We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!!!!!”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #29 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Athlone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love it!!!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed there 07/07/14 for one night. I wasnt want to leave.... It is beautiful hotel. Plus when we arrived there was very friendly receptionist who was absolutely pleasure to deal with. Next morning receptionist needs to learn from her a lot tho:( Room was lovely - will be back soon:)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Piret,

Many thanks for your kind review. I am delighted you had such a positive experience although a short one. We hope to welcome you back to the Schoolhouse Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    376
    110
    36
    16
See reviews for
146
636
38
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at this property from 14/06/14 thru 18/06/14. We enjoyed our stay. This is an older property with lots of character. When we told our 60 something taxi driver at Dublin airport we were going there he told us he had been a student there and regaled us with its history. Out room was a reasonable size #212. Not much of a view but it was quiet for sleeping. The restaurant is average. The bar/pub is fun and the staff very helpful. One recommendation on food; don't order a hamburger or any beef dish. I ordered a burger medium rare. The server said, "Well our cook refuses to cook beef any way except well done! I'll ask if he can ease up a bit." I got the burger and it was well beyond well done. It had been incinerated. The WORST burger I have ever had. I sent it back and the bar manager came to out table on the patio. WE all had a good laugh but it is still the worst I've had. The cook never gave in!
We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: The area seems to be high traffic with expected noise levels. Our room was on the back side and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. It is great to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the character and charm of our building. It was also lovely to hear of your taxi driver filling you in on the history of the building on your way to us.

In relation to your comments about our restaurant it is true that our burgers are cooked well done which would be standard practice in Ireland. However the three Steaks available on our menu are all cooked to order. Saying this, your burger should have by no means been incinerated so I do genuinely apologies if this was the case.

We would love to welcome you back to the Schoolhouse Hotel in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Therese Seale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Spent over a week at the Schoolhouse Hotel and found the staff at the front desk friendly, competent and very helpful. Wait staff in restaurant was the same. The rooms are large, clean, quiet and comfortable (although more drawer space would have been helpful). Wi-fi was easy to use, fast and always available. Huge breakfasts were delicious and restaurant menu was fabulous. Quiet area of town about a 20 minute walk to Trinity College. A totally enjoyable and first-rate experience.

Room Tip: Was told all the rooms are the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRes2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The highs: Lovely old building, big bed, quiet room

The lows: Room sort of in a basement (with perfumey smell covering up damp odor), no hot water for big chunks of two of the three days we were there, terrible wi-fi, room didn't get made up on last day, not terribly centrally located but also not as country as it looks online, cramped bathroom with awful floor and small (dirty-looking) tub

We stayed here three nights, after staying all over other parts of Ireland. All those other hotels had wonderful points--some had terrific country locations, some were located nearer city attractions, some had fabulous breakfasts,some had really nice bathrooms--and they had us prepped for a great hotel experience in Dublin. Yes, there's loads of character at the Schoolhouse Hotel (as well as loads of doors to get from one part of the place to another). But I like hotel character with consistent hot water, nice bathrooms, modern wi-fi, and no night-time fire alarms. All the problems we experienced seemed to indicate that the place isn't maintained as an old property needs to be maintained. (One example: Our room had a sign fixed to the wall that said to turn the shower knob to the left four rotations; the knob must have been switched at some point, but the hotel didn't bother taking down the outdated sign. Oh, and the bathroom floor was pretty old wood, but boards popped all the way out over and over and made it impossible to open and close the door. Another example: The restaurant and bar couldn't serve anything fried or grilled for several meals because something was broken down there, and the situation led to the smoke alarm going off several times during the wee hours.) The staff were apologetic about the water problem, even gave us a couple free pints when we asked for them (but note that we had to ask). And they were apologetic when the housekeepers missed our room; they went right in and tidied up the bed and gave us fresh towels. Still, I ended up feeling like I was a squeaky wheel because the staff didn't proactively tell us what was going on or offer solutions/apologies.

The woman running the breakfast room was rather officious, and the breakfast itself wasn't nearly as nice as the ones we had at other Irish hotels. Maybe we'd have been more pleased by the Schoolhouse Hotel if we hadn't had such terrific accommodations elsewhere in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank knitcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Knitcat,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Firstly let me apologise for the issues you encountered during your three night stay with us.

As you mentioned on two of the days our hot water was restricted to certain times as we were installing a new fan extraction system to our kitchen. Unfortunately the safety mechanism on our fire panel automatically shut down our gas supply while the work was being completed, hence the restricted hot water. This was also the reason that we were serving an alternative menu in both our bar and restaurant for two of the evenings. This was essential maintenance work that had to be carried out. I genuinely apologies for any inconvenience caused and also that this information was not conveyed to you during your stay.

In relation to our Wi-Fi again I apologise for any issues you encountered with during. As you know we did call our IT support out who assured us all our systems were in full operation and that signal strength was showing three of the four bars in your room so I am genuinely puzzled by where the issue lay.

I was glad to hear that upon reporting your room was not serviced that it was addressed and acted upon by the Front Desk straight away.

It is disappointing to read of your experience with us at the Schoolhouse Hotel and I am sorry you left with the opinion the building is not maintained as this is certainly not the case. Yes, we are an old building but we have a strict hotel policy to maintain all areas of the property on an ongoing basis.

Once again, many thanks for your review.

Kind Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent 2 nights here in the middle or a 14 day self-drive around Ireland. The hotel was nice, clean and quiet. The professional photo is misleading on their site. This is on a busy corner just off the canal and is not as "rural" as shown. BUT, Very nice, attentive staff, good food & drink in the often moderately busy bar area (a good busy), and a nice 15-20 minute walk from Trinity and the middle of town. The walk was good for us as we like a warm-up and cool-down walk around a busy day. Not right at the pubs for nightlife, but that was not our #1 goal. For a good nightlife outside Dublin, check out Kilkenny River Court Hotel -- VERY neat location & close to fantastic pubs (Miller Mike's & Kytelers Inn)... sorry to be off track of the Schoolhouse Inn review, but a great next day!

Try O'Neills pub near Trinity! Wow! What character; good food (breakfast & dinner were very good). Multiple bars were very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KB1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife & I stayed in the Schoolhouse Hotel for 3 nights, June, 2014. The location was fantastic for it was a fairly short walk to get to Trinity College, & the remainder of the city centre. Our room was quite quaint, & we enjoyed the setting of the entire hotel. The hotel staff we dealt with was very friendly, & helpful. Zoe in particular, aided us, as we juggled with picking up our rental car, while leaving our luggage @ the hotel. The breakfasts we had during our stay were tasty, & the portions were large. We would certainly book here again, & recommend it to anybody seeking a unique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanD315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Many thanks for your recent review. It was lovely to read such positive remarks in relation to our hotel, location, breakfasts and most importantly our staff. Zoe is a valued member of our Front Desk team and was thrilled with her mention in this review.

We pride ourselves on the fact that we are such a unique little property and I am delighted you commented on that. Many thanks for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What i love about this hotel is that it is small and has lots of character unlike large chain hotels.
It has a great location close to the city centre and there is a bus stop across the road and it is easy to get a bus straight into town.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, are spacious, have comfortable beds ,and are very clean. Our room was next to the road but still relatively quiet which was great.
All the staff we met during our stay were friendly and professional. A special mention for the blonde haired lady at breakfast time (sorry i cant remember her name) who was very friendly and very accommodating. We enjoyed chatting to her, she was so nice.
Breakfast was also very good with plenty of choice.
Many thanks to Therese and all the team. All in all a lovely stay. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We had no noise issues with our room that was facing the road. Some traffic passing as expected when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria99-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#30 of 151 in Dublin
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
489 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
1,472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Property: Schoolhouse Hotel
Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing