We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!...except for location”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #30 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!...except for location”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel really was outstanding, and deserving of 5 stars, except for its LOCATION! It is in a very neighborhood-y area, which makes it very picturesque, but extremely un-walkable. We were only there for one night at the tail end of our 7-night driving vacation, so we had a car. It was the perfect spot to spend the night before going to the airport, since we just crashed out after eating a delicious meal at the restaurant on-site (seriously, probably the best pub food we had the entire trip, and that is saying a lot). Even if you decide to stay in a more central location for the rest of your trip, consider staying here on your last night. It's a great spot to wind down!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BennyBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear BennyBuddy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review online, your feedback is much appreciated.

I was a little disappointed to read your comments regarding our location as I think we have a great location. All the perks of a City hotel as no more than 15 minutes to the centre of the city, 5 minutes to Merrion Square or the Grand Canal Dock but yet we can offer complimentary on site car parking along with a peaceful nights sleep.

I do hope you will return to The Schoolhouse and hopefully we can show you some short cuts when you are heading walking around the area.

Kind regards,


Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    367
    109
    36
    16
See reviews for
142
624
38
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Room was slightly dark but not a major issue, overall the cleanliness was good with an excellent shower (always a good indication of the quality of a hotel).

Service was very good and although we didn't eat in the restaurant the bar food was also very good and the bar always busy but not packed.

Location was great with a good bus service into the city or a 10-15 min walk. The aircoach stops right outside the door so getting to/from the airport is simples.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ferraris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Ferraris,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay, your kind comments are much appreciated.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to The Schoolhouse in the near future!

Kind regards,

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

we can sum up how amazing this hotel is by telling you a story, when we arrived in ireland for our honeymoon we were purely exhausted and were falling asleep even on the bus ride from the airport to the schoolhouse. We arrived at around 1030 but our check-in time was 3pm we were way too early but way too tired to go sight seeing before. so we decided to take our chances and see if we could sleep in either our room or any room just for a couple hours so we could enjoy dublin's cityscape. We arrived but found out our room as we thought, was not available. So we asked kindly if we could just rest our eyes in the lobby and the lovely receptionist said yes. They had just started cleaning the rooms to prepare for their upcoming guests. They were full so we couldnt borrow a room either. As we began to drift off in the lobby in not even 10-15mins the receptionist returned and said "your room is ready, i asked the ladies to clean yours first so you could rest." we were so surprised and thankful! After that it only got better, the staff was so helpful for us ireland newbies. The bed was incredibly comfortable and we really enjoyed the historic decor throughout the whole building even the pull chain toilet. The bonus too was the closeness to the major part of the city but feels secluded especially by the river.

Thank you to all the staff at schoolhouse hotel
We highly recommend staying here.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Micah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Micah H,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review online. Your very kind comments are greatly appreciated!

I am delighted to see you had such a wonderful stay. Our team pride themselves on the experience of our guests so we would always do our best to accommodate early arrivals or any other requests our guests may have.

Our hotel is filled with charm and character so I was delighted to see that you appreciated it. Our bathrooms were also carefully designed so they were in keeping with the listed property.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Schoolhouse in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

Good location if you don't want to be in the busy part of Dublin. About a ten minute walk to Stephen's Green. High quality hotel in a B&B type setting. Nice restaurant with good trad Irish food and a nice patio. We had to leave early to fly back to the U.S. so we missed out on breakfast. Room was clean, contemporary and spacious. Free parking a plus.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in a beautiful room with all necessities supplied. I could not access wifi from my room but it was easily accessed in other parts of the hotel. Had a good bar meal and the entertainment was very god. Staff are excellent and very welcoming. Breakfast was good but a bit pricey.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sickofnosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The Schoolhouse Hotel in Dublin is a very cosy and comfortable place to stay, be it on business, leisure or honeymoon. The rooms are of adequate size, well equipped, and they give you this individual feeling that you stay at a private mansion.
Well situated near the center of Dublin, it features a great bar, and provides an good breakfast (European sized in terms of calories). Staff are very friendly, and they may even keep the bar open for guests that arrived late.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CESLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila., PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We recently stayed at the Schoolhouse Hotel and overall had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is small, and being as it is away from downtown Dublin, is quiet. However, as said before, it was a doable walk and easy cab ride to the center of Dublin. While the hotel has a carpark, it is really small, we were pleased we didn't rent a car.
The rooms and baths were, as expected, small, but the beds were very comfortable and the housekeeping was excellent. We found the hotel to be quite clean.
The pub was fantastic, from breakfast to late night eating, the food and waitstaff were terrific. We even found out during one of our historical tours that there were bullet holes in the ceiling left over from the Easter uprising! We did not eat in the main dining room save for one breakfast meal, most dining was done in the pub it seemed. Would highly recommend the lamb shepherd's pie, delicious!
The staff was a mixed experience. We were "greeted" by Jennifer/Irene upon our arrival late in the morning, having taken the overnight flight from the US. She probably deals with this same situation of tired, jet-lagged Americans wanting to get into their rooms often, and perhaps some people are nicer about the check-in time than others, but we found her to be so negative and defensive that from the start we questioned our choice of lodging. She got a bit nicer when she realized that while we were disappointed, we were aware of the time and simply wanted to relax and get a bite. Again, would have probably chalked up our experience with her as an isolated item, except that as the week progressed she never seemed to get any better, every inquiry was answered with a negative before she grudgingly offered some assistance. Fortunately, she was the exception to the remainder of our experience with the hotel staff. The "other" Jennifer was the most lovely, helpful and accomodating of front desk people we have ever encountered. Overall, they were, with this one exception, very helpful and pleasant.
If one is looking for a charming Irish lodging experience, I would recommend the Schoolhouse
easily.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#27 of 151 in Dublin
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
1,439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,564 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 151 in Dublin
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Property: Schoolhouse Hotel
Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing