance from hotel is around 20 minutes to Grafton Street, main shopping area in Dublin.

Room Tip: All rooms individual and named after Irish writers and poets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetheartSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
798 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed here for a short break following reading the TA reviews.

Unfortunately, I didn't feel it met expectations for a €170 per night hotel.

Some of the decor is has seen it's best especially the bathroom.

We also found the bedroom cleanliness to be VERY poor (we found a used prophylactic under the bed), admittedly when we raised this with reception, it was quickly cleaned, however this takes something away from the overall experience.

Breakfast was definitely below standard from both the food quality and service (see separate review for Oliviers).

The reception staff were excellent and considering the location it is very quit in the back bedroom we had.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear Guest,

To be honest I am quite shocked at reading your review, I would appreciate it if you would contact me directly as I would like to obtain some additional information from you regarding your comments.

I have taken your comments extremely seriously and the housekeeping staff are being severely dealt with, Both the housekeeping staff and the receptionist have mentioned that they did not find the item under the bed which you mentioned so I would to get some more information on this in particular.

I do hope you will return to The Schoolhouse Hotel in the future so we have the opportunity to restore your faith in us as we really do offer a unique and wonderful experience here at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The staff, especially Irene, was very helpful. The room was roomy and the breakfasts were filling. We ate at the Pub twice and the Fine Dining area once. Both were good experiences. It is a great location, next to the canal, on the bus line and an easy walk to city center. The tea and cookies available in our room everyday was a comfortable way to end our days of walking. Should we make it back to Dublin, as Irene said, we will know where to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersonMilanesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I second most of the reviews on here--great location (everything in Dublin is very walkable, and the hop-on, hop-off bus is a must), great, friendly staff, great room, great decor. My only two qualifications are that the hot water was not available when I took a shower, so mine was lukewarm. But when my friend took hers an hour later, she had plenty of hot water, so maybe I was too early. The other is that the heater put out quite a bit of dusty air that kicked up my allergies. It's quite possible that it hadn't been used yet--it had just gotten cold. But I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsJJob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to put a review online, your feedback is very much appreciated.

My sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the hot water. Our water system is on 24 hours a day but we did have a fault in the system which has since been resolved. Our air conditioning systems were recently deep cleaned so the dust should not have been an issue, I will ensure that they are double checked to prevent this from happening again in the future.

Again I would like to thank you for your feedback as it helps me to constantly improve the service which we provide to our guests.

Warmest regards,

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Great location for rugby at new stadium and within easy walking distance to everywhere
else! The staff were efficient, friendly and very hepful- probably the hotel's greatest asset. The food then a close second. Our room was great with added bonus of Literary theme.
Ideal for rugby-loving bookworm foodies!
ALSO: Easiest transfer from airport as Aircoach stop right outside hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biba64Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind comments - you are absolutely correct in saying that our staff are our greatest asset. We are very lucky to have such a great team here who take pride in the service which they provide to our guests.

We are also very lucky to have such a great location with the Aviva Stadium minutes walk from the hotel and the aircoach transfer outside the door.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back to The Schoolhouse Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#26 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Property: Schoolhouse Hotel
Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing