We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #26 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great stay last Sat night in this hotel. Rooms really nice, cot in room for the baby and still plenty of room.
Big thank you to Irene on reception for all her help throughout the stay especially looking out for our 6 month old while we had breakfast Sun morning.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed in the Schoolhouse on a business trip to Dublin for one night. The staff were really friendly and genuine from arrival to departure. Had a colleague coming from the airport who took the Aircoach that stopped right outside the door of the hotel - it took just under half an hour he said. We had meetings on Baggot Street and by Stephens Green so it was handy for those (though it was nice dry weather for walking). There are a couple of decent restaurants and bars in walking distance on Baggot Street. The rooms were very cosy (don't read that as small) and clean. There was free wifi throughout and the free movies were a nice touch. The hotel is located in the city on a busy road but the rooms were really quiet - perhaps I had one at the back. There's a nice bar. I didn't try the food in the bistro. However I did try the full Irish for breakfast. It was fantastic. It will set you up for the day. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeckieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We just spent a relaxing weekend exploring Dublin based at the Schoolhouse. The hotel was excellent, the staff extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel had everything we required. The attached bar is excellent, and the food (both breakfast and bar food) is of a very hight standard. Would happily come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great location ,walking distance to Trinity college Stephens Green Dublin Castle etc. etc.Friendly staff lovely atmospheric bar, good restaurant . Bedrooms as one would expect but no fault in that .No hesitation in recommending the Schoolhouse Hotel with the exception of maybe Families including young Children due to absence of public lounge area. It would certainly be my first go-to for a return trip to Dublin

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tondal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

A great hotel to explore Dublin, we would definitely return. The staff were so friendly, lended us an iPhone charger and showed us maps and recommended places to explore. GREAT bar with fantastic Irish atmosphere. The Steak and Guiness pie is a must! Best pie ever. The rooms are exceptionally clean, a little businessy and not amazing but still very good and we had a wonderful time. Great walk into Dublin despite the terrible weather, the city was close by. We will return one day!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We recently stayed at The Schoolhouse Hotel and were charmed. We couldn't believe that the value for money also came with a friendly, helpful staff throughout all areas of the hotel, great food, carpaking with no barriers, tickets or trouble, pleasant location, wonderful decor and did I mention the staff? It is so rare nowadays to find such friendly and helpful staff who appear to have time only for you when you are dealing with them and to whom no request is a bother. Well done to the Schoolhouse for getting the important things right! It's not that hard and it makes such a difference. Being able to walk into town centre and back in heels without my feet aching was a plus.
Have already recommended it to 3 friends and we're only home a day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Unique hotel away from the hustle and bustle.

Pros: unique architecture, clean rooms, friendly front staff, tranquel setting with a small picturesque canal immediately adjacent. Room were named after former school masters and you got little bios. The place looks as good in person as the internet photos. For the money we paid I think this was a great value.

Cons: Not a lot of restaurant options wihtin close walking distance and well there was this unusual smell in the hallways at times but this did not affect the rooms at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 151 in Dublin
1,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 151 in Dublin
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,774 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £91 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing