We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great spot”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #27 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Jul & Aug 11
2nd and 3rd stay in 11 months, all good again, had early check in and late check out (for a fee) no problem, travel cot available, yummy breakfast, booked a canopy room but really it was the same as an ordinary room with a canopy nailed to the wall!

Bar staff not that impressed being asked to open a bottle of wine for drinking in the bedroom as it was not purchased there, but when you have a sleeping baby and no cork screw in the room what can you do! Room service was excellent and went the extra mile with calling back with a better suggestion for a late night vegetarian snack.

After our 1st and 2nd stay they emailed us about loyalty discounts for the next visit but it turned out these are not actually applicable as we already got an online booking discount, so that’s a bit confusing to be even getting those emails. They do good internet deals on their own website but when I tried to extend a web booking on phone I was told to book the extra day on web but later when there in person they told me that wasn’t correct information I received also two web booking equals two booking fees, didn’t matter to me especially as had I web connection but could have been annoying if I had not and the 2nd booking fee was mildly irksome (forgot to ask for a refund!).
Will defo stay again though next time we are in Dublin.

Room Tip: 2 nights for 3 web deals on their own web site are good, but if not booking a deal its cheaper to bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eire-ette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

A weekend away with friends staying at this excellent hotel was perfect. The friendly and very helpful staff made the stay seamless and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. The hotel is centrally situated to town and everything you could possibly want. It has a lovely bar with open fires, excellent service and good food too. The rooms are perfect and very clean. This hotel is outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Hello Sive,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Schoolhouse Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Lovely building and room, in a wonderful location - made all the better by the most friendly and helpful staff you could hope to meet!!

Will certainly stay again when next in Dublin.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Hi Liam,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Schoolhouse Hotel. We are very lucky to have such a unique and beautiful building in a great location and the whole team take great pride in the service which we offer to our guests.

I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to The Schoolhouse in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I spent a night at the Schoolhouse Hotel whilst on a short business trip to Dublin 2weeks ago.
The whole experience was first class. The receptionist and dining staff were both helpful and welcoming. The bedroom was large and spotlessly clean.
And the bar served a top quality pint of the black stuff.
I will be using the hotel in the new year and have already recommended it to my colleagues.
Unquestionable value for money!!
Steve W.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BILKODOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Hello Steve,

Thank you for the lovely comments, they are very much appreciated.

It was our pleasure to look after you on your recent stay and I will look forward to welcoming both yourself and your colleagues to The Schoolhouse Hotel in the New Year!

Best regards,

Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This hotel is all you could ask for. It has character that lacks in so many modern hotels. The on site pub is great with a lovely atmosphere. Check in and checking out of the hotel was a simple process. The room was comfortable and had great space. Breakfast was delicious! We will return!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wynne16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Wynne,

Many thanks for the wonderful comments regarding your recent stay here with us at The Schoolhouse Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you will be returning to stay with us again in the future! The character which is offered at The Schoolhouse is very unique and it is certainly the most beautiful hotel I have had the pleasure to work in.

Again thank you for your comments.

Warmest regards,

Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

It was a great location, pub and dining room on site, staff was great and very helpful, and room was large by European standards.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnK-maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Got into Dublin by DART from Greystones, now had to find hotel, great directions from several locals. Greeted by Jenny, nice young lady really looked after us at check in, had a young lady get our bags to the room. Great room. Later found out Jenny was the GM of the hotel. Quaint, beautiful hotel with history, great service in the pub, dining room, hotel room and the front desk (excellent). Recommend it to anyone for an escape with your best friend, business etc. First trip to Ireland and The Schoolbhouse Hotel will have my business the next time I am in Dublin. Great Job Jenny and your staff!
Brian Coon, Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Hi Brian,

Firstly I would like to truly thank you for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to look after you on your recent stay at The Schoolhouse and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

We have a wonderful team here at The Schoolhouse who take great pride in the service which we provide to our guests.

It truly was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I shall look forward to meeting you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,790 reviews
1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £93 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing