We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and welcoming”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #27 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here for one night in one of the executive rooms and had a lovely break. The staff in all areas of the hotel were friendly and helpful - particularly Jenny on reception who checked us in and out! Our room was lovely - the bed was huge and comfortable, there was a great selection of movies to watch for free, and while the bathroom looked quaint and old, it was actually well fitted out with a wonderful shower! The ONLY thing that disappointed me was the hairdryer in the room - it was the same tiny beige type with barely any strength I remember from family holidays in hotels in the 90s. Given the luxurious feel of the rest of the room this was a slight disappointment and was definitely out of place - needs replacing!

We ate in the restaurant too and had a beautiful meal. The 3 courses for €25 deal (including a drink in the bar afterwards!) was fantastic value and we thoroughly enjoyed all our food. There was a lot of choice on the menu too which was nice as usually set menus can be very limited. The bar had a great atmosphere too with the music. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,185)
There are newer reviews for Schoolhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Fantastic Hotel, yes full of charm , character, architecture, but clean - service and staff is incredible..unlike other hotels here in dublin...this is the best hotel ever in Dublin - highly recommend it, and will always return here..The staff goes out of their way to make sure you have everything and assist you.

Room Tip: Everything is good...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 615leslieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Booked well in advance of a rugby game at Aviva Stadium which is only 10 minutes walk away. Chose because it looked very different to a hotel chain. It certainly lived up to expectations with the property being a converted schoolhouse. Had a good restaurant with set menu that also provides a free drink in the bar after.

The pub part was very lively but no noise spillage into rooms. Not sure how busy it is when no rugby on, but this place attracts a wide cross section of guests and enjoyed the bar atmosphere with is not just a hotel bar but a full on pub.

Rooms well appointed and great to be in a hotel that does not feel like you could be anywhere in the world. Staff very polite and helpful and food for breakfast and dinner was good.

Location is in a quiet area with easy access to centre and some great pubs nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FullNotGlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

It's great to find an individual, non chain hotel that ticks all the boxes. Strongly recommend the bar. Brilliant location to get to the Aviva and then back into town. Lovely staff and interesting rooms all with a literary theme.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank wrighty2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed for two nights as we came to watch IRL v NZ. This was the fifth or sixth time we have stayed at the hotel over the last 10 years. The staff are friendly, helpful and importantly very courteous and competent. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped. The shower is a little over powering as the head is fixed and you tend to get attacked by the shower curtain, but great way to wake you up on a morning. We didn't eat in the restaurant this time, but we did eat in the bar and the food was very good. Vegetarians are catered for. On previous occasions both breakfast and dinner were superb. We had friends with us this time and they were thinking we might be building the hotel to be something more than it would turn out to be. This was not the case and they were really impressed. On arriving home I realised I had left something behind. I contacted the hotel and within a matter of minutes the item was located and will shortly be posted back to me thanks to Irene and the housekeeping staff. We will definitely be booking in when we come back to Dublin.

Room Tip: Our experience is that rooms on the ground floor are a little bigger and quieter, Arthur Edward Guin...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Came to stay for #IRLvNZ. Hotel didn't disappoint lovely room and nice and quiet on the first night of our two night stay. 2nd night started well until about 2am when guests appeared to have a party on their room until 4am. (This says nothing negative about the hotel, but a lot about inconsiderate people who stay in any hotels.)
I really liked the Schoolhouse. Breakfast and dinner was lovely and so handy to restaurants and city centre. I'd stay again, definitely.
Staff really helpful and friendly too. I wish more were like this. I really do.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Domhnachdaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night when in Dublin for a rugby match. Fortunately our stay at the hotel went better than the rugby! On arrival it was difficult to find parking as spaces are limited (& tight) on site but Zoe at reception was very helpful in suggesting alternatives. Our room was on the ground floor and was very comfortable, especially the lovely big bed. We had pre match drinks in the bar and had a very tasty hamburger and fries to set us up for the very short stroll to the Aviva stadium. We also had dinner at the schoolhouse which was exceptionally good value even offering a complimentary drink at the bar afterwards. Full Irish breakfast, however, was over cooked and disappointing. On Sunday morning we walked to nearby Merrion Square and on to Trinity college. All in all The Schoolhouse is a charming building in a quiet setting and is a bit special considering it's central location. Good value for money, friendly staff and some nice extras like a complimentary Sunday newspaper. We will definitely be back but hope the rugby is better next time!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EaMann73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#15 of 150 in Dublin
1,370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#32 of 150 in Dublin
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 150 in Dublin
1,621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#40 of 150 in Dublin
1,719 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £100 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing