We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming hotel”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #31 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“charming hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for a one night weekend in September and loved the hotel. It is a charming property (an old converted schoolhouse) with lots of character, the restaurant and bar (pub)are both lovely..... very cosy, the food was excellent and very reasonably priced (the live music on the Saturday night at the bar was very enjoyable). I would advise booking a table in advance for Saturday nights as it can get quite busy. We noticed that local Dubliners were amongst the clients in the restaurant and the bar which is always a good sign. Reception staff and restaurant staff were very friendly and efficient. The rooms are beautifully decorated (each room is named after an Irish writer)...we stayed in James Joyce and were very happy with it. I definitely would recommend this hotel for couples who appreciate style with character. It's best to get a cab straight to the hotel from the airport (costs 30euros)....the hop on hop off bus stop is a 10 minutes' walk.....the Trinity College is also about 10 minutes' walk. Location was good (not right in the centre so sheltered from the noise) but walkable distance to bus stops and certain attractions. Pubs with traditional Irish music are walking distance (we were recommended Donahughs') but we were very happy to stay in and enjoy the hotel's restaurant and bar which both have a very nice Irish flavour to them. Wifi worked well in the rooms and there is a good selection of in house movies for free. We would definitely go back....just the kind of place we love.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swisschilind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    365
    107
    36
    16
See reviews for
141
619
37
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a faultless stress free day thanks to the management and staff there. We had a small wedding reception for 16 people there. The food was excellent and was remarked upon for its high quality by our guests. The staff were there for us and moved the timetable around for us when events ran late on the day. Everything we wanted and needed was there when we needed or before. The day couldn't have gone any better for us and our guests. We stayed on for a couple of more days afterwards and had lunch there as well as the breakfasts both of which were at a high standard. In terms of costs the Wedding was excellent and you would find them very difficult to beat in terms of value and quality. Our perfect day was made perfect by their attention to detail on the day. Cannot recommend them highly enough for an event or function.

Room Tip: The bran stoker suite seems to have been a favourite of our guests. Also the full Irish breakfast is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My friend and I stayed for just one night in September, the last of our four nights in Dublin. We wanted a unique experience for our final night stay. Our research online and from guidebooks led us to choose Schoolhouse Hotel and the stay matched our expectations. The Bram Stoker room we stayed in was charming and we enjoyed the complimentary cookies and free movies. We chose the option of adding on the full breakfast during our online booking and it proved to be a good move. Most importantly, Zoe, who was at the reception desk during our check-in and check-out, was warm and friendly, responsive to queries and helpful in giving us tips/directions for our last day in Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent two nights at the Schoolhouse Hotel (31-Aug and 1-Sep) and really enjoyed both of them. Although we thought we were closer to downtown, the 10-15 minute walk to the St. Stephen's Green/Grafton Street/Temple Bar area was quite pleasant, especially on a weekend when Merrion Square (which you pass on your way into town) is filled with local art for sale. In fact, we quite enjoyed getting away from the hustle and bustle and returning to Ballsbridge via taxi (the fare was not bad, perhaps 8 euro) after an evening out. The hotel is warm, welcoming, and filled with personality. The rooms are all named after prominent Irish writers or other figures, and information on your room's namesake is readily available in the room (Maude Gonne for us!). The unique decorations are reflective of the era in which the hotel existed as an old school building (e.g., William Morris wall paper designs, carved wood banisters and molding, Victorian doors); thus, the experience offered at the Schoolhouse Hotel is not necessarily "modern" and should not be expected to be so - the charm is in the history and the small touches that call such history to life. If you stay here, do not miss out on a pleasant evening in the Inkwell, the bar attached to the hotel, which has good pub food and a small, but varied, beer/wine selection. We slept well, ate well, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience that the Schoolhouse Hotel offered. I am planning to stay again on my next visit to Dublin!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in a twin room with two beds (room named after Maude Gonne). We faced ei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Upon our arrival the front desk lady noted she was wondering where we were as we were supposed to check in the day before. I guess I got my dates wrong coming from the states and an overnight flight. She seemed very brash and almost rude instead of noting it was a mistake on my part and more stressful to me, the guest who now paid for a room for a night I didn't stay in and then had to switch plans to find other accommodation. A reminder email with the dates we booked would have been helpful to send out a week or a few days before to avoid this mistake and as a courtesy confirmation for your guests. Hotel was a bit out of the way for all the Dublin attractions. Everything was at least a 15-25 min drive, so would have been quite far waking. Definitely recommend visiting Trinity College, Guinness Storehouse, Jameson Old Distillery and Temple Bar if this is your first time to Dublin. Breakfast buffet was okay, but full Irish breakfast looked a lot better. I recommend getting that instead. The breakfast hall and hotel entry had a lot of character. Loved the concept behind this hotel and found nothing wrong with my room. I didn't see a hair dryer. Coming from the states that would have been nice. The bed was very comfortable. We slept for about 10 hours!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronicaLeigh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at the Schoolhouse Hotel for two nights as our first leg of a 11 day trip around the island. The stay was April 26-28.

After a very long flight and delay with our car rental, we finally arrived at The Schoolhouse Hotel. The Hotel is very quaint and unique. Interesting room names I think they are of Irish writers we came to find out later in our tours of Dublin.

The room and hotel was clean, and maybe a little worn, but I think it was mostly because all the furniture seemed antique from the old schoolhouse itself. So we thought it was unique.

The only difficulty we had was the shower. We couldn't figure out how to get non-scalding hot water. But, we did not ask for help nor tell anyone so you we can't and won't complain!

We very much enjoyed dinner at the restaurant. We heard amazing things about the fish and chips and everything is true. Very delicious!

The location was very lovely as well. A short walk (10-15 mins) to downtown, but close to the beautiful Georgian architecture and Merrion Square. The area was nice and quiet so we were able to sleep well. I've heard that downtown Dublin can be very noisy.

The associates were all pleasant and friendly even when extremely busy. The restaurant was very, very busy the night we were there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC_Empire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Crolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was probably a charming hotel when it was first converted some years ago.

The first problem we noticed was the unpleasant odor when we exited the elevator. Our room was orderly enough, but the lighting was dim. Since they use CFLs, brighter bulbs could be used.

The bed was comfortable but not the pillows. There was only a comforter, so if two people like a different amount of covering for sleep, at least one will be disappointed

In the morning, the shower had only extremely hot water, and the tub was too small for a bath. A sponge bath is acceptable at times, but not at these prices. Looking at the room, especially the bathroom, I noticed a lot of wear and tear.

On the positive side, will say the staff is very friendly and helpful. Also it is in a quiet neighborhood and on the bus line.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen999123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Stephen,

Many thanks for your recent review and your kind comments in relation to our staff and location.

I was surprised with some of the comments in relation to the accommodation provided. Although each bed is dressed as standard with one Duvet all rooms do have extra blankets in the wardrobe should they be required. I am sorry you did not find the pillows comfortable. All beds are set as standard with four pillows and two cushions. We do offer alternatives, be it softer or harder if requested through the Front Desk Team.

Again I am sorry you were not happy with the size of the bath tub. All our bathrooms are fitted with deep basin standard size bath tubs. I take on board your comments in relation to the wear and tear and am delighted to say that we are almost at the end of a refurbishment of all our bathrooms.

Many thanks once again for the feedback. We would love to welcome you back to the Schoolhouse should you visit Dublin again.

Kind Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#26 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Property: Schoolhouse Hotel
Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing