We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint hotel!”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #27 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We visit Dublin alot but first time in the schoolhouse hotel.....would definitely visit again! Class hotel & lovely staff! We sat outside in a lovely wee garden drinking wine and watching the city traffic moveby! Bliss!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TEDplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

My friend and I stayed 4 nights in the Old Schoolhouse Hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much: the staff was very, very friendly and always helpful, the room was spacious and clean, the bed very comfortable with good pillows and blankets. Fresh tea/coffee every day, as well as cookies. The location of the hotel is just perfect, a 10-minute-walk from the city centre. If we were tired of walking, we could easily reach a bus station just outside the hotel. Breakfast was absolutely ok. We would love to come back one day!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 888Mariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed at the Schoolhouse for 5 days. I was in Dublin for business reasons and I found this hotel to be well worth the stay. It is quiet; the rooms are large and the food is excellent. It is an easy walk into the center of town. I took the breakfast option and was not disappointed. I ate in the restaurant for dinner; it was delicious. I also ate in the pub which has some of the same menu items as the restaurant. My favorite were the duck spring rolls which I ordered twice. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend the Schoolhouse hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EGL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

During a two week, six city European vacation, our room at the Schoolhouse Hotel was the nicest of any hotel in which we stayed. The room was large, well-furnished, clean and comfortable. The one negative about the room was the shower--the shower head was oddly situated in the bathtub and taking a shower was not an enjoyable experience as a result of this. It was a small issue but the one negative of our stay. Hotel receptionists were friendly and helpful. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the city center and a 45 minute walk to the Guiness Storehouse. Dublin's public transportation network did not appear to be robust--it only consisted of a bus network which, in our two day stay, did not seem to be convenient. We relied on walking and taxis. The hotel restaurant and bar are neat spaces but the waiters/waitresses at the restaurant acted less professionally that I would've expected. Overall, I'd stay at the Schoolhouse again.

Room Tip: Each room is named after an influential person in Ireland's history. We stayed in the Arthur Gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Charles,

Many thanks for your recent review of the Schoolhouse Hotel. To say we were the nicest of all the hotels you had visited throughout your six week European vacation is very high praise indeed. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

As a retired headteacher, I was especially excited to be staying in an old school building and I was not disappointed. The building itself is full of character - the restaurant and bar are particularly memorable. Nearly all of the rooms are in extensions, but these have been tastefully done. Our room was large and well equipped - with an interesting bathroom - and had a patio door to a garden area. The weather wasn't good enough to make use of this, but would have been great in the summer.

The staff in all areas were friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant and in the bar was great and good value for money.

We walked into town every day and also walked to the RDS for a show, so it was a perfect location for us (especially as the airport coach stops right outside!). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frissels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the effort made throughout the property to maintain the feel and character of the old Schoolhouse. Thank you also for your kind comments in relation to our staff. It would be lovely to welcome you back at some stage in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I didn't stay here but I did have a meal in the restaurant. The main course, which was a burger was not very nice, it was overcooked and a little hard. This may have been a once off, so I will allow them a pardon for that. I had creme brûlée for dessert which was out of this world. The restaurant was beautiful and make use of the old classroom look. It was dimly lit, romantic and a nice place to be. The staff were nice, and friendly too. It is just a pity the main course was not too nice, however I only had one item on the menu so it may not have been the case for the rest of the food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mialorgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you so much for your recent review of our restaurant. I was sorry to read that although you mention the Crème Brulee was out of this world, the restaurant was beautiful and the staff were friendly, the one thing that let the experience down was a dry burger. I can assure you that this was definitely a once off as our burgers are one of our most popular dishes in both the bar and the restaurant area. I would hope that this one thing would not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Therese Seale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed 1 night, would have liked a second night.. anyway, loved it, old quaint building full of character and im sure loads of history. Located ideally, just out of city centre, walking distance to Bord Gais theatre, aviva stadium an alittle further on, Rds to name a few. Room cosy, nicely decorated, very comfortable all round. Bar area spacious and staff very attentitive. We didnt have dinner there (had a booking elsewhere), but their menu looks very interesting/tasty an with very good offers there, superb wine list too. Breakfast delicious, hubbie had typical Irish cooked breakfast an if you can say an Irish fry could be healthy, it certainly looked like one (I.e. not dripping r swimming in grease), I had the buffet an very happy with choice an quality there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,807 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,614 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £92 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing