We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch Hotel”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #30 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Notch Hotel”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stay at The Schoolhouse Hotel on just about every trip home for our first couple of nights. The kind of treatment you receive at this hotel is a great way to ease into your trip.

The staff are professional, friendly and courteous. During our last visit in December 2012 my partner got the stomach flu and the reception staff offered to go to the shops if we needed anything. A special shoutout goes out to Irene. Thank you for your kindness.

The location is idyllic along the Grand Canal and yet very convenient to the city centre. It’s always lovely to return to the hotel and enjoy a beverage in the bar / lounge after a long day of walking. It’s quite a relaxing and cosy bar.

Add to all that the fact that the airport shuttle stops right outside the hotel. We’ll be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkstownDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Dear Therese,

Many thanks for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to welcome guests back to the Schoolhouse Hotel.

I'm glad to hear that Nancy had a full recovery and look forward to meeting you both the next time you are in Dublin.

Kindest Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    365
    107
    36
    16
See reviews for
141
619
37
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This was our third visit here. It is a great location,lovely to be able to stroll into town. The staff are very friendly and helpful. So peaceful and quaint looking with high end standards. Breakfast was yummy. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Carmel,

'Top of The Class' - Can I borrow that tag line for our next marketing campaign?

We are very lucky at the Schoolhouse to have such a loyal customer base and it is always a pleasure to welcome back a familiar face. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on each of your three visits. We look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth.

Kindest Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed here for a week during a business trip in September 2012. I lived in Dublin for 15 years, so know the city very well, and can confirm that the location of this hotel is second to none. Its located in a leafy residential area, which is still only a 15-20 minute walk from the central shopping and entertainment area of the city.

The hotel is small, but this adds to its charm. The front desk staff are very helpful and friendly, in a refreshingly casual way. The room decor is somewhat... opulent... in a quasi-Victorian way (in keeping with the building itself). I liked it a lot. Room service is available up to 10pm or so, and I found it to be OK, though not great.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again when I return to Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishWeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear IrishWeather,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. It is great to hear such positive feedback from a guest who has spent a full week with us at The Schoolhouse. Thank you in particular for your comments in relation to our Front Desk Staff.

I'm sorry to hear you found the room service only ok - we will certainly take your comments on board and review what we are currently offering.

Should you return to Dublin at anytime in the future, for business or for pleasure, we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed in the schoolhouse hotel for a total of 4 nights. it was was lovely little hotel, completely different to anywhere else in the world i have stayed.
The hotel is an old schoolhouse, hense the name, and the orignal layout has been kept and the theme is seen throughout.
The bedroom are lovely, fresh, modern but yet has the schoolhouse theme.

The food available in the bar is gorgous- i would recommend the burger.

Great stay - would not hesitate to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_K_1988_CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your comments in relation to the bedrooms and indeed the food in our bar.

We would love to welcome you back to The Schoolhouse Hotel at some time in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
118 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

Returned to this hotel after a previous successful visit. Although not in the very centre, its location is good - the airport coach stops at the door and it's a short walk to the suburban rail (DART). However, there is very little in the immediate vicinity. Staff are helpful and friendly. The big problem this time was that the wifi didn't work. I told reception but they couldn't fix it. I couldn't do my emails, check in for my flight or download my newspapers. I left without taking breakfast at the hotel, so that I could have it elsewhere in a café with wifi. Not having wifi is like not having hot water - it has become a basic service.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pbru54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Paulbru,

Many thanks for your recent review. It is always a pleasure to welcome back guests to The Schoolhouse Hotel and I am delighted you chose us once again for your recent visit to Dublin. I am disappointed to hear that your visit with us on this occassion was tainted by our issues with WiFi. I can only apologise sincerely for any disruption this caused during your stay. We are in the progress of a complete upgrade of our system at the hotel.

I hope this experience does not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Therese Seale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Schoolhouse is a great little place to stay in Dublin. An easy walk to Grafton Street, TCD and all the usual sights, but nothing really do see or do on the doorstep (you wouldn't want to pop back to your room if you forgot your umbrella, but you might if you forgot your camera).

The place has been finished very nicely, if a little tatty round the edges (only if you look hard). The bar is a lovely place to curl up and read a book in on those cold wet days. We didn't try the food as the lunch menu was a bit limited (only full meals, no sandwiches or nibbles), and the drinks were a bit pricey. But the rooms were nice enough; the king-size bed was (as is standard these days, it seems) two singles pushed together, not terribly comfortable but I've slept on worse. The staff were very polite and friendly, there's free parking on site,

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We are just home from our cosy and homely stay in the schoolhouse hotel in Dublin. My partner and I stayed for two nights, as a wee New Years treat before going back to work. It truly was a treat! The schoolhouse hotel is so cost and warm. The staff are so welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was just beautiful and we had the luxury of having our breakfast beside he open fire. Our room was so lovely, perfect for relaxing. We loved getting back to our room in the evening. They also deliver your newspapers to our room in the morning. We will most definitely be back to this very special place. We are planning our next trip already.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmainemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#32 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Property: Schoolhouse Hotel
Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing