We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #29 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short Stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

A quick business trip to Ireland found me staying at the Schoolhouse hotel for 3 nights. A fascinating & quirky conversion from a former school. Inkwell bar was a joy with draft Guinness & fantastic oysters at the bar as well as a great menu. Very friendly, helpful staff.
Nicely furnished rooms, very clean quiet & comfortable. I would stay again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farmermark007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    379
    110
    37
    16
See reviews for
147
642
38
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed the night of March 17 and this location was "parfect" as the Irish say - a short walk to the Temple Bar lively pub action but in a quiet residential area. The small hotel has plush, upscale decor but with the charm and quirky architecture of an old school. It's the staff, however, that makes this place great. Jennifer and Jenny at the front desk went beyond being helpful with directions and information and Jennifer even sent a follow-up email after we returned to the U.S to inform us a Global cell phone that was to be sent to the hotel had not arrived. The attached pub had a friendly bar staff and live music. Breakfast was both an individual hot meal and the continental buffet. Everything passes with flying colors!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balanceandjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

excellent stay----best short-break we have had
staff very helpful and friendly
lovely hotel and very comfortable
good breakfasts and our three meals at the inkwell bar were good
we would definitely stay there again!!!!!!

Room Tip: choose 32- odds to get a top-floor rear room---nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Schoolhouse Hotel. The rooms were clean and quiet and the staff was helpful and it's location in Ballsbridge is VERY convenient for visiting Dublin. I'd recommend this to anyone traveling there!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamctsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great hotel! Ten minute walk to Aviva and 20 min to Temple Bar. Not surrounded with the pub atmosphere. Resturant and Schoolhouse Bar on site. Food in bar was very good. Bartender was fun and made mixed drinks which doesn't always happen in Ireland! Since Beer is drink of choice! Front desk staff were very helpful with directions and offerring to carry luggage etc. Beds were pretty comfy with extra pillows. Negative-not in GPS/Sat Nav so have phone # available and minimal parking in a very small lot.

Room Tip: Several doors to go thru to get to room from reception area. There is an elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sportbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Sportbros,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments regrding your recent stay at The Schoolhouse Hotel. We are lucky to have such a fantastic location and a great team that go that extra mile to ensure our guests enjoy their time at The Schoolhouse.

Again thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Schoolhouse in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed at the Schoolhouse Hotel for almost while visiting Dublin for work. If you work at Google or Accenture, this hotel is a perfect location. It isn't in the heart of Dublin but I prefer not being in the middle of all the commotion. I also like that this was once a schoolhouse and has this old school charm.

The rooms well sized, very clean, and the service here is exceptional. They are so helpful with every request and gracious. They helped me book my Fabulous Food Trails walking tour right when I arrived and called me a cab - I was here no longer than 5 minutes before heading back out.

The rooms are fairly quiet although you can hear muffled voices on occasion. The linens and towels are great. The room has a small television which I don't mind because I don't watch much TV. There is also a refrigerator and free wifi which works well.

There are also some good restaurants just a 5 minute walk like Paulie's Pizza, Juniors, or the Chop House. Or cross the canal and head into town with at 15 minute walk.

I wil stay here the next time I'm in town. A perfectly lovely stay. I prefer smaller boutiques to large establishments so this was perfect for me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trips12345567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to put your kind comments online, your feedback is much appreciated.

The Schoolhouse is ideally located for those travelling to the corporate clients around the Grand Canal and Barrow Street area as it is only minutes walk to the office doors!

I am delighted to see you found the service exceptional - we truly pride ourselves on the service which we provide to our guests to ensure they have an enjoyable stay with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to The Schoolhouse Hotel in the near future so please do bear us in mind when travelling to Dublin next.

Kind regards,

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Enjoyed this, very cosy, excellent sleep, lovely bedrooms and hotel was really homely feeling. Manager on front desk didn't seem to have that extra warmth about her with staff or customers...she was polite but not welcoming, if you understand.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlisalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
1,343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#30 of 151 in Dublin
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Property: Schoolhouse Hotel
Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing