We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #27 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Extremely friendly, helpful staff, very comfortable spacious room, everything we hoped for and more. Food was excellent. We had our evening meal in the cosy restaurant - great service and plenty of choice on the menu. Great atmosphere in the adjoining bar with live music and a great buzz which didn't encroach on the peace and quiet in the bedrooms. Very convenient for walking into town. All in all a super place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizzielizzie56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I stay in Dublin about 20-25 times per year and I've stayed in many different hotels depending on the location for my business meetings.
I've stayed in this hotel a number of times and I am always impressed! It's very different to most other hotels in Dublin. You're not just a number in this hotel. The staff care and can't do enough for you. The location is great, free parking, accommodation is extremely comfortable and quirky! Not like some of the other hotels where everything is mundane and the same. There's a great character about this hotel. The architecture in the hotel bar, restaurant and throughout is fabulous. The food breakfast, restaurant and bar food is great. Really good!!! But... On top of all these great things, the staff are amazing!!! They interact with you & can't do enough for you. On this trip, I met a new girl on reception called Jenny. What a star!!! She just couldn't do enough for us. Whoever found and recruited her found a gem there. All I can say is that this hotel is second to none. I would definitely recommend it. Can't wait to go back already. Takes the sting out of working & being away from my family.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank McCozzyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Many thanks for your recent review of our property and indeed your high praise. We really appreciate your kind words in relation to our location, hotel and staff. Jenny is the newest addition to our Front Office Team and was over the moon with your mention of her in this review.

We really strive to give the personal touch to all of our guests and make them feel like they are at a home from home when staying with us. I am so pleased you felt this during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Schoolhouse Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have been staying in the schoolhouse for some years now & chose it over other Dublin Hotels every time. It is in a great, convenient location with a friendly , welcoming atmosphere. Whether its a shopping trip, rugby or just a night out we always feel comfortable with cosy 'real' fires , great service and the perfect bar menu when we don't feel like sitting in the restaurant. All the staff and especially Irene go out of their way to say Hello and chat and always very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and the Schoolhouse style works really well, highly recommend. I almost forgot the breakfast !! I had the vegetarian cooked breakfast for a change one morning and it was without question the best ever, I now have it all the time! Worth a try when you go.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newfy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Bernard,

Many thanks for your recent review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to welcome you back to The Schoolhouse Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Friendly staff. Courteous, polite, and helpful.
Cozy atmosphere in classic Irish style.
Restaurant attached offers delicious dinners.
The attached bar offers a happening scene.
Located a convenient walk to Merrion Park and downtown is 12 minutes away (walking).
And somehow they've managed to hire the most beautiful staff members in Europe.

The only downside was the lack of breakfast options - either heart stopping meats and creams, or cereal - and they missed a set wake up call.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Symonjester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We held our wedding reception here last October and had the most amazing day. Therese was there every step of the way with menu choices room layouts etc , nothing was too much trouble. On the day Mick was the manager and he went above and beyond to ensure our guests had a fabulous time. The food was fantastic ( people are still talking about it!) and the entertainment provided in the bar was exceptional. We could not have asked for a more perfect day
I will return in the summer to relive the events and if you are visiting Dublin it would be a shame to miss out on this gem

Thank you Therese and Mick!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubmum81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in this architecturally stunning hotel for one night as it was very close to the Bord Gais theatre. It was so easy to locate and provided ample parking ( a serious plus compared to other hotels we looked at!). On arrival the receptionist was extremely welcoming and directed us to what I can only describe as the most comfortable, impeccably clean and visually interesting room we have stayed in ( the William Morris furnishings add such a different touch compared to most other corporate hotels!). On seeing the beautiful vaulted ceilings in the dining room we decided to eat here also and the food was simply beautiful, but what really added to our experience was the helpful and accommodating staff as we were pushed for time and the waiter even offered to ensure that we received our accompanying free drink with our meal when we returned!!!!. After an excellent night's sleep we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast where again the staff were friendly, even taking the time to inquire as to our enjoyment of the show!
Quite simply - the schoolhouse is easily the most friendly, relaxing hotel we have stayed in and is definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 150 in Dublin
1,812 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,627 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £87 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing