We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare Irish welcome”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #27 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We recently stayed at The Schoolhouse Hotel and were charmed. We couldn't believe that the value for money also came with a friendly, helpful staff throughout all areas of the hotel, great food, carpaking with no barriers, tickets or trouble, pleasant location, wonderful decor and did I mention the staff? It is so rare nowadays to find such friendly and helpful staff who appear to have time only for you when you are dealing with them and to whom no request is a bother. Well done to the Schoolhouse for getting the important things right! It's not that hard and it makes such a difference. Being able to walk into town centre and back in heels without my feet aching was a plus.
Have already recommended it to 3 friends and we're only home a day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Unique hotel away from the hustle and bustle.

Pros: unique architecture, clean rooms, friendly front staff, tranquel setting with a small picturesque canal immediately adjacent. Room were named after former school masters and you got little bios. The place looks as good in person as the internet photos. For the money we paid I think this was a great value.

Cons: Not a lot of restaurant options wihtin close walking distance and well there was this unusual smell in the hallways at times but this did not affect the rooms at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was never very good at doing my homework and this time was no different. I found on arrival the rooms have names dedicated to famous people in Ireland. I asked the lady at reception did she have a 'J Plunkett' room and why she did not allocate this room to us - my husband being 'J Plunkett' she replied 'Well you should have asked'. I think it would be nice for the hotel staff to allocate rooms that match the names of their clients when at all possible. It would have made us feel quite special.

We arrived at the busiest time the great Ireland v Scotland rugby match was on. This did not affect the service or charm of the staff in the bar. We had drink and food served while watching the match - winning combination

I was a bit confused to find 2 Ladies cheering for the opposition sitting beside me, yes indeed they were Scottish nice company. We were treated to Bagpipes and Kilts after the match. It is a great location for the City and Aviva Stadium.

The canal is just outside and you can walk for miles along it. The hotel was really a great place to stay. The breakfast is very good but huge portions. It would have been nice to have the old style Irish brown bread.

Room Tip: The rooms are lovely but do ask if they have one with your name on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philomenap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed at the School House Hotel for two days in December 2013. I had an excellent stay. The hotel is traditional, immaculate, very comfortable and has an excellent bar and restaurant attached. I particularly recommend the bar, which is one of my favorite in Dublin. The staff are very friendly. It is an easy walk into the city center and the hotel is conveniently located for the city and airport buses.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Danny,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property, it is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your comments in relation to our hotel and indeed our bar & restaurant. I was over the moon to read that our bar is one of your favorites in Dublin. We hope to welcome you back to the Schoolhouse Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

A very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were a very good size, very clean and the bed was huge. Bottled water and cookies were a really nice addition in the room. All in all, it was a beautiful setting.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TreasM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Treas,

Thank you for your recent review and your kind words in relation to our rooms and friendly staff. I will be sure to pass your comments onto all the team here.

We hope to welcome you back to the Schoolhouse on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here with a number of colleagues on a business trip. Room was well appointed, clean and bright. Bathroom great. Staff very welcoming (even when we didn't return to the hotel until late at night). Neat, neat hotel and better than staying at some "chain" or monster generic hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Andrew,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at our unique little hotel. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at The Schoolhouse Hotel over a weekend in late January. We had initially chosen the hotel because of its easy walking distance (10 minutes) to Bord Gais Energy Threatre, and were subsequently very pleased we had done so. It is a very attractive building. The hotel is on a direct bus route (702) from Dublin airport, with a stop immediately outside. Certainly good value at €8 if there's one or two of you but with three or more you'd probably take a taxi. As many others have noted, the staff are very friendly and helpful. We liked our canopy room so much that we booked to stay again later this year before we left. Bright and comfortable, and very quiet despite a reasonably busy road outside. The bathroom was perfectly nice - some minor cosmetics required perhaps, but nothing serious. The bed was very comfortable. The restaurant and bar are both lovely rooms, with vaulted ceilings and open fireplaces. Breakfast was nice enough. Lovely atmosphere in the bar with live music on Saturday night at one end, and a really nice mix of people. The hotel is located about 15-20 minutes easy walk from Temple Bar. All in all we had a lovely weekend there, and can't quite imagine staying anywhere else in Dublin now.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,790 reviews
1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £93 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing