We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely spot in Dublin”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #27 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a lovely historic hotel in Dublin. It was a short walk to the beautiful parks. Easy to park and unload our little rental car. Our child got a big kick out of watching the ducks in the water, and later a party barge move through them.
The rooms are not huge and are a bit dated, but they are well-decorated. We even had ice delivered every evening--a much-appreciated indulgence for Americans. We enjoyed the in-room movies for kids (because seriously, your child cannot watch Frozen often enough, and it's handy to be able to just flip it on). The hotel was very quiet and easy to access. The dining room and bar were really nice. The staff was absolutely wonderful, especially the young lady that worked during the days that we stayed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,185)
There are newer reviews for Schoolhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is not only my favourite hotel in Dublin - it's probably one of my favourites in the world! It is literally an old schoolhouse and offers a homely, comfortable and friendly welcome in it's Irish themed rooms. The food is sublime as well - whether you choose to eat in the restaurant, in the bar or in your room. Right next to the canal, it's a 20 minute walk into the centre of the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed overnight as we were going to the Bord Gais Theatre and this hotel is very close. The hotel rooms are quite nice but maybe a bit dated now. (This was my second stay). There was a problem with our first room as there was a dreadful smell wafting in occasionally. When we said at reception they immediately moved us. No problems with the new room. We had a meal in the restaurant from their pre theatre menu which was great value and the first two courses were delicious but both desserts were so-so. As with the reception staff the blokes serving in the restaurant were very helpful, pleasant and friendly. The breakfast next morning was disappointing. I had the Irish fry which was ok but no soda or potato bread. My wife's porridge was indelible - a solid glug in the bowl. On the whole the stay was just ok and I would have given a two star review but have added an extra star for the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belfast87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We loved our visit in Dublin and our stay at the schoolhouse hotel. We found the staff extremely helpful and resourceful. They really were wonderful! The accommodations were perfect and the setting lovely. The hotel has a lot of character set in an old schoolhouse next to the canel. It was about a 15-20 minute walk into city center. The bus(air coach) stops right in front of the hotel from the airport. Restaurant had great food- waiter staff also made us feel like home- bar with terrace outside was great on our sunny day. All and all - great choice for boutique hotel outside city center.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 355Amy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lovely !! Stayed on level 1 Easter and then returned on the following weekend. I requested the same room which was the one facing the road and the garden. Noise was less than most other cities and I left the windows open all night !! The bathrooms were just adorable. Plenty of hot water, never had a problem. The room was large and comfortable, the bed was so perfect, internet was hassle free, and it was ALSO available using a supplied keyboard and the TV. The windows were large and both opened wide for plenty of fresh air. Park your car in their own lot for hassle free enjoyment of Dublin, 10-15 minute safe and easy walk to everything. Enjoy all the Dublin doors as you walk to town. Breakfast was wonderful. Staff always so helpful and attentive. What did I like least ? I could not figure out how to turn on the bath vent, thats the best negative I can think of.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank str2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in the School House Hotel last night when we went to see Warhorse in the Bord Gais Theatre nearby. The hotel was great with on site parking and lovely rooms. Bar was busy but n bother getting served and the breakfast in the restaurant was super! Location was great if want to walk or run in the mornings. Great route along the canal towpath. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmcnmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Clarify - This is what I would rate as Good. Reasonably convenient to attractions (around a 20 minute walk to town centre), very clean, great staff and the building has character. On the downside, the bathrooms are very compact and the hotwater was problematic if you were in a busy showering period. Breakfast was very slow the first couple of days, but fine the next couple. The quality of the cooked breakfast was very good and dinner was also very good quality. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#15 of 150 in Dublin
1,373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 150 in Dublin
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#33 of 150 in Dublin
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#40 of 150 in Dublin
1,721 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £100 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing